We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location if a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great location if a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a small double which was small and dark as on the inner courtyard area. Would benefit from more controllable lighting (dimmable). Bit gothic for our taste and a tad expensive but overall a pleasant stay. The canal view rooms much bigger and better from a quick look. Staff very helpful and friendly and location was great...10 mins from train station. Would stay again if we could get a better rate with the larger canal view room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goozgog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    315
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
247
703
91
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Right on Keizersgracht about 10 minute walk from the train station. Beautiful location in quiet neighborhood with several good restaurants and bars nearby. Rooms were a little small but they all are in Amsterdam. The room was very clean and comfortable with modern amenities. The bar was very nice and the courtyard was a nice touch. Very central location with a quiet neighborhood feel. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zach s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for five nights in late April in Room 121 overlooking Keizersgracht Canal. The room was small but well appointed with a fancy coffee maker, a tv with a variety of programming in English, lots of shampoo, a safe, and extra blankets and pillows. We spent a lot of time having coffee and watching boats and bicycles go by below. Staff at Sebastian's were uniformly cheerful and helpful. They told us where to get great apple pie in the neighborhood, set us up with an airport shuttle, and more than once looked up information for us on the internet. There was free WiFi, and the bar downstaris was a pleasant place for a drink or buffet breakfast. The location was excellent -- just a few blocks from Centraal Train Station, and a 5-10 minute walk in any direction to nieghborhoods with great restaurants and shops. My husband has a leg brace, so it was nice to have an elevator. This was a perfect spot for a few days.

Room Tip: Spend the money to get a room with a canal view. Even though we were on the 1st (2nd to Americans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Perfect location, spotlessly clean and fantastic staff - what more could you want?! Easy walking distance from Central Station and to all attractions. Could not fault the room - we had room 102 which was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel - a 'luxury double with bath and shower' - with access to a walled garden area. Room was spacious and spotless. Nespresso coffee machine with easy instructions was a real bonus. Very quiet - so excellent night's sleep! But as previous reviewers have said, the staff totally make this the perfect hotel - all so pleasant and helpful. Thoroughly recommend and would definitely return if we re-visit this lovely friendly city!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Touringbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the time we left we found all the Staff at Hotel Sebastian's very welcoming and very helpful - nothing was too much for them and everything done with a smile which was quite addictive - from helping you to find good restaurants and making reservations, looking up tram and train times and advising you on the easiest way to find some of the local tourist sights around Amsterdam.

The hotel was easy to find - 10 minutes from Central Station and well located. The Hotel was overlooking the Keizersgracht canal and our room although small did not lack on comfort. It was kept very clean with a quirky décor. Breakfast was self-service and very enjoyable - a good start to the day.

I highly recommend this hotel and will be returning next year and once again thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlamb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I recently enjoyed a long weekend at Hotel Sebastian's. The hotel was in an excellent central location - you could walk everywhere - the room was very comfortable and overlooking the canal and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was reasonably priced and I would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 29nickyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Great location on Keizersgracht, one of the best streets in the city and walking distance to central station. Decor is certainly different - very dark with alot of black/ orange/ purple, which gives it a real character (see the photos) but is starting to look a little faded. Staff are very friendly, helpful and great for advice and making reservations.

We had a room on 3rd floor overlooking the garden which was really quiet and cleaned well every day. They added an extra bed for us but we still had plenty of space to move about.

There was free internet throughout the hotel and our room had a coffee maker and safe.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1GDAC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing