We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“True customer care” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #9 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“True customer care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had booked the Rembrandt suite many months ago as a surprise romantic trip for my partners birthday.
A week before we were due to stay there the owners contacted me to let me know that major construction works were taking place outside the hotel, and crucially were going to be taking place throughout two of the nights we were due to be there. (Talk about bad luck.) As we had the only street facing suite they offered me the option of cancelling without charge.
I did take them up (somewhat guiltily) on this offer as I really wanted the trip to be special for my partner, and not spoiled by noise and dust.
I wanted to mention this exceptional customer service on Tripadvisor, as it really is very rare these days. On my next visit to Amsterdam I will definitely stay here as I know we will be very well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
196
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

A hotel with just three rooms (suites). Great, very personal service. Breakfast is just fabulous (fresh fruit, egg, cheese, smoked meat, salami,... coffee or tee, fruit juice, marmalade, honey, freshly baked buns… The ideal breakfast for people with a good appetite. No restaurant but there are enough restaurants to choose from in the vicinity. There's a nice pub just a few steps away (café De Gruter).
Not in the "city centre" but near the museums but a 24h or 48h tram pass is useful (sold at the hotel).
No elevator though.
If you need a taxi, they will be called by the staff and will arrive within 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Get the van Gogh suite: a beautiful balcony with table, two chairs and a parasol. Ideal for smokers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Petra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Vermeer Suite is on the top floor. Very steep stairs but the lovely Sabine delivered our big bags to our rooms. A very well equipped, clean and functional suite. Very close proximity to trams and eateries. There are roadworks out the front of the building but we were lucky that the majority of our stay was over the weekend. But even if we were here during the week - how much time do you spend in your room...and if you get woken up early - it just means you're out and about earlier.

Room Tip: If you are infirm or have hip or knee problems, then this isn't the place for you. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyw1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic all round!
We stayed in the Van Gogh Suite which has a lovely large private balcony.
The location is just brilliant - a lovely quiet neighbourhood but less than a 10 minute walk to the museums and a very easy stroll or bike ride into town.
We had an awesome 3 days and would definitely recommend the Museum Suites to family and friends.
Thank you Annemarie and Frieda for making our trip so easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeywilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is quite simply fabulous.

The rooms are well prepared, very clean and well designed. The staff are the best I have ever encountered in the 9 yrs of working away.

From preparing a personalised breakfast for two in the morning to buying toothpaste for you without being asked, when you tell them of your frustration of forgetting it when you packed!

The location of the hotel is ideal, near Amstelveen for business and in one of the beautiful areas of Amsterdam in my opinion. Local restaurants in the area are also very, very impressive.

I will stay no where else from now on!

Room Tip: There is one room upstairs which has an amazing balcony over the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at Museum Suites and we loved it even more. We stayed in the Vemeer Suite which was spacious and decorated very tastefully. The owners and staff are lovely people who go out of their way to help and provide first class service. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent two nights here in early May. The hotel is a large, late 19th century townhouse and the rooms have been done over tastefully and sensitively ... and comfortably. The major museums are a short distance away, either a tram ride or an easy walk. Staff were very helpful and welcoming and suggested restaurants and sights. The immediate neighborhood has good shops and restaurants. I would happily stay here again next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh Room has a large deck/porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmoTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Property: Museum Suites
Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing