We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly, helpful and perfectly-located.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful and perfectly-located.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We're just back from three nights in Hotel Sebastian's, and we're already working out when we can go back. Now, obviously, the driver for that is Amsterdam itself, but we'll definitely be looking to stay at the same hotel. The staff are all friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. They're happy to offer advice, look after bags, etc. The decor is unusual but we liked it very much. The room was great - on the 2nd floor with big windows opening onto the canal, it couldn't have been better. Coffee machine, great shower, really comfy bed.. what's not to like? And the location is perfect: walk South-West for narrow streets of bars, cafés and restaurants; walk East for the busier city centre. And we pulled our cases from the train station to the hotel in ten minutes!

Room Tip: Go for a canalside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry_harris_norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    291
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
213
637
77
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I quite enjoyed my few days stay here at Hotel Sebastians. The staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great (on a picturesque and quiet canal, although within striking distance of everything on foot). Breakfasts were great, although not included in the price. Still a smart way to start the day by not having to go look for breakfast. Rooms were clean and comfy. Wifi is included. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank officematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very good service, with small room (but comfort). Not close to the tram station, however with a beautifull canal view and very calm neiborhood. We didn't have problems with noise. The breakfast was good (10 euros). Better to take a cab to the hotel from the central station if you have a heavy luggage. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

On the busy easter weekend I got the last room available in this hotel. My first impression was on the phone calling to confirm my reservation, the staff was incredibly curteous. I have become accustomed to poor customer service in the USA so it was a great surprise. The hotel is extremely close to Centraal down a quite side street right on the canal. A beautiful spot especially if you don't want to be right in with all the Coffee Shops. When I arrived the excellent customer service continued. The hotel interior was trendy and warm on the cold day we were there, with a great lounge to relax in the middle of a day of touristing. The breakfast was not great, I would probably spend my twelve euro in one of the many cafe's in Amsterdam. The room was tiny but had everything you needed, even a Nespresso machine. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Overall, an amazing experience and my next time in Amsterdam I will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Sebastian for 3 nights recently - had a good stay.

Pros: Hotel Sebastian was in a perfect location; 5-10 minutes walk from Central Station, in the beautiful Nine Canal area & on the canal. The staff were super friendly & helpful. I loved being on the canal and sitting on the balcony bit in a chair watching the activity go past.

Cons: I found the beds a bit soft for my liking. The bathroom is probably more 3 star/motelish but we were hardly there and not for a luxuriate in a hotel type holiday. The decor is luxe & quite dark - maybe not everyone's taste.

Tips: Catch a train from Schipol and walk to the hotel, much cheaper than the hotel transfer bus from the airport. Lots of great food in the neighborhood. Try some Indonesian rijstafel while in town! Definitely try for a canel side room.

Room Tip: Canal side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noodlesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had visited Amsterdam several times prior to staying at Sebastian's and Sebastian's will definitely be our first choice from now on. The hotel is idealy situated on a quiet, pretty stretch of canal within easy walking distance fro the central railway station and many of the tourist attractions eg Anne Frank's House, Dam Square. It is also just a short walk to get a tram to the museum district. There is a good selection of cafes and restaurants nearby too. Our room looked out over gardens at the back of the hotel and was bigger than many central Amsterdam rooms. It was spotlessly clean and had a coffee maker which is unusual in Amsterdam and very welcome. We were particularly impressed by the young staff who were very helpful and considerate throughout our stay. Sebastian's offers a perfect location, excellent value and very friendly staff ... therefore highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSOLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from our vacation in which we spent three days in Amsterdam. We decided on Hotel Sebastian's based on reviews and location. We were not disappointed! The only negatives we were worried about was room size and noise from the canal side. I am happy to say that both concerns were unfounded. Our room, while small, was cozy and comfortable. Since it was my first time in Amsterdam I wanted a canal view. We got the medium small, and it was on the first floor. The linens, furnishings, and decor was modern, clean, fresh. The amenities in the room were great,the Nespresso machine was such a nice treat.

My husband and I were especially happy about the location, this area was quiet and a beautiful part of the city, and so close to the Anne Frank House, the Central Station, The Redlight District, and many great shopping and dining areas.

The staff at the hotel was nothing but friendly and helpful. We plan on returning to Amsterdam and definitely staying at Sebastian's!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing