We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great stay in a wonderful part of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #8 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great stay in a wonderful part of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a small hotel with only 4 rooms, but it is one of the most charming places to stay anywhere! Each room has a different theme from a different artist to make it unique. They have put a lot of thought into the amenities in the rooms and everything is high quality. I love the espresso machine in the morning! My bathroom had a heated floor with a cozy robe and fluffy towels. I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: If you are in the Mondriaan suite, it is at the top of the building and requires climbing up a numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    26
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
183
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a wonderful place. Our room (the Van Gogh suite) was large, spotless and filled with light. We enjoyed the private terrace for coffee in the morning and for a glass of wine in the evening. The location is perfect – in a quiet neighborhood near the park and with public transportation just steps away. While breakfast isn’t included that actually worked out to be a plus as the café on the corner had good food and great people watching.

We agree with all the positives about Freda. She was immensely helpful with lots of good advice and even researched restaurants for us and then booked a table.

We did have an issue with our smart phones being able to connect to the Wi-Fi from the room. It worked great in the reception area but not in our room. Others have said the Wi-Fi worked great so maybe it had something to do with our phones.

A suggestion: Get your tram pass at the TI at the airport. Multi-day passes are a great deal but not available on the tram. You’ll save time and money at the airport.

Finally, a caution: The stairs are steep and there are a lot of them. If you have any mobility issues, this isn't for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose this hotel when looking for a place that was centrally located with en suite rooms, air conditioning, and free WiFi. We stayed there 7 nights. The room was large with a balcony, the en suite bathroom was good, the WiFi worked well. Nice art work on the walls There are trams available outside. Also several good restaurants. The Rijksmuseum is nearby; also the Van Gogh Museum across the street. In the office Freida and Sanine were extremely helpful. I strongly recommend this small hotel. A home away from home with constant support.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norman97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the museum suites whilst on a five day visit to Amsterdam. The location is good and we found the transport from the station by the number two team very easy. Freda was very friendly and helpful, she suggested places to eat locally as well as places to visit in Amsterdam. We stayed in the Rembrandt suite which was lovely. The finish and furnishings were well kept and comfortable. We walked to most places although we did make occasional use of the teams. We got an iamsterdam card and it proved to be very good value with its mix of transport and places to visit. Loved Amsterdam and would definitely go back. Would definitely stay at museum suites again too. Thanks Freda!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our family, 2 adults and 2 teenagers stayed for 5 nights in September. The teenagers were on a very comfortable sofa bed and trundle bed in the lounge/ living area, but there was still plenty of room for us to relax after a busy dy sightseeing.
The accomodation has steep stairs, as all Amsterdam houses do, but we were assisted with our luggage upon arrival and departure.
From the time we booked earlier in the year, the staff were extremely warm and helpful with all our enquiries, both about the accomodation and Amsterdam itself.
The accomodation itself was beautifully furnished and kept at an exceptional standard. Vastly superior to our accomodation in the UK or Paris.
The optional breakfast was delicious, plentiful and very well priced and served in the exquisite dining room.
The location was fantastic. It was a few minutes from the lovely Vondelpark and the museums. The immediate restaurants and shops were excellent.
I would highly recommend Amsterdam and this accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here for our anniversary, and our stay was fantastic. We stayed in the Van Gogh suite which had it's own large balcony overlooking the back yards of the neighboring buildings. The heated bathroom floor was a treat, even in September. The bed was so comfortable, and the place was spotless. The day we checked in, the cable guy was just finishing up with the wifi upgrade. I found the internet to be just as fast as anywhere back here in the states. The breakfast was superb, and included everything that we could want. Frieda and Sabine went out of their way to make our stay special, and were a wealth of knowledge for things to see and do. The location is very peaceful and quiet. Yet it is only a 5 minute tram ride or a 15 minute stroll to the entertainment area of the Leidseplein. We will definitely stay at Museum Suites again when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We liked the Van Gogh Suite. It was on the second floor, and had it's own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whyknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our family of two adults and two teens were comfortably accommodated in the Vermeer suite. The website photos created great expectation which was exceeded in real life. Every detail is immaculate, the decor beautiful; towells fluffy; beds and feather pillows extremely comfortable; the espresso plentiful and the staff most gracious and helpful in every way. Whilst this particular suite has its own cooking facilities, on at least one morning you must have breakfast in the salon - as it was an outstanding experience in its own right. The Location is excellent, on a tree lined residential street next to the Vondelpark, a few minutes walk from the major museums, the canal district and around the corner from streets of marvelous shops, numerous restaurants and cafes.
The street also has a tram service along it, which makes it seem uncannily like you are in Melbourne, though the double glazing ensures peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Each of the four suites are different in size, amenity and decor - the decor is tastefully themed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Property: Museum Suites
Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing