We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #7 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel situated in a calm area and near center. Very pleasant and nicely decorated with warm colors, nice furniture. Breakfast with varied food. People at welcome desk avaiaible and very kind. Good place to stay for a lovely trip in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sebastian's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

An ideally located and inexpensive hotel. Located in the Jordaan, about a 10 minute walk from the train station. This hotel offered the perfect match of location, it is situated on one of many canals, and friendly, helpful staff that aided in the enjoyment of Amsterdam, now my favourite city.

The staff supplied a list of locally-endorsed restaurants, and the ones we visited were terrific and allowed us to avoid the tourist trap places.

I recommend this hotel for new and repeat visitors to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie_smith39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Pleasant breakfast. Great location for biking . I attended a meeting and could not have found a better base . Lots of restaurants in area. Close to train station. Very quiet and picturesque.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank nanaimo-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located on a lovely canal side and close to all touristic spots. The friendly and help full staff will make sure that your stay is going well at Any time.
Very confortable and spacious bedroom, ... excellent breakfast!
Really, you will not regret to book at Sebastians hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Janfiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Really lovely hotel in a fab location right on one of the canals, 10 mins walk from the central station and within walking distance of all the other areas.
Staff very friendly and helpful and lovely room.

Would definitely stay again and have no bad points to make.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in the sister hotel the Toren back in February and loving it, we decided to give Sebastian's a try and I'm glad to say I wasn't disappointed.

It's not on par with the Toren but it's not to far of. The decor is the same throughout, nice and warm, making it very cosy and welcoming to come back to of an evening. The room was more than sufficient for a long weekend, cumfy bed, ample closet space, TV with English channels, espresso machine, mini bar, safe, free Wi-fi, air con, and more importantly it was clean, and tidy and are room 331 had a very nice canal view. The room was turned over everyday with fresh towels.

The only draw back for me, and it is only a small one was the size of the bathroom...it was snug to say the least however i spent very little time in there so for me it wasn't a big deal.

The staff were very polite, and helpful, and there was no issues at all. I was satisfied with the price, I'd be hard pushed to find somewhere as good, and in such a prominent location for a similar price.

Well worth a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulDM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here in October with our teenage sons. Booked the hotel based on reviews and the fact that they had a room that could accommodate all four of us. We couldn't have picked a better hotel.
The staff were extremely helpful from the onset. As soon as I booked the hotel they contacted me to ask how we would like the beds configuring. Very thoughtful.
On arrival, nothing was too much trouble for them even to the point of organising a doctor appt for my son.
The hotel is very 'boutique chic' and we loved it. We had the large family room on the ground floor right at the back of the hotel. It was fabulous and wonderfully designed, very tasteful. Very large and with a great seating area. The beds were extremely comfortable. The room faced onto a small courtyard which was very peaceful and great to look onto.
Bathroom was fabulous with underfloor heating and enough products to last us all for months had we been lucky enough to stay that long!
Breakfast was an optional extra and again the staff were very helpful and accommodating. The staff were always in the vicinity but discreetly in the background but seemed to appear at just the right moment if need be.
The location of the hotel was perfect. 5-7 mins walk to Anne Franks house, same to the Damrak and basically just in a very upmarket beautiful area.
This hotel would be perfect for anyone. Couples, families or just friends. Even if I were travelling alone this would be a perfect hotel to just sit and watch the world go by through the fringe curtains.....
We have been to Amsterdam on a number of occasions but I have to say this has to be the best hotel we have had the pleasure of staying in and we will definitely be back and would totally recommend to all.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank JayCeesNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,325 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $177 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing