We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #270 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at filosoof for 2 nights and found it comfortable and enjoyable. Check in and check out were smooth and seamless. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. There is a little bar in the lobby. Breakfast was included with the room. A more than adequate affair to start your morning. The room was quite and clean. The bathroom was large and had smooth availability of hot water. In the backyard there is a nice garden to relax. And there is some indoor patio seating if you don't want to sit outside. It is an easy walk to the canals and attractions. Location is central

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    138
    88
    61
    48
See reviews for
37
198
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The location is close to vondelpark but 15 min away from the city center, when you walk all day the hotel way comes to long to go so better to arrange a closer otel.
My room the tv , phone were not working and no hair dryer at room, the breakfast was so poor , if you go to breakfast a little late you could not find anyting.there are main building and some buildings across to street, i stayed at hotel but they gave a room to my friends building 11 ( across the street) , their rooms was also at basemend and the room was so bad , the stairs at hotel was so narrow and bad.if you insist on staying at hotel do not accept anything good !

Room Tip: stay at main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FilizCLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
phuket
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Perfect localation, small cosy hotel with small room and nice decoration. Lovely and helpful staff, nice backyard. Expensive breakfast. We love this hotel land will be back soon. Small bath, but clean and big soft towels and lovely soap. Every room I different decorated and every day there Is new word of the day in the elevator.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dokkelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was the smallest double room I've seen in my life. Extremely small, especially for two. Very poor rooms, bathroom door would not close properly, no space for luggage...Staff was very friendly and helpful though. Location is great - a bit far from the city center and right next to the park. Too expensive for that kind of room. Wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Birthday trip for my husbands 40th and the staff at Filosoof could not do enough. I called them prior to our arrival about a room upgrade and thus they did at a greatly reduced cost. I also asked for some bubbly to be in the room for when we got there, we did however, arrive 3 hours prior to check in time but not a problem! We could book in straight away and they said just let them know when we want the bubbly and they would pop it up. The room was great with a gorgeous wet room (only downside is the stairs but thats traditional Dutch architecture!). The staff were friendly and really helpful. OK, the room could do with a bit of a touch up but it was clean and tidy and its an old building so it will never be 100% perfect. If you want that modern neatness go to a Hilton! Overall great hotel, fantastic location next to Vondlepark and amazing staff. Oh and the beds are to DIE for!!! Just couldn't fit it in my case.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites in a building opposite the hotel and had loads of space and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Filosoof is just grubby, dirty and nasty. The room we occupied was minute. It would have been small for a single never mind a twin room.
The walls carpets and paintwork were filthy. There was even the residue of someone's nose on the wall. The bathroom was a joke. It appeared to be a cupboard! The area that you could actually stand in whilst using its facilities was about 18" by 12". The sink in the "bathroom" was so small that it could only hold about a litre of water.
There were three clothes hangers in a kind of slit in the wall and that was the total storage for clothes, so you had to live out of your suitcase. The beds (single) were awful. Uncomfortable, small and rickety. There was one pillow and a dirty cushion per bed.
The windows hadn't seen water for months and the window sill was disgusting. Walls and ceiling were dirty and marked. The carpet was badly stained. In one corner of our room there was around 3ft of cable piled up that was connected via horrible conduits to a hole in the ceiling.
At one stage the corridor roof was leaking outside one of our rooms. The carpet became soaked and remained soaked throughout our stay.
The hotel may be nicely placed in a quiet street and close to the park but there is nothing else to say in its favour. Cannot see how it got 3 stars.
A very unpleasant experience. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boswell90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#97 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#100 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#266 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#74 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing