We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet canalside hotel”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet canalside hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant couple of days in this delightful small hotel, close to the main attractions and station, yet in a pleasant and quiet location. Our rooms were comfortable and perfectly adequate, with spacious and well fitted bathrooms.
Decoration is very modern and in good order, with a pleasant bar area for relaxation and light meals. Breakfast is very reasonably priced at 10 euros with hot and cold food options. Daytime snacks are also available.
All the staff were most pleasant and helpful on practical details and their recommendations for restaurants provided us with excellent choices.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay. We would definitely return and recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal give an attractive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithc519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    320
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
256
724
91
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sebastian's for four nights in September. The hotel has a lovely canal-side setting in a very convenient location. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were offered a room overlooking the canal on the first two nights and a garden view room for the remaining two nights. Both rooms were clean and spacious, especially the garden view room which would easily have accommodated four people, and both rooms had fantastic bathrooms with nice toiletries.
The only quibble we had was the extra charge of 10 euros per person for the breakfast which we felt should have been included at no extra cost as the room rate was quite expensive. Should it be possible to include breakfast in the room rate, then Hotel Sebastian's would get top marks all the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadzooks1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I visited Amsterdam for the first time and stayed at Sebastian's. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and close to Anne Franks, Dam Square and the Central Train Station. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel is very charming and an excellent choice.

Room Tip: A canal view room will make a great stay better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I travelled in Amsterdam in October, 2013, I spontaneously choose Hotel Sébastian s on this site, and what a GOAL. Really a great hotel, with a great service, Staff very kind and always willing to help and serve you. A hotel with great style that makes you live your journey a special way, also very well situated in the city, just a few minutes walk from center.. I really recommend it, a i will certainly go back to this charming hotel. Afew words in French ,Je viens de Magog ,Québec Canada et je vous suggere fortement d aller a cet hotel , Flyer, et de le découvrir par vous-meme ,vous allez Adorer. A proximite de tout tres bien situé et tres propre. Le service est excellent. Personnel Accueillant. D Origine Hongroise voici quelques mots pour les gens de là-bas. Nagyon kellemes hotel ,tiszta es jo hejen van .Minden Dolgozo nagyon Kellemes. Voila. Suzanne Csiszer Québec, Canada

Room Tip: Just be spountaneous , follow your feelings and the rest will be just Great. Enjoy life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in October on the strength of other reviews, and wasn't disappointed. As others have said, service at this small hotel is superb, reception staff are friendly and helpful. My room, although small, was spotless and had everything I needed for a short stay. Free wifi worked well, and the Nespresso machine in the room was a fantastic touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Many of the hotels reviewed by Tripsadviser after being visited by me, I really wonder. who are these reviewers? But the reviewers who stayed at this Hotel really got it right! A real find! Close to the Dam square, lovely room, nice view on the canal, when u climb down onto the enclosed balcony part of your room. Rather expensive but worth it. We were there during a very busy period when there were a lot of conferences. Hotel sent a letter to the room apologizing for the expensive tarif but as it was conference time .... And also next time they would give me a cheaper rate..
And the breakfast. It was really good value for money. Definately go for it. They were also willing to keep a suitcase for us when we shot off for a week n came back later. The only negative was that there could have been more space for our clothes. The room could also do with more lighting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at sebastian hotel in Amsterdam we were to big family, the service,the clean and large room with an exit to large porch , the location was near the main street in the center, everything was excellent.
I will sure come back to this lovely hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leibnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,532 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
952 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing