We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my 23rd birthday and had a lovely stay. All the staff was more than helpful, the hotel lovely and in perfect location. They gave me a free drink at the bar for my birthday and let us keep our bag behind on the last day until our flight at no extra charge. I would defiantly recommend this hotel if you visit Amsterdam.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dellisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    291
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
213
633
77
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here on my own and had a great time.
The girls on the front desk were so friendly! My room was sumptuous decorated in purple, thick carpet and great views of the canal.
The coffee machine was a real bonus!
My room was warm and the bed so comfortable.
The location is right on the canal and 10 mins from the train station. In a very safe area especially if you are on your own.
I will come back to stay next time I am in the country.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Golbalfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We chose this hotel from Trip Adviser recommendations for our first time in Amsterdam and were not disappointed.

It was well located, around a ten minute walk along the canals from our drop-off point at the central station. We liked the fact that the hotel frontage looks like one of very smart canalside townhouses, with very discreet hotel signage. Inside the decor is very stylish, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who were able to admit us to our room early. When we returned from our walk later it was unfortunate that our ceiling had sprung a leak from the roof, but the staff immediately sprung into action, changing us into a larger upgraded canalside room. They also gave us a free breakfast, thus we give them top marks for service and problem-solving.
The upgraded room was very comfortable, although you had to watch your head on the beams. It included a great sitting area over looking the canal. Downstairs we loved the cosy bar area and the breakfast offering.

It felt like a personalised operation with a good group of people looking after us, individual thoughtful emails in advance of our stay and friendly bar and reception staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Greeted by friendly staff, hotel was easy to find, super location, great amenities (nespresso, wifi, tv etc in rooms)
Very happy to stay here again, nice feeling in the hotel, personal and very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place is tucked away on Kaizersgracht (very quiet) and is close to the restaurants and shops of the Jordaan area. Our canal-facing room gave us a great view. The hotel's breakfast was simple, but good. All staff were attentive and helpful. Our TV didn't work, but that is the only real mark against this place. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This boutique style hotel was great! I would recommend to anyone who visits Amsterdam. It's in a great location, with a 5 minute walk to Dam square. The staff were all lovely, friendly and very helpful. They also left you alone, where I find some hotels constantly bothering you with calls to your room. The rooms were nice and had everything you require, including mini bar, free wifi, coffee machine and English channels on the tele (movies, music, news). The large double bed has 2 separate single duvets for you and your partner, so it would be nice to have 1 large duvet between you.. BUT some couples might prefer that ;) The rooms were cleaned everyday, and fresh clean towels were given everyday also. The hot breakfast was delicious, offering a full English as well as cold bits and cereal. I would definitely visit this hotel the next time I return to Amsterdam. Worth every penny!
Little note: Its cheaper to book on their actual website directly than the prices offered on trip advisor...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

we arrived early from the airport and found the hotel easily by catching a train a then walking from the station. hotel Sebastian's is in the perfect location as it's close to everything!!! the staff are extremely helpful with great knowledge and give you map with the best restaurants on it. they all speak very good English and are always on hand to help. the room it self was perfect for us. it was very clean had very comfy beds that we didn't want to get up!! the hotel bar and restaurant is very well presented and we always got a warm welcome. thank you!!! we will be staying here again in the future :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katcossins1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,316 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing