We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quirky and eclectic with lots of historical charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #270 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Quirky and eclectic with lots of historical charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

An interesting hotel in a very good location with decor which makes it uniquely distinctive. The service was good and the cost fair for an inner city location. My only criticism would be that breakfast was not inclusive which I always feel is positive as a pull factor. Also this heating in my room was not on which meant if was a little chilly. It is, however, a hotel which I would return to and it is close to the CBD and museum district. For someone looking for a hotel which is not of the cloned variety and which has artifacts which catch the eye then this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, General Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. We are verry happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof. Might you be interested in the same room or might you want to experience a different room, you can always make a request and we will do our outmost to fullfill these requests.

With kind regards,

The team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    138
    88
    61
    48
See reviews for
37
198
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're looking to experience a traditional Dutch building in a beautiful part of Amsterdam then this hotel is for you. Just off the beautiful Vondelpark (Amsterdam's answer to Hyde Park but no boats) and in a quiet but welcoming neighbour less than 20 minutes walk from the centre of town or an easy tram journey right to the heart of the city (the number 1 tram takes you straight down town and is extremely regular just on the Overtoom street near the hotel). Our room was cleaned everyday and we were lucky enough to have the Sigmund Freud room decorated with famous quotes and a huge cosy bed. The bonus of having a suite meant were in a building across from the main hotel which almost felt like we had an apartment for three days. I really enjoyed the fact we were slightly outside of town as it meant we could experience local restaurants and shops (a wonderful travel book shop is just around the corner from the hotel). I will definitely be returning to this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlseJonker, Manager at Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Alice,

We would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We were verry happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that we may welcome you back in the near future. We are looking forward welcoming you again in Sandton Hotel De Filosoof.

With kind regards
the team of Sandton Hotel De Filosoof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very small rooms, service erratic, kept having to ask for towels!! Quite far out of city centre but good tram links

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kenny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is just slightly above average. I had a great experience here. The staff is excellent, however the girl in the breakfast room should maybe keep her complaints about her health to herself and not share them with guests. We are here to relax, not hear about issues. The receptiona staff extremely warm and friendly. Rooms are wonderful; however, a little fresh paint won't hurt. All in all, a wonderful place and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAalborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A decent enough small hotel which staff will tell you is city centre based, that is a perhaps a technicality.

Staff friendly, rooms clean, but would not be my choice again, either you are in the centre of a happening city or you are not!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sandton Hotel de Filosoof 4-7 sep 2012. The hotel staff are really nice and very helpfull,rooms made up every day. Although the hotel is nice and peacefull,with comfy beds and lots of hot water I have to say overall the hotel is tired and could do with a makeover.Would also say what is described as cozy rooms should be desribed as tiny rooms.The bar is very expensive with no atmospher. The tram into town is close by and also a lovely park. However I would not say it was value for money.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be quite but cant comment on the quality of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in the city having saught out somewhere a little different - most chain hotels are just so boring after all.

We arrived early expecting just to be able to leave our bags until the room was ready but were more than happy to hear it already was. We were also pleasently surprised to have been upgraded to a suite in the annex across the road where we encountered those incredibly steep stairs you may have heard about! Wow, what an experience they were! Goodness knows how the staff get things like hoovers and things up and down them.

Our room was pleasant and comfortable, complete with a large portrait of Sigmund Freud (the suite being named after him.) Surprisingly it was devoid of toiletries although a phone call to reception solved that.

The location is lovely - a quiet neighbourhood near the Vondelpark - and we had a good, peaceful nights sleep in a comfy bed. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#97 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#100 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#266 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#74 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sandton Hotel de Filosoof - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing