We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Can be good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #268 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can be good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Main building room I stayed in had very comfy bed, sparkling clean bathroom and the quiet location that the whole hotel enjoys near the Vondel park. The high traffic public areas, in particular the narrow stairs and corridors need a lick of paint and new carpets though. I gather from colleagues that the suites in the buildings opposite were very much larger and did not need this attention though.

Friendly staff. Think of breakfast as a good continental rather than full buffet. No restaurant, but 1000s on your doorstep!

Quick freshen up and this place would be excellent. As is it can be good-to-excellent value (bearing in mind Amsterdam is never really cheap) depending on the room you get.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittainBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    138
    88
    61
    48
See reviews for
37
198
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I were here with my boyfriend for four nights, so the good things are that the hotel has a nice location and the staff is really helpful and friendly, however on our first night the security box did not worked out, the next day we had to ask for towels and also somehow the fire alarm woke up us around 7:00 a.m..... The facilittes look old and the floor crunches.

Room Tip: As soon as you get your room make sure the security box works, have clean towels and check your pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Came for 4 nights for a friends birthday. A triple room for 3 people was plenty size wise. Nice hotel and great location only 15 minutes walk from anywhere. Price of stay was superb. Would recommend anyone having a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyGPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Sandton Hotel de Filosoof offers good quality accommodation at very reasonable prices in a convenient location in the city of Amsterdam - convenient in the sense that while it is well served by city tram No1, which runs past the end of Anna van den Vondelstraat and takes you to the city centre and Centraal Staion, the hotel is alongside the wonderful Vondelpark, a green area for the city and its people. The staff are cheerful and most helpful, and there are philosophical texts in the rooms, including books, as if to underline the name of the hotel. Strangely, though, I saw nothing by Spinoza, surely Amsterdam's greatest thinker. Highly recommended - the hotel and Spinoza.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hywel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I experienced problems with my booking (due to my fault) and the receptionist Gulia (I hope I spelled it correctly and apologize if I didn't) was really helpful in helping me re-book as well as find another hotel for the night for which they were fully booked. I really appreciate all the help and the professional manner in which she handled the situation. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mas646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were looking for a reasonable hotel near the center of Amsterdam. The Filosoof is located near the Vondelpark and close to the museums. Lot's of excellent restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very good. Especially the Manager , Ivo and Gulja. Gulja even managed to track down a lost credit card!!! We had a room in a house across the street. A bit funky but large with a lovely solarium looking into the garden. Since the hotel is located on a quiet street there was no traffic noise at all. Breakfast was included and more than adequate. The Sandton chain does a great job as we also stayed in the Central Brussels hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbirdsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at filosoof for 2 nights and found it comfortable and enjoyable. Check in and check out were smooth and seamless. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. There is a little bar in the lobby. Breakfast was included with the room. A more than adequate affair to start your morning. The room was quite and clean. The bathroom was large and had smooth availability of hot water. In the backyard there is a nice garden to relax. And there is some indoor patio seating if you don't want to sit outside. It is an easy walk to the canals and attractions. Location is central

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#98 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#101 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#265 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#74 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing