We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Celebrating in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Prairie Village, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Celebrating in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at the Sebastian Hotel on March 20-23. We had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and loved this hotel! The entire staff was so nice and helpful. From the moment we booked the hotel on-line, they sent us maps, directions, restaurant suggestions...they even made sure to inform us that some museums might be difficult to get into and advised us to purchase tickets in advance. When we arrived, we had a bottle of Champagne waiting for us in our room. The front desk made several restaurant reservations for all four of us on very short notice, and purchased tickets to another museum that we decided to visit. They could not have been more helpful!!

Room Tip: I would reserve a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSKing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    291
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
213
634
77
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel sebastian is a great choice for an amsterdam trip.
They are the friendliest staff i have ever met , helpfull, pleasant and very kind.
This hotel is a must !!

We will most definitley be revisiting very soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank petlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband booked Hotel Sebastian's in Amsterdam for my birthday and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were both welcoming and friendly. The hotel is decorated in a chic style and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is situated in the perfect area of the city; right next to a canal, peaceful and serene. The girls at the reception very kindly booked some museum tickets for us and were helpful at all times. Everything is in walking distance which is great. All the staff we encountered were lovely and friendly. The breakfast was gorgeous with beautiful scrambled eggs which set us up for all our walking round the city. We would definitely return and would recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a 3 night break in Amsterdam as a birthday present to each other and could not have chosen a better hotel. Although our room was quite small we had a view of the canal and the room was clean and comfortable.The service in the hotel was excellent. Without exception everyone was helpful friendly and courteous. The buffet breakfast was also good value.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and we had a wonderful time in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMC190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a family run small hotel with about 20 rooms. We stayed in room 121 which is a small double but has a great canal-side view. All of the staff are very friendly and hospitable. The hotel was, in our opinion, in a perfect location; quiet and calm and yet only a few minutes walk from the key sights. Close by is the '9 Streets' area which is a series of canal-side streets full of boutique or personalised shops and bars, all without the hassle of tourists and the like. We loved it.
Breakfasts are buffet style and excellent. Once again the service was first class and attentive.
My wife and I vow to go back soon.
There was also a nice bottle of champagne on ice upon our arrival, gatis courtesy of the hotel for my birthday. A telling touch.

Room Tip: If you can, do choose a room with a canal view. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mediamagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have stayed twice at this hotel. The first trip was spoiled because I picked up a virus and had to stay in the hotel, so we returned a month later to complete our visit to Amsterdam. The staff were extremely helpful when I was ill but were just as welcoming on the second visit. The food at breakfast was good and the service excellent in the bar. The staff all wanted to make sure we were comfortable and at one point we were chatting to one of the bar staff and asked him an informal query about the city. He didn't know the answer but got out his smartphone and checked for us on the spot. All the staff are welcoming and the reception staff went to a great deal of trouble to book us a restaurant, searching outside their list to meet our particular requests. We have already recommended the restaurant to friends and would always return there on any future trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is a range of rooms and on our two trips we had one with a canal view and one without; both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing