We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Real Amsterdam" with beautiful views”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Living room
Living room
Living room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Shower
Outdoor
Outdoor
Outdoor
Outdoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CDPort
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“"Real Amsterdam" with beautiful views”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in May & were very happy with location , view & facilities. Once you got over the steep stairs that were almost a ladder ( so typical of Amsterdam) it was fantastic. Even though close to the action it was quiet for sleeping. Bicycles were also available if we dared to use them, but location was great we walked everywhere.We felt as if we were experiencing "real Amsterdam" Host was away but Chris was very helpful. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The scary stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M
Province of Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice apartment with lovely canal views and excellent location!! There are several nice coffeshops and restaurants around and a delicious bakery in the corner.
The owner (MInne) was very kind, gave us all information of the city and left us bikes to our full availability. I'd repeat my stay in this apartment without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the2vus
Conway, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“This is the perfect place to stay--we will return!”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

On visits to Amsterdam over the years we have usually stayed at a hotel, or rented a flat between canals with no view of the water. This time we wanted to stay in an apartment in a canal house, near to the center, so we searched TripAdvisor for just such an option. We are very happy we chose Canal View Apartment on the Singel. It was the perfect location for us. We made reservations, and received an email from Minne, who owns and manages the property, and lives on the floor above. He answered our questions and provided us with the helpful and detailed information we needed before we traveled, such as which tram to take from Central Station, where to change our funds, etc.

The apartment is located on the floor above the canal level, up one flight of narrow stairs with handrails, quite typical of canal houses (but not difficult to climb); Minne lives on the next floor up. In his email, he had suggested that we not bring large luggage, but perhaps smaller suitcases, and he graciously carried one of ours up the stairs.
The on-line photos of this apartment looked very inviting, and we were even more pleased upon our arrival. Minne has thought of everything a visitor might need--the apartment is beautifully furnished with an interesting combination of antiques, ceramics, lighting, and artwork, all tastefully arranged, and there are two marble fireplace surrounds . It is very welcoming, and the large windows at the front offer wonderful views overlooking the Singel Canal. The apartment has a living room section, with a day bed/sofa and comfortable chair, and bookcase and table with reading materials. The next area has a dining table and seating for three. The kitchen is fitted with a gas stove and refrigerator, toaster, and cooking/eating utensils, making it easy to prepare our own breakfasts, which we did during our week’s stay. We purchased groceries at a nearby Albert Heijn. The attractive bathroom was extremely well designed—a very efficient use of space. The floor has radiant heat under the tiles, which feels wonderful. The toilet is at one end of the room, with lighted glass shelves built into the wall behind, filled with extra supplies one might need. The sink and mirror are in the middle of the room, and the shower at the other end with a side-to-side drain which crosses the floor under the shower head (which is adjustable). The king-size bed is fitted across the back of a room at the rear of the apartment, where there is a window on one side. He has provided a desk, in an area opposite the kitchen, which we used for computer work. Free internet service is available here, which allowed us to email and search for museum/restaurant opening times. There are soft cotton bath towels, kitchen towels, sheets and comforters, really everything visitors would need. There are audio and video players/TVs, a dishwasher, and a washer/dryer. Minne has provided many travel guides available for use, some helpfully annotated. He has scrapbooks which include information about many interesting attractions in Amsterdam and other local areas. He supplied dining suggestions, along with business cards for restaurants, and was generous with his time, being sure we had answers to any questions about the apartment, museums, trams, etc.

The March weather was quite cool while we were in Amsterdam, but the apartment was very warm and comfortable. We purchased the Museum Kaart, which covers most museums in Holland and is valid for a year. We traveled easily by train to Den Haag, and Haarlem, where there are other museums we love.

We were extremely pleased with our stay in this beautiful apartment, and will certainly book it with him again on our next visit—perhaps as soon as this autumn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the apartment, and Minne's helpfulness.
Liked least: Having to leave--we will return soon!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ele_cro
Ivrea, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent position, excellent apartment, execellent view”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This apartment is located in a beautiful area, just in front of a Canal.
The view is very nice, and the stay really relaxing.

In my opinion this is the best area in which to stay, because is really central, near restaurants and pubs, but at the same time is really quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The bedroom is really little
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inbalr201...
1 review
“Beautiful apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the apartment for 3 nights in March. The apartment is beautiful and well equipped. The location is great and Minne was very kind and helpful.
Highly recommended! We will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Center, New Hampshire
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing