We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AMS Suites
Ranked #82 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It took me a while searching around online to find a hotel that wasn't super expensive that had some dutch character/style/aesthetic. As soon as we opened the door to our suite (2B) we were very happy with our choice. The suite was very large, light, bright, modern, and quiet. We didn't see or hear anyone else during our stay. The receptionless hotel concept is great - maybe not for everyone - but any for savvy traveller with a smartphone it's perfect. We recieved an email just as we arrived in Amsterdam that our suite was ready early and our pin code would be active when we arrived. Located amongst the 9 streets - it's perfect for couples or people who don't want to stay in the city centre. The area is full of good restaurants and boutiques and is the most beautiful part of Amsterdam. We found the building easily and it was a short walk (15min) from Central Station. We will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardianscript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
67
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I went to the amssuites for a weekend (one night). I was very satisfied of the huge rooms. They were clean, the temperature was nice. What was missing was maybe a picture on the long wall beside the bed, it looked a bit cold. You have to notice that there are a lot of stairs to climb (yes you have to climb!). And there is no recption, it's like your own appartment when you go there.
Well situated, the best tram station is the Westermakrt, the other ones are more far away. Lovely shopping streets around...So happy!

If you want to read more about check out: www.the-belgian-girl.blogspot.com

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBelgianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

great location, "walking distance" from every attraction if you like walking. Nice lesbian local bar on the corner of the street:) welcomed gays as well. try Balthazar kitchen if you would like a good dinner, not that great service but the main course saved everything. many other greate local resturants. Also recommend Little Collins as a breakfast/lunch place, its situated some blocks away but is a great way to begin your exploring of Amsterdam, after to glasses of prosecco filled to the rimm and a hardy breakfastplate you will feel all day you are ready for some Rembrandt and van Gogh.
Got a junior suite on the 2.rd floor. Great beeds and lovely bathroom.
Great service from the cleaning staff, no reception, but emidiate response on email. Got to leav luggage in the room for 6 hours the day we checked out.
The key-code worked fine.

All over a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leif-Ove H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

For a start, AMS doesn't claim to be a hotel! It states on their website that they are unmanned suites and that suited us fine. We did bump in to the cleaning lady a few times but other than that, we were hardly aware of any other guests coming and going.
Yes, the stairs are narrow and steep, but the website warns of that too!
Communication to the owner was never an issue either. Emails were always swiftly replied to, and any queries/ issues answered. We didn't have any problems here.

Anyway, AMS is set in a quiet residential street in the heart of Jordaan. A laid back, artistic corner of Amsterdam full of boutiques and quirky shops. We loved it. The location is perfect. The city centre is a 10 minute walk away and easy enough to get to.
The room itself (2b) was excellent. Huge bed, room to swing a cat, double bath and underfloor heating in the bathroom. Tastefully decorated and spotless. Helped make our break a memorable one.

We wouldn't hesitate in returning here. Cannot fault it one bit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emz2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed 4 nights. Of the halogen lamp were 30 % out of order. Washroom was totally without electricity one day and night. We reserved breakfst fot 3 mornings, by arrival there was no address for the cafe, where it was served! No answer on phone, e-mail or sms!! Housekeeper accidentaly game to house and helped us! Enermous odor for three days in lavatory and room!!
Bad experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Paavo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not really a hotel. No reception, porters, or elevator. Nice quiet neighborhood, but hard to find. Biggest complaint was the steep, narrow staircase, up three flights. If you have luggage (we didn't as it was only for an overnight), it would have been really nasty. The room however was excellent. Very modern, well fitted, spacious and beautiful. The location is great and I can recommend the Tapas Bar for dinner. Also hard to find, but everyone in the neighborhood knows where it is.

Room Tip: Do not select if you have much luggage. See main review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Prinsengracht Canal House
Prinsengracht Canal House
#197 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#88 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#28 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Property: AMS Suites
Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016 RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing