We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #6 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Superb value, very convenient location. The beds were really comfortable and the room was really spacious. Very clean and excellent bathroom facilities. The staff were very friendly and a mine of information. Although breakfast was extra it was good quality and there was a wide range to choose from.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    308
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
233
672
84
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

this was our first visit to Amsterdam and picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and I am thankful. We grabbed the train from the airport and it is less than 10 minute walk to hotel. We had a small double with a canal view. Yes it was smaller but the view was amazing. and I sat by the window everyday and enjoyed it. The hotel staff were very friendly and Esme( hope I spelled correctly) was so nice to try and get our room ready before 2 as we arrived at 8 am but did suggest we could stay and have breakfast but I knew there was a market close by open on Saturday so we wandered around the Nordermarkt and pick up some yummy things to eat and used the mini bar to store. We did receive a complimentary drink when we returned and were in our room before 2 pm. Unknown to us we arrived during pride weekend and the parade was just one canal over and we had a great time. great music with decorated boats going along the canal. The hotel is on a quiet residential street but the action is close by. We walked everywhere and did not even rent bikes. The farthest walk was to The Van Gogh Museum at around 30-40 minutes but we wandered around other streets and stopped for a drink when required. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollotomasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a tiny room at the hotel, however the staff did all they could to make up for this. Great breakfast at the hotel much better than we expected. The staff at this hotel really want you to enjoy your stay, and will give you lots of information. The location is perfect approximately 8-10min walk from the train station, Great for all the bars, resturaunts and tourist attractions, we enjoyed our visit to the zoo. The hotel has a sister hotel the toren in the same street this is worth a visit. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten831906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez,Ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Couldn't ask for a friendlier, ready-to-help staff. Location on the canal is great; it's quiet but within easy walking distance of most of the sights. The rooms were comfortable and well furnished. Loved the color schemes! Great breakfast at a reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuoVadis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just back from a weekend break at hotel sebastian in Amsterdam August 23/24/25
A great hotel with really friendly,helpful staff who were always willing to pass on local knowledge of restaurants bars etc
Situated on a lovely canal in the Jordaan district,the lobby bar and restaurant area were beautifully decorated
Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet,it had a large living space and an extremely comfortable bed , we couldn't fault a thing and will definitely will be returning for another visit
Ps thank you so much for the champagne for my birthday, it was a lovely surprise and much appreciated
Neil Michele UK

Room Tip: We stayed in room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilmicheleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We slayed at the hotel for one night 23rd August. The hotel was full when we booked so we could only get a small room. The offered to put us on a wait list for a larger room and kept us well informed as to availability. As it turned out, the room thought small was more than adequate and quite comfortable. Bathroom was well equipped with quality soaps, shampoos etc, and very clean. Bed was very comfortable, TV, mini bar and coffee pods.

The breakfast was excellent. We had a night-cap at the bar and the drinks provided were quite generous - size for cost.

Décor excellent

The best part was the quality service. Reception was welcoming, polite and thorough. Excellent recommendations and clear directions. All staff were polite and went out of their way to greet you and offer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyking823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteparish
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

The location has been mentioned before, and I can only concur. Very nice to be able to get to Jordaan and other Amsterdam locations in a matter of minutes, but have a quiet and secluded place to stay. The room was a little "compact" but we were warned and it didn't lack in comfort, and we did have an evocative view over a canal. The coffee machine was a little temperamental (which we forgot to tell the staff about). Mentioning the staff, we met quite a few of them, and all, to a man and woman, were charm personified. Very helpful and eager to please. We will return on our next visit, but will look to "splash" out on a larger room if possible.

Room Tip: Take a canal view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing