We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #9 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a small little hotel with a few unique rooms in a peaceful and beautiful part of Amsterdam. As a family run business, it is not one of the soulless chain hotels that are so common these days. It is set in amongst other houses in an area just south of the main part of Amsterdam. Each room is decorated according to a famous Dutch painter (eg, Van Gogh, Rembrandt etc) and they are simply delightful. The beds are comfortable and the view into the garden out the back is wonderful. If you take a breakfast package they are willing to cater for dietary requirements if you have them. Lastly, the service by Frieda and her daughter is warm and friendly. They take the time to chat with you and are genuinely interested about you. This place is a little more expensive but it is certainly worth it if it is in your budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    28
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
189
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved our stay at this boutique hotel! The location is a home with only 4 suites within walking distance of nice restaurants, famous museums and the tram line. The Rembrandt suite, located on the front of the house, is beautifully appointed with an extra large bathroom featuring a jacuzzi tub. There was a coffeemaker and a hair dryer provided. The bed is cozy and inviting - honestly one of the best beds I have ever slept on. Amsterdam is a vibrant city and one that apparently never sleeps. The traffic noise is noticeable at all hours, but ear plugs provided a quiet, restful sleep. Everyone here aims to please and don't forget to book breakfast at least once in the dining room. The candles are lit, the food is plentiful, fresh and delicious. Every day was a new adventure and we were perfectly delighted with our choice of accommodations.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh suite faces an interior garden away from the street. I'd like to try that one next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWildBlueYonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great stay with our 10 months old baby in the Vermeer Suite. The suit was really lovely, spotlessly clean and quiet. We felt very comfortable. A babybed, a babychair and bath tub were also provided by the hotel.
Everybody in the hotel was so adorable and friendly. The delicious breakfast was served in an cosy and lovely dining with room with antique furniture and burning candles. It was really romantic.
The suites are located in a really fine, untouristic neighbourhood just around the corner from the Vondelpark. There are nice little restaurants and cafes around that are not too crowded.
We enjoyed to walk around Amsterdam but if you prefer to take the tram it is just some steps away from the hotel.
We will definately come back to the Museum Suites and Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frechdachs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel -- extremely close to the museum district but away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is on a beautiful residential street with gorgeous, traditional row houses. We stayed in the Mondrian suit and loved the views from the top floor (pack light though because there are some steep stairs). The rain shower in the bathroom was so relaxing and the decor was spot on! Most of all, Frida was so welcoming and helpful. She went above and beyond to help us book and print several tickets during our stay. Saved us so much time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This lovely hotel is a diamond: quiet, beautiful, relaxing, tasteful. We stayed four nights in the beautiful Van Gogh suite - with its own elevated back porch, giving us an elevated view of the stunning backyard gardens in full flower with birds singing while clouds skudded over the Amsterdam sky. Easy travels throughout the city with the number two tram out front. Only three blocks from the Rijkmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums in a very safe and serene residential neighborhood. One block walk takes you into Vondelpark, a delightful experience. Many buildings about with art deco details. Just a fascinating neighborhood. The staff is incredible, the hotel is a dream. . . absolutely the most wonderful place to stay in this city! We are from Santa Fe, NM and Museum Suites made our stay in Amsterdam memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris60958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The 5 star reviews don't lie; this little treasure gets my fierce recommendation after just a 12 hour stay. Frida, the owner, welcomed at the locked front door on my late arrival. A lovely woman who is proud if the place, and rightly so. Had the Rembrandt suite, which was a bit wasted on me being a solo business traveller. Themed colours and perfectly selected furniture. Jacuzzi bath went down well. Excellent location in a plush district. Will return for sure. Get the 197 bus from Schiphol - it's quick and cheap.

Helpful?
Thank SillyHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston upon Thames
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked in for one night only on business. Will be back again and again. Room perfect - and so refreshingly different to the vanilla rooms elsewhere. The icing on top was the warm reception I had from the team, for whom nothing was too much trouble. The Museum Suites are also in a very cool part of town, walking distance to some lovely local shops, bars, and restaurants.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a terrace - ask ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcwood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Property: Museum Suites
Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing