We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Withernsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved our stay. The staff where so friendly and helpful
the rooms pure luxury and spotless. We had a view of the canal
it looked wonderful day and night can not fault it
"would we stay again"? have no plans to look for anywhere else
when we go back too Amsterdam in 2014

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ophelia811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    283
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
192
610
75
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved this hotel. Walked from the train station to get there and it was no problem. Staff were attentive, quiet and professional. The whole place is spotless and has tiki lights out front at night which really helped us zero in after a night spent out on the town! Our room was spotless, big, had a beautiful big bath, shower stall, excellent wifi and a comfortable bed. The courtyard was immaculate and lovely. We didn't use any of the amenities (don't really know what they offer) but instead, chose to go out for all meals. Great recommendations from staff when you need help. I will definitely stay there if we go back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 107 is a very large room which has access to a lovely courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Choose this hotel after reading the reviews, and we where not disappointed. A lovely find and definite repeatable when coming to Amsterdam again. Staff where very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and very comfortable(in the newly build part)
The bar was nice and relaxing, and they even had a smoking room. Breakfast was yummy.
My only gripe was that the lighting was very sparse in the corridors and bar area ( specially as the décor was very dark. I brought my elderly mother and she found it very difficult to get around as it was too dark to see where she was going. specially the steps down to the new build was very dark and dangerous. It is not a hotel that is good for anybody who has poor eyesight( due to dark décor) or find steps difficult ( to the dining room, to the toilet, to some of the rooms.)
We definite will be back, but without mother

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We absolutely loved Hotel Sebastian's! We got a medium-sized room with a canal view, and it was simply wonderful. The windows open (and are huge) and look out over the lovely canal. The location is very quiet, and it's close to the central train station and within easy walking distance to The Dam and anywhere else you might want to be. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable, the wifi worked well, and the TV had plenty of stations in English for us to be entertained the few minutes we stayed in the room. Nicely done.

Room Tip: Get a canal view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laaustintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
870 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is located on the canal. The room are small but very clean. We had down pillows, flat screen tv, refrigerator, safe and a large closet. It is located about 10 minutes from the Ann Frank's house and 10 minutes from the rail way station. The breakfast is nice with an assortment of cheeses, lunch meats, rolls, fruits, juices, cereals, vegetables, coffees and they will cook up eggs any way you like them. There are about 4 or 5 excellent restaurants near the hotel which are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent 5 nights in a canal view room on the first floor. Nice big room with large comfortable bed and a couple of seats overlooking picturesque canal and quiet street. Small shower room was perfectly adequate and the shower very efficient. Coffee machine in the room with great choice of coffees. Hotel decor is contemporary/quirky (lots of purple and black) which makes it a characterful and memorable place to stay.
Service was outstanding. Staff were helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. Good choice of breakfast: cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread and pastries, hot buffet (scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms etc) and cold buffet (cooked meats, cheese).
Location is excellent. The Jordaan is a lovely area to wander in with small individual shops and good neighbourhood restaurants. Only 10-15 min walk from Centraal Station which suited us well as we arrived by train from London. Also convenient for trams to the Museum District. A short walk alongside the canals to the Anne Frank House. Great Saturday morning farmers' market (food/flowers) in nearby Noordermarkt.
Would certainly return to Sebastian's if visiting Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahonia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

First time stay here for 4 nights, solo traveler. I've been to Amsterdam before so knew the location and area pretty well, which factored into the decision. It is near the intersection of the Keizersgracht and Brouwersgracht, so a very easy walk to/from Centraal Station. My understanding is that it is run by the same folks who operate the Toren.

Lovely reception and bar/breakfast area. Decor is purple/mauve/black/tan - rather elegant and I thought quite attractive. My room was very small, as I had been warned in an email at time of reservation, but well appointed with a comfortable bed, lovely bath and shower, nicely decorated. Coffee/tea in room, personal safe, armoire, tv, etc. Pretty quiet area. The staff were friendly and helpful. I arrived early and though my room wasn't quite ready was able to leave my luggage and go for a wander. Back in an hour and a half to a freshly cleaned room and much needed shower! Breakfast is available for an extra 10 euro charge, though I did not take advantage of it. Bar was quite spiffy though I did not spend any time there.

Overall a very nice hotel. For those who prefer the small boutique hotel experience, I think this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Be advised that the sole single room is very, very small and won;t be comfortable if you have a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,228 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing