We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #271 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    138
    88
    61
    48
See reviews for
37
198
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
phuket
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Perfect localation, small cosy hotel with small room and nice decoration. Lovely and helpful staff, nice backyard. Expensive breakfast. We love this hotel land will be back soon. Small bath, but clean and big soft towels and lovely soap. Every room I different decorated and every day there Is new word of the day in the elevator.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dokkelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was the smallest double room I've seen in my life. Extremely small, especially for two. Very poor rooms, bathroom door would not close properly, no space for luggage...Staff was very friendly and helpful though. Location is great - a bit far from the city center and right next to the park. Too expensive for that kind of room. Wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Birthday trip for my husbands 40th and the staff at Filosoof could not do enough. I called them prior to our arrival about a room upgrade and thus they did at a greatly reduced cost. I also asked for some bubbly to be in the room for when we got there, we did however, arrive 3 hours prior to check in time but not a problem! We could book in straight away and they said just let them know when we want the bubbly and they would pop it up. The room was great with a gorgeous wet room (only downside is the stairs but thats traditional Dutch architecture!). The staff were friendly and really helpful. OK, the room could do with a bit of a touch up but it was clean and tidy and its an old building so it will never be 100% perfect. If you want that modern neatness go to a Hilton! Overall great hotel, fantastic location next to Vondlepark and amazing staff. Oh and the beds are to DIE for!!! Just couldn't fit it in my case.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites in a building opposite the hotel and had loads of space and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Filosoof is just grubby, dirty and nasty. The room we occupied was minute. It would have been small for a single never mind a twin room.
The walls carpets and paintwork were filthy. There was even the residue of someone's nose on the wall. The bathroom was a joke. It appeared to be a cupboard! The area that you could actually stand in whilst using its facilities was about 18" by 12". The sink in the "bathroom" was so small that it could only hold about a litre of water.
There were three clothes hangers in a kind of slit in the wall and that was the total storage for clothes, so you had to live out of your suitcase. The beds (single) were awful. Uncomfortable, small and rickety. There was one pillow and a dirty cushion per bed.
The windows hadn't seen water for months and the window sill was disgusting. Walls and ceiling were dirty and marked. The carpet was badly stained. In one corner of our room there was around 3ft of cable piled up that was connected via horrible conduits to a hole in the ceiling.
At one stage the corridor roof was leaking outside one of our rooms. The carpet became soaked and remained soaked throughout our stay.
The hotel may be nicely placed in a quiet street and close to the park but there is nothing else to say in its favour. Cannot see how it got 3 stars.
A very unpleasant experience. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boswell90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely little gem of a hotel, right near the park.
Staff we so friendly and really helpful. They gave us maps and advice on where to go and what to see.
Yes it's slightly dated but that just adds to it's charm! If you want to stay in your hotel all day, don't go to a beautiful city and waste time in your room... The beds were comfy and the neighbourhood felt safe.
It is slightly away from the centre but everywhere is walkable (took us 15 minutes to get to old town).
Will definitely be returning on our next trip to Amsterdam!
Centraal station to the hotel: take the no1 tram and get off at Jan Pieter Heijestraat (on Overtoom), walk slightly back in the direction you came from and it's the 2nd street on the right; Anna Van Den Vondelstraat.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

First time in Amsterdam with my friend and had the friendliest welcome from all of the staff! As well as giving us several maps and information on transport and locations of attractions which was great. Nice clean room, brilliant price. Had such a fun time! Definitely be returning.. Also no time limit on when returning to the hotel at silly o'clock!!! Even then the staff would always welcome with a hello. Very highly recommended. Thank you hotel de Filosoof!!! From the two blonde English girls!! X

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberrcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#166 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#266 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#239 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#256 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing