We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good and Tasty Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matias

Matias
Ranked #2,830 of 3,384 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Next to the vibrant Leidseplein you can find de Mexican oasis MATIASMatias has the look & feel of a real Mexican Cantina: Cozy, pleasant and affordable. Our friendly staff offers a great variety of Mexican dishes and drinks.Matias is also a great place to have a good cocktail, so start your evening with a delicious Margarita and enjoy the night as if you were in Mexico.If you are with a large company or just with some friends, just come in and try one of our real Mexican dishes or a nice grilled steak. We will make sure you have a wonderful evening out!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good and Tasty Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I just love the food served here.

I love the Macho Nacho and Mushroom with Cheese served here as starter.

I also enjoy the Burrito's, Vegetariano palate here as Main course.

As i am a veggie, i find a lot of options in here. So i like this restaurant a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sucharita1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    36
    31
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restraunt on Sunday December 15th as we had used it on a previous visit to Amsterdam.
This time however we were badly let down by very poor service and had to wait 55 minutes for our meal.
Don't get me wrong, the food was just as good as we had remembered but seeing people who had come in andvordered after us getting served before us, was a big let-down.
We did ask the staff"WHY" but got fobbed off with a very lame excuse and a glass of wine each (which we didn't drink) and the offer of an "on the house" coffee or sweet, neither of which we accepted.
We didn't allow this to "sour" our Amsterdam experience but just won't use the restraunt again on any future visits.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobbers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravette, AR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully flavorful Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

So, in addition to friendly staff, Matias restaurant pours excellent strong margaritas. The food is wonderfully flavorful and everything you'd want from a Mexican restaurant! Something for everyone!

Helpful?
Thank theshelbstinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
184 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice & cosy with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stopped in here by chance looking for some mexican food. The food was very tasty and the service was excellent. The price wasnt too bad either! I would def recommend this restaurant but wont go back again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor food-bad prices. Don't do it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We definitely would not recommend Matias restaurant to anyone. The prices were high, the service was just okay if that and the food was poor quality and not a lot for what you pay. It was a bit ridiculous and we regretted choosing this restaurant almost instantly. If only we could rewind the night a bit-it was that bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nmfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matias also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Matias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing