We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Amsterdam”
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AMS Suites
Ranked #63 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Being a native from Amsterdam now living in Switzerland, I felt right at home ascending the steep and narrow stairs. The location is very central in the Jordaan allowing for going everywhere by foot. The room with its minimalistic interior design is very spacious (3B), easily exceeding that of a regular hotel room. Very pleasant to sleep with the possibility of opening the windows and enjoy the Amsterdam background noise and the carillon of the Westerkerk chiming its illustrious tunes. Apart from the mediocre water pressure, the bathroom exceeded expectation with both a large bathtub and large shower cell. The only personal tough to be received is the door opening by an emailed pin for the front door and and room door, as there is no interfacing with any personnel. A minor caviat is the notion that there is no way to store luggage, easily resolved by dropping it that the Central Station locker section that is only a 10 minutes. The free wifi is of high speed quality and very stable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for AMS Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank RC0912
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Okay so upon opening the front door our hearts did sink, we had just come from a London Studio that presented the same and was very small inside. We struggled up to open to an amazing space. The studio was very open and spacious with a chic interiors. French doors opened to the charming little street with canal view. Location was perfect close to everything which made getting around super easy. Very clean and the studio was serviced every day. Only drawback really was the stairs which even though we were on the top floor.... they became a pleasure to tread as we knew what awaits at the top. With the size of the space it was a shame it didn't afford more utilities such as cutlery, microwave etc. And if we had to be super critical the water pressure lacked some gusto but as a perfect compliment to a beautiful city Ams was absolutely perfect. We loved Amsterdam and can't wait to return. Without question we would stay here again. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank natmacoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the AMS Suites over the first weekend of August. The accommodation is located in the Jordaan district which has a really relaxed and bohemian feel about it, lots of small cafes, bars and restraunts in which to sit and just watch the world go by. Having said that the accommodation is also just a leisurely stroll from everything else Amsterdam has to offer. We stayed in a room on the third floor at the front of the property which was a really good size and overall absolutely superb. The decor is really modern with a large double bed, flat screen TV, coffee making facilities, fridge and safe. The bathroom was also really well appointed with a lovely wet room shower area. We were really pleased that we had chosen this accommodation, it really made us feel that we were experiencing the real Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayweg0again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay @ AMS Suites and loved every minute. Superb location, easy walking distance from all the attractions, bars and cafés, and a great base for exploring the area on foot (we are an older couple but easily coped with walking everywhere).

Super efficient service from the moment we booked – all questions promptly answered by email and details and door code received several days before we were due to fly. Our room was very clean and of a high specification (in our opinion). Large flatscreen TV (not that we found time to watch it), free WiFi, digital safe, coffee machine, slippers… the list goes on.

We found our room very peaceful, no disturbance from other guests in other rooms. The only thing we could hear were the distant chimes of the church bells near Anne Frank House but only because we would sleep with our French window ajar.

Happy to recommend without reservation and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are situated on floors 2 and 3. We had room 2F, a junior suite, on the 2nd floor at the front...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s2wart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the AMS suites in mid April and loved it! It was clean, in an excellent neighborhood and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower with a rain shower fixture and the water pressure was perfect. Check out the Pancakes House about 3 blocks away for a perfect dutch treat. I will certainly book a room here again and I will tell all of my friends to stay here as well.(note, if you cannot climb stairs this place is not for you).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmongTheRuins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed @ AMS Suites this easter and we can definitely recommend it. The rooms are large and trendy, situated in the jordaan district it is easy to access all districts in Amsterdam, making it a perfect base if you only have got a couple of days in Fantastic Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 371 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#110 of 371 in Amsterdam
343 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 371 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#37 of 337 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#36 of 238 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Jordaan
B&B La Festa
B&B La Festa
#35 of 337 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016 RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $182 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast located in the city center of Amsterdam. Our spacious rooms are about 30sqm. The interior is a combination of modern design and authentic features. All rooms have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing