We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely canal house hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely canal house hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On my first solo trip I was so relieved to have chosen such a hotel in a fabulous location where I felt safe. The staff were very friendly on my arrival. I had emailed in advance to request early check-in if possible and, although they couldn't promise the room would be ready, it was by 11.15 am which was nearly 3 hours before normal check-in. The staff also gave some great tips on where to visit and marked on a map where to explore.
I had the smallest room in the hotel which was cosy and comforable, great for a solo female traveller. I could hear someone snoring through the walls though so possibly need to pack ear plugs next time!
The hotel is in a brilliant location close to the Jordaan and Nine Streets on a quiet and peaceful canal. Definitely the real Amsterdam!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Penguinologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    284
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
194
610
75
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Sebastian's Hotel is a most charming, comfortable and beautifully managed hotel. Rooms are spotless and very well appointed. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. A great breakfast starts the day and being close to Central Station makes it easy to arrive and start sightseeing. Great for museums, shops and restaurants but in a quiet area for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After spending numerous hours researching where to stay in Amsterdam, trip advisor did not disappoint. The Sebastian was delightful. The staff was attentive and accomodating. The room was quite clean and well appointed with a tempurpedic mattress pad, fluffy bedding and a Nespresso machine. The hotel is decorated in rich dark colors and has a cool edgy club vibe. Breakfast choices included meats, various cheeses, yogurt, fruit, warm pastry and a wide variety of teas and coffee. Our server Harn was friendly and pleasant. The location was excellent as well, lovely quiet canal and a short walk to the attractions. Our stay in Amsterdam to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and my birthday was everything we could have hoped for and more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while in Amsterdam for work. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main train station but located in a very quiet residential neighborhood. Great restaurants within easy walking distance.

The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful. I had a great room on the very top floor with lots of big sunny windows. Can't remember the room number but it definitely one which I would request again, though might not be great for those with limited mobility since the elevator stops one floor below.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just back from a 3 day stay with my wife in this hotel and feel compelled to review this hotel as we enjoyed our stay there so much.

From the second we walked in the door everyone was welcoming and friendly with lots of tips on what to see and do. The hotel itself has a special feel to it with the decor and is clean and quiet at nights. The breakfasts although 10 euros pp extra are great value and the bar is as reasonably (if not better!) priced than any bar/pub we visited.

It's about 10mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal and likewise to the centre of the old town. Anne Franck's Huis is just a couple of blocks away too so a great location.

Overall this has to be the best value hotel around the centre of Amsterdam and if I'm ever back I wouldn't even think about booking in anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrkneyBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Toren and now Sebastian's. Both ownned and run by Petra and Eric Toren. These hotels just ooze class, style and the service you would expect from a family business is exceptional. If you want a real feel of amsterdam and want a great location in Amsterdam's most beutiful part of town then this hotel is perfect for you.

Room Tip: The canal view luxury double room is a new addition and a good size for amsterdam, higly recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my first trip to Amsterdam and I looked around in TripAdvisor for some reviews on affordable hotels. I found a couple of good reviews on Hotel Sebastains and decided to book my stay there. Well, I wasn't disappointed. I got a lovely room with a view on the canal( I asked for one ). The room itself was well appointed with all that a traveller needs in a room..clean, neat and very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful, something I always look for when I travel. Their breakfast is very good and reasonably priced at 10 euros. The location itself is very good and you can walk to most of the places. I spent two nights and a day there . I had a wonderful stay and I hope this review of mine is as helpful to a traveller as the ones I read in making up my mind to stay here. I would definitely come back here if I visit Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. You may need to pay more( I paid 20 euros more per day) but it's wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,249 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing