We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate Apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
Living room
Living room
Living room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Shower
Outdoor
Outdoor
Outdoor
Outdoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Charles C
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Immaculate Apartment”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment has everything. A view overlooking the canal. The apartment itself is immaculate, from the beautiful furnishings and artwork, to the ultra modern kitchen and bathroom. The neighborhood is great, generally quiet, and close to Trams. The place is large and beautiful. We absolutely loved our stay in this apartment. It is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. Every attention to detail is given. In fact when I said to Minne, the property owner (who was incredibly nice and helpful) that we loved the place and it had everything except ice trays, he explained that ice was not customary there, but two hours later he knocked on our door with a bag of ice! It was a sweet and caring gesture.

The bottom line is don't think twice about renting this apartment. It's reasonably priced for the value. Coming home to this place every night was a joy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment Layout, Decor and Amenities, Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limey6644
Lewes, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

All the other reviews were accurate. Would like to emphasize the steep stairs. Being a retired couple, and in relatively decent shape, I will admit that the stairs were quite a challenge, more for the steepness and very narrow steps. Glad that we did not have to carry our luggage.
Location great - we were able to walk to everything in the city, and we are in our seventies.

We were disappointed with Minne's response to our confusion. Had a wonderful time thru-out our stay, but lost track of the days, and ended up moving out one day early, and did not realize until we got to the hotel near the airport ready for our departure. We communicated with Minne at least twice on the day that we left, and he made no reference to the fact that we were leaving a day early. When we tried communicating with him after our discovery, he failed to respond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadowTra...
Newport, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Location and Ambiance”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed 3 nights in the Amsterdam Canal View Apartment and loved it. Beautiful view over a quiet old canal. Watch the people cross the canal bridge below. Quiet at night. Cozy and well equipped. And, best of all, an absolutely perfect location. We walked everywhere: Riks Museum, Rembrandt House, dinner at each of the restaurants we had reserved, Van Gogh, Ann Frank, etc. To and from the airport it’s a simple 3 stop tram ride from Central Station and then the shuttle train to Schiphol. As in all old canal houses the stairs are steep and the bathroom small. If these are problems for you a hotel will work better. For us they were no issue at all. And our host, Minne, was very helpful and informative. I know where I will be staying again next time I am in Amsterdam! Btw, breakfast is no longer offered but there are very many fine options in the immediate neighborhood.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, canal view, helpful host
Liked least: tiny bath and bed rooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
needles_d...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A room with a view!”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Amsterdam Canal View apartment was all it was made out to be. Excellent location and well laid out (although the bedroom is a little small). My wife and I traveled with our 18 year granddaughter and this was the perfect apartment for us to enjoy Amsterdam. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view and overall ambiance
Liked least: Bedroom was a bit small.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseInM...
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and neighborhood canal house”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This 17th century canal house was located directly in front of the Singel Canal. What a view we had at night while we rested our worn feet while sipping on tea and pastries from the nearby bakery. It was a nice area with lots of bakery, restaurants, museums, tram stations very conveniently close. Also, walking to the Dam Square and Central Station was within a 5-10 minute walk. The bedroom is in the back of the canal house, so it was absolutely quiet space and we slept well. The bathroom has heated tile floors and is so nice on your feet in the middle of the night! The bathroom & shower room is integrated into 1 room. But we got used to planning so that that you could not be in the shower and someone else in the toilet at the same time.

The owner, Minnie van Hoeve, showed us around on our arrival. He walked around the neighborhood to show us interesting spots such as the Beginhof oldest courtyard in Amsterdam, art gallery on Kalverstreet, the museum to buy our museumkaart, great eating spots. He also spent time to talk about places outside of Amsterdam, which would be of interest. Then, he turned over his apartment to us. Minnie was great to work with and very responsive to my emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rnman
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I loved this place”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The worst thing about this place was we only had three days to enjoy it. The view was wonderful. It is tastefully furnished. You want for nothing. I could watch the view for hours while looking at one of the wonderful books in the place. All restaurant recommendations were good, as was the suggestion to visit the "convent-like" area around the corner..
Beware, the place has steep stairs, but it is an old dwelling and that goes with territory.
A word of caution do not use closest ATM machine at Spui. It charges loan shark like rates and fees, go to a proper bank instead.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushitaff...
Acqualoreto, Italy
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This apartment is truly lovely. The location is ideal, the view over the canal is such a bonus. Beautifully furnished and equipped, lacking nothing. It felt like home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to sit by the picture windows and watch life on the bridge and on the canal.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing