We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #6 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

It was an excellent hotel in a very good area. The staff was so kind and talented. We got very usefull suggestions about where to go and almost all suggestions were perfect. The room was quite comfortable. Especially bed was very comfortable. I would suggest this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    305
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
223
657
81
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very easy to find, an easy walk from the station. Lovely canal position and within easy reach of Anne Frank's museum and quiet at night. Very welcoming staff who sent restaurant suggestions in advance and made reservations for us.The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom, whilst small, had nice products. Nice bar and excellent breakfast- really good value for City Centre

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for the canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyOxfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

me and my husband and 2 boys aged 8 and 5 had wonderful stay here.
fab room, great shower and bath.
room bit hot, but managed air con in end!!
breakfast was very good value esp for 5 year old who was free.
staff so helpful esp at breakfast.
central but quiet.
cant recommend highly enough!!

Room Tip: great family room in basement, huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I chose this hotel during a recent stay in Amsterdam based on recommendations from locals (rather than those recommended by the conference) and am so glad I did! The small hotel is located in a very central and scenic part of Amsterdam, about 2 blocks from the Anne Frank house and on a canal. You can walk many places from here or easily catch a bus/tram or canal ride; I felt very safe walking there both during day and night. The hotel is very reasonably priced for Amsterdam. Rooms are very small but clean, with great showers (warm, good water pressure! - very important) and a very comfortable bed. Wi-fi was included. The best part, however, was the customer service. Staff members were extremely friendly and took time to answer any questions I had and even went out of their way to help me when I misplaced my adapter. Not a large lobby, but they do have a small bar/restaurant. I would definitely welcome staying here again the next time I am in Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel unless you need full amenities such as a swimming pool and fitness center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I returned for a 2nd stay in January at this lovely little hotel. The staff are very helpful, and the place is always welcoming. They have a nice purple and black theme in the entrance and bar area to relax in after a day sightseeing, and a well furnished, laid back smoking area behind glass closed doors just off the bar, also important for me. The rooms are recently refurbished to a high standard, everything is cosy with a touch of luxury. Eric and Petra, and the proud owners of both this and the near by Toren hotel. I would definitely return, and highly recommend this well priced hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leecoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay in Sebastion's Hotel Amsterdam.

It was the high level of customer service which really wowed us and enhanced our stay. Without exception the hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

The Hotel had confirmed in advance by email that it would be possible to leave our bags with them and explore on our first day, we arrived well before the official check in time of 2pm. It was around 10.30am when we reached the hotel and the receptionist contacted housekeeping who said the could have our room ready in about 10 minutes if we were prepared to wait. We ordered drinks in the hotel bar and it was literally 10 minutes when the receptionist came in to tell us the room was ready. When we offered to pay for the drinks the bar staff said to regard them as a complimentary welcome drink.

The receptionist gave us a great street map and marked various places we were interested in visiting during our stay. She also provided a list of recommended restaurants in the area and offered to make reservations on our behalf. We visited Seasons(Dutch Informal) and KInnaree (Thai) both of which were enjoyable.

The trip was to celebrate a special wedding anniversary and a chilled bottle of bubbly and a nice note from the hotel were waiting in our room when we arrived, a lovely touch.

We were in room 229 which is described as a medium double with canal views by the hotel. The room is quirky as it includes the goods hatch right at the apex of the building. It is lovely sitting overlooking the canal but be careful the beams in this room are low, my husband banged his head on more than one occasion! The Nepresso Machine is a bonus and the coffee pods etc.are topped up each day. More than sufficient milk and sugar was available and we happily spent time at both the beginning and end of the day enjoying a good coffee and the great view.

If I was ultra critical the room could probably do with someone casting a critical eye over it to tidy up some of the small details. A fresh lick of paint is required in places as some of the surfaces are getting chipped. This probably more obvious due to the dark paint colours used in this hotel and someone needs to get a very long feather duster and knock down a spiders web in the apex of the roof however, we loved it. It was cosy and comfortable. A bath would have been welcome to soak in at the end of a long day sightseeing but the bathroom would not have been big enough to accommodate this and the shower was lovely and powerful. As several people have mentioned the lighting is subdued which can make drying hair and applying make up interesting but we found it added to the ambiance and we managed. A bulb which was out during our visit was mentioned to reception and was replaced within 10 minutes, another example of the great service. This is not a busy street and we were not bothered by noise from outside or inside the hotel during our stay.

We sampled the hotel breakfast and the range of food available was more than adequate for a relatively small hotel. There was a choice of 4 or 5 cereals, juices, yogurt, cold platter of cheeses,meats etc. hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, streaky smoked bacon, mini sausages, beans, mushrooms etc. breads, pastries and a mixed fruit salad. Not bad value at €10 per person. We had paid €5 per person in a cafe for a muffin and a coffee on the morning of our arrival. At the time we visited if you booked direct with the hotel and mentioned Tripadvisor on your booking you received a 50% discount on the breakfast cost which made it even better value.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Just around the corner from Anne Franks house and the Monday Market. The Jordaan is a lovely area to wander around with great independent shops and restaurants. It is only about 10 minutes walk to the Centraal Station and the trams if you want to go further afield.

The hotel held our luggage for us again on the final day of our visit without charge which enabled us to make full use of our time in the city.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in this hotel they were always happy to assist with directions, bookings or information and seemed genuinely interested that their guests enjoyed their stay in Amsterdam. Little touches made our stay all the more memorable and were really appreciated.

I wouldn't hesitate to visit Sebastian's Hotel again or it's sister 4 star hotel the Toren as it appears the Customer Service ethic comes direct from their owners Petra and Eric Toren who have emailed us since returning to the UK to say they are glad we enjoyed our stay. My husband was so impressed with the hotel he wanted to thank the staff via reception before we left.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam. I actually chose this hotel over a larger 5 star hotel because I wanted culture. It did not feel too touristy and was in a somewhat residential area but still close to everything. Small shops and cafes seem to be everywhere. Very safe. Amsterdam is one of my favorite cities in all of Europe and its because this hotel really gave me an awesome experience. The central canals are the best location. My only knock would be the rooms are decorated like a cheap motel, which I didn't understand. The staff were all VERY friendly and helpful. The little bar is also a nice area to hang on. Overall this place is a great choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing