We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful hotel, close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Hotel Sebastian's last summer! The hotel is quaint but beautiful and so very close to everything. My husband and I were able to walk to all of the attractions on our to do list: Anne Frank house, bols, Van Gogh museum, red light district, and a dinner cruise we had booked through Viator. It was a beautiful area and we felt very safe. I would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    284
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
195
610
75
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Despite great reviews of the hotel, I was a little hesitant after looking through photos and thought the interior was a bit too 'dark' for what I'd usually choose in a hotel. However my boyfriend pushed booking the room and I'm so glad he did.

It was a beautiful hotel, outside and in! Our room was more than I expected and was really clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was included, which we did not realise upon booking and had a wide choice of foods to start off your day.

The hotel is possibly in the best location you could ask for, with a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station to the hotel and another 10 minute walk the other way to a tram stop on Keizersgracht. Close to Anne Frank's house also if you were planning a trip there!

I'd definitely stop there again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest, small rooms but this did not lack on quality or size with a great amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clrklly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I chose this hotel after much research and am so happy that I did.
Location: An easy walk from the Central Train Station. Situated on a picturesque canal. Easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and hop-on, hop-off canal boat tours.
Façade and Décor: Trendy façade and boutique décor with an Amsterdam twist.
Room: Immaculate, quiet, stylish and surprisingly spacious. Very comfortable bed with beautiful view of canal, especially at sunset. Small but spotless bathroom with good shower pressure. Ample space to store luggage / clothing.
Breakfast: Generous and delicious.
Hotel Staff: Professional, attentive, generous and so friendly. No request was too much!
Value for Money: Excellent.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for a room with a canal view ;-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, very helpful and accommodating staff, comfortable bed and good sized room for all 4 of us to fit in. Great value breakfasts too, will definitely be staying there again next time we are in Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Can't recommend this little gem of a hotel highly enough.

Great location and fabulous staff who couldn't help us enough

We had booked what I believe was the hotel's smallest room so we were expecting a shoebox. The room was absolutely fine with a nice view out to a courtyard

Lovely and quiet.

Breakfast was included, great coffee and plenty of Dutch cheeses and meats.

The hotel has bikes for hire - great way to spend the day

Only wish we had longer

Thanks for making our stay so great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our third visit to this lovely city and we have never been disappointed. However the sense of welcome and care at Sebastian's was exceptional. The location is perfect and very tranquil. We had a third floor room with a canal view and had happy times enjoying the view from our window. Breakfast was very good indeed and plentiful. Extra coffee was always offered.

The bar menu was well priced and one evening when we ordered the bar attendant got on her scooter to visit the sister hotel to get more panini as they had run out!

Sebastian's is very well priced and the service far outstrips the cost. Reception were exceptionally helpful and their restaurant suggestions were excellent.

We loved it!

Room Tip: We loved 330
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sebastian's 20 May14 to 23 May 14. its a delightful little boutique hotel on a quiet street overlooking the canal.The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived earlier than the specified check in time but are room was ready and so we were checked in! There was a personal note from the owners addressed to us which made us feel really welcome. The staff had said that the room is a bit small but we found it just right. The bathroom was also fine had very nice amenities and an awesome shower!:) Our room overlooked a courtyard I think and it was unbelievably quiet which was great.
They have a nice friendly little bar where breakfast is also served. Breakfast was simple but had everything.
We had dinner the last evening and were served a delicious tomato soup(I can still taste it in my mind!)
Had a lovely stay and the staff were extremely welcoming polite and helpful will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrutya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing