We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Negen Straatjes

De Negen Straatjes
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.05*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Ranked #34 of 483 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This neighborhhod of "nine little streets" is full of quirky stores selling clothing, books, art, food and lots more.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The nine alleys area is a shopping area with lots and lots of small, cozy shops, ranging from second-hand clothing, through jewelers and artists to design and fashion. There are also cafes and places to eat here, and everything is within 5-10 minutes walking distance. A must-see when visiting Amsterdam.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank slitte_sko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    516
    143
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“For non-main stream boutiques”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you are looking for nice little shops which are not part of an international chain go here. A lot of clothing shops, but also antiques and goodies are to be found here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anmabech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
348 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not all normal shops every house and restaurant and shop has something extra. Nice for a walk, a coffee or to buy something you didn't know you needed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank diana56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shop till you drop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The small streets in the historical centre of Amsterdam are the Amsterdam experience. While shop in special shops, you can enjoy the canals and the spirit of Amsterdam. Enjoy and discover this beautiful city.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HildaKluessien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not as impressed as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Maybe I missed some of the area, but I was not as impressed as I expected to be.
Most of the shops I saw were either clothes shops or bookshops. I did not see the art and design that I had hoped to find.
A lovely coffeeshop, and generally a nice atmosphere, but not the answer to my search for Christmas presents.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GreenBeansSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Negen Straatjes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Negen Straatjes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing