We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“While you're sleeping ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #271 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“While you're sleeping ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quite near the centre of Amsterdam, this hotel offers unique rooms, each room with a real philosophical taste. Books in different languages are available for the non-sleepers.
The breakfast is perfect. And staying on a sunday means free parking in the street.
We've been here for a couple of times, and will certainly come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. We hope to welcome you again in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.

With Philosophical regards,
The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    138
    88
    61
    48
See reviews for
37
198
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well located, just close to a big park and 10 mn by foot from the historical center of amsterdam, not expensive, each room is different with its own atmosphere, friendly service. We planned to stay 4 nights, and finally we stayed all the week !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVoyageuse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof in the near future. Thank you for staying with us and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Philosophical greetings,
The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (we're both 21) stayed here at the start of new year (the quietest tourist time of the year) and it really was just so disappointing. I didn't have high expectations as we didn't pay a fortune to stay here, but the room we were given on arrival (a cosy room as paid for) was just horrific. Tiny attic style room, you could hardly swing a cat and it was very tired and shabby. But I understood it isn't about the hotel, it's about the city so quickly got over it. However upon laying on the bed it was just an absolute shock that every single move made the bed squeak so loudly. Reception were very understanding, giving me the opportunity to go and take a look at another cosy room which was in the basement, right next to the laundry room, directly underneath the reception area and right outside our bedroom window was the smoking area outside. Agreeing that this room was better than the first we were offered a free change. No towels were in the bathroom and it was 4 hours before some were delivered to us. There was no way of turning the radiator off and at night we were uncomfortably hot. The next day we went to use the shower and no towels AGAIN! Overall a very poor experience, and as students who have stayed in YMCA's travelling we felt very ripped off as it was just a complete shambles. Very sorry to write this report but it is just to warn other young travellers like ourselves to stick with the hostels or pay more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonGirl604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank your for your review. We always apreciate constructive cirtism, as we can then improve the hotel. We are very sorry that your stay was not to your wishes and we would like to apologise for this.

With kind regards,
Ilse Jonker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a room on the 3rd floor, we were room 36...its a triple room and is shabby chic. It was a big room with lovely wetroom style bathroom. Bed was really comfy, with heating in rooms if you wanted to turn it on.

Good location but a bit on outskirts, aprox 35 minute walk to Dam Square.

Our friends booked doubles, which were small rooms but you dont spend any time in them anyway...every room was unique with different coloured decor, etc.

Room was cleaned every day, staff were lovely and very accomodating. We wanted to have some wine one night when getting in at 3am...they opened the bar to serve us and nothing was too much trouble. They ordered taxis for us when required, etc.

Lovely quirky hotel, great service... would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the theme of the room. We hope to welcome you and your friends again in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.

With Philosophical greetings,

The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

An interesting hotel in a very good location with decor which makes it uniquely distinctive. The service was good and the cost fair for an inner city location. My only criticism would be that breakfast was not inclusive which I always feel is positive as a pull factor. Also this heating in my room was not on which meant if was a little chilly. It is, however, a hotel which I would return to and it is close to the CBD and museum district. For someone looking for a hotel which is not of the cloned variety and which has artifacts which catch the eye then this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. We are verry happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. Might you be interested in the same room or might you want to experience a different room, you can always make a request and we will do our outmost to fullfill these requests.

With kind regards,

The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're looking to experience a traditional Dutch building in a beautiful part of Amsterdam then this hotel is for you. Just off the beautiful Vondelpark (Amsterdam's answer to Hyde Park but no boats) and in a quiet but welcoming neighbour less than 20 minutes walk from the centre of town or an easy tram journey right to the heart of the city (the number 1 tram takes you straight down town and is extremely regular just on the Overtoom street near the hotel). Our room was cleaned everyday and we were lucky enough to have the Sigmund Freud room decorated with famous quotes and a huge cosy bed. The bonus of having a suite meant were in a building across from the main hotel which almost felt like we had an apartment for three days. I really enjoyed the fact we were slightly outside of town as it meant we could experience local restaurants and shops (a wonderful travel book shop is just around the corner from the hotel). I will definitely be returning to this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Alice,

We would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We were verry happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that we may welcome you back in the near future. We are looking forward welcoming you again in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.

With kind regards
the team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very small rooms, service erratic, kept having to ask for towels!! Quite far out of city centre but good tram links

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kenny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#166 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#266 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#239 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#256 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing