We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AMS Suites
Ranked #69 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the AMS suites in mid April and loved it! It was clean, in an excellent neighborhood and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower with a rain shower fixture and the water pressure was perfect. Check out the Pancakes House about 3 blocks away for a perfect dutch treat. I will certainly book a room here again and I will tell all of my friends to stay here as well.(note, if you cannot climb stairs this place is not for you).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    25
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed @ AMS Suites this easter and we can definitely recommend it. The rooms are large and trendy, situated in the jordaan district it is easy to access all districts in Amsterdam, making it a perfect base if you only have got a couple of days in Fantastic Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

AMS suites are ideal if you want to stay in the centre of Amsterdam, in the really attractive Jordaan area, yet appreciate quiet along with convenience. The superior room that we stayed in was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, and decorated in a minimalist and restful style. [You have to be prepared to climb steep stairs to get to the room]. There is no reception area but every question sent to the owner is replied to instantly. I would definitely book the room again.

Room Tip: You need to be able to scale steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed in a junior suite on my own and it was basically a decent sized modern room with a small bathroom (no bath tub). The owner, Maryanm was very helpful and super efficient with email enquiries with replies within 15mins so there were no concerns that the property didn't have a reception. I asked for a map and an international plug converter and this was no problem - both waitibg for me in the room when I arrived. The junior suite is really just comfortable for one person, so if travelling as a couple this room would be a bit tight. There are a few doors to open and shut while walkibg up the stairs and I found this to be quite noisy when other occupiers were coming in and out of the place.

Very centrally located just off Prinsengracht and many restaurants nearby - I highly recommend Restaurant Envy. Also an easy walk to The Nine Streets and Anne Frank House.

Very good value stay considering accommodation in Amsterdam hotels are so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

me and my wife stayed here early february 2013 in the superior suite. i think for around the 200$ a day you can't really find options in amsterdam at this level. very nice decorated, very clean and in a beautiful area. about 3 minutes walk to the nearest tram station. we stayed on the 3rd floor which means over 40 stairs to climb. although some people would see it as something bad, we actually enjoyed the excercise. there is no problem regarding the fact that it doesnt have a reception 'cuz all the replies to my e-mails were really quick. bootom line, if you don't mind a bit of stair climbing, go for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location is perfectly located in the up and coming areas Jordaan however easily walkable to Dam Square and Leidsplien. Good if you don't want to be anywhere near Red Light District. Room was ultra modern, spacious and very clean. There is no reception however I had few enquiries that I emailed and they always replied within 15minutes. Can't wait to stay there again. Fantastic place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It wasn't until I stayed at this hotel, that I had ever had a European hotel experience that I wanted to repeat; this place is so comfortable, simple, well-located, quiet and special. The neighborhood is lovely, with bars and shops around the corner. Of course the stairs were hideous and difficult as others noted, and I was worried about a key code entry arriving at dusk and by foot from the bus, but everything worked well and the benefits far outweigh the minor drawbacks. The bed was large and comfy, the french doors open to a beautiful view of a cobblestone street, the shower was modern and clean. We had an in-room fridge that was very utilized during our stay. I've been to Amsterdam three times, and my husband and I have decided it is our new "it" city - the place that suits our travel desires. When we go back, we'll be staying at AMS Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atplayonegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#30 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Property: AMS Suites
Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing