We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our fantastic stay at Ams Suites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AMS Suites
Ranked #75 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our fantastic stay at Ams Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the Ams Suites for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday and wedding anniversary. When we arrived there was a bottle of bubbly and a welcome card, a very nice touch. We found the suites very easily from the directions sent to us and had no problem using the keyless entry system. It was very easy to get there from the airport on the number197 bus and only a five minute walk from the last stop.
The suites are located in a beautiful area of Amsterdam, only a five minute walk from the centre. There are plenty of cafes within a couple of minutes walk for breakfast and a lovely bar/restaurant just a few metres from the entrance.
Yes the stairs are very steep, we were on the top floor but the room was wonderful, just as the pictures and extremely spacious with lovely toiletries in the huge bathroom. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
75
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this lovely neighbourhood for 3 nights and was very happy with the hotel. However, it was a little disappointing to note that towels were not ready after we checked in (no hotel staff. Just pin code to access your rooms). Room service did forget to prepare or change new toiletries which bothered me but otherwise not a major issue. If you are looking for BIG and SPACIOUS hotel rooms, this is the hotel. Mind you, the stairs, as with all stairs in all of Netherlands are made to kill you. Tiny staircase really irked me.

I'd recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dearveruca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Yes, the stairs! Our driver was able to find the location but not without assist from passersby, and dropped us off at a door marked only by a tulip and a keypad. After entering the code we opened the door and were astounded by how steep and narrow the stairs were! We were sailing from Amsterdam on a cruise and had a total of 5 suitcases. It would be best to travel like Rick Steves, it's a long climb up tiny stair rungs to the second floor. Maybe it would be easier wearing wooden shoes. We finally got everything up to our Junior Suite and were rewarded by a large and very bright room facing the gardens at the rear of the houses, with windows across the entire wall. Very clean and with a very large comfortable bed, very modern if a bit stark. We had communicated via email to request dinner reservations and all our requests were promptly confirmed by the staff. The greatest asset of the hotel is the location in the wonderfully quaint Rozengracht neighborhood, with so many great restaurants and cafes and shops on every corner. Even the local coffee shop La Tertulia is quaint and inviting in case you need a brownie to ease the long climb to your room. The Canal
belt is just a stroll away with postcard perfect views everywhere, but still away from the hordes on Dam Square and everyone in the neighborhood so friendly and willing to give directions. There's two markets, a deli, a bakery and an excellent wine shop right around the corner, as well Balthazar's Keuken restaurant. It's incredibly good and so very local with an excellent set menu, but is very small so it's best to reserve ahead. If one can manage the stairs the AMS Suites is an absolutely great value set in a beautiful and historic area that makes one feel like one othe the locals. And yes, the brownies were yummie!

Room Tip: If the room faces west be sure to close the curtains and leave the AC on, gets very warm on sunny da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneysOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Wonderful little hotel but the stairs!!!!! We had a room on the 3rd floor, typical canal house, very steep stairs. We managed fine but anyone with issues with stairs will not cope well. We requested an extra chair and they immediately provided it. We pointed out a couple of bulbs were off and they fixed immediately. Really nice spacious room, beautiful full wall of windows with the only drawback was not being soundproof. 8:00 am and you were aware of activity outside. Fully renovated suites, beautiful tiled bathroom with rainshower. Wood floors and they provide new slippers but could use a rug in the room as the floors were cold. Heated floors in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambmelamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I booked AMS Suites for my boyfriend and I for a long weekend in Amsterdam. We were over the moon with our Suite. We arrived early and arranged to meet house keeping staff to drop off our bags. Everyone that I dealt with on the phone and at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. Huge room and stylish bathroom with great toiletries. We were very happy with our choice despite worrying about the keyless entry system which worked very well. Fantastic pretty location, great coffee and a big comfy bed! Woke one morning to no hot water but this was quickly fixed after a phone call to AMS Staff.

We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianie_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#30 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Jordaan
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
#124 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Canal House
Prinsengracht Canal House
#168 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Property: AMS Suites
Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing