We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely boutique hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #11 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Van Gogh Suite for 3 nights in June, and were very impressed. The room was lovely and light with a big terrace overlooking the gardens and adjacent houses towards the back. The location is in a very nice quiet part of town, with some pretty cafes and boutiques within a short walk. It is also very convenient for the tram stop (very easy to use) if you want to head in to the more touristy areas, and just a few minutes walk to the Van Gogh museum. Although breakfast is not included in the price, Frieda or Annemarie can recommend a nearby cafe, or if you prefer there are grocery shops nearby where you can pick up fruit/yoghurt/pastries to bring back and take advantage of the nespresso machine in the room. We would not hesitate to stay here again. In terms of restaurant recommendations, we would definitely recommend De Kas for creative fine dining, Sama Sebo for great Indonesian and Toscanini for lively high quality Italian food - all require booking in advance!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freegirlabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    28
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
189
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I arrived in Amsterdam on a chilly wet morning in early June, but couldn't have have received a warmer, friendlier welcome from the owners of the Museum Suites. We chose this small hotel because we like the personal touch. We've stayed in many small inns and hotels around the world, but mother and daugher team Frieda and Annemarie have set a new standard in hospitality for us. Just one example...: I asked Annemarie to make dinner reservations for us at an Indonesian rice table restaurant recommended by a guide book. Annemarie called the restaurant several times, but couldn't get an answer. She didn't give up - she actually walked over to the restaurant (which was several blocks away) to see what was up. At this point, I should mention that Annemarie was heavily pregnant. Alas, as so often happens with guide book recommendations, the restaurant had closed. But all was not lost. Annemarie booked us into another Indonesian place called Blauw, and we had an excellent, memorable meal. We were more than satisfied with all aspects of our stay at the Museum Suites. The hotel is situated in an upscale, vibrant neighbourhood; it is indeed close to the museums and a lovely quiet park, and there are excellent restaurants and shops close by. Our room, the Rembrandt, was very spacious even by North American standards, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Can't say enough good things about this small hotel. Trust the reviews!

Room Tip: There is a little street noise if you're staying in an street-side room such as the Rembrandt. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I planned a short break in Amsterdam and found a gem of a place to stay. Museum Suites far exceeded my expectations. The staff were so helpful in every way and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.  The location of the hotel was wonderful - close to the main museums we wanted to visit and on a tram route when we wanted to go downtown. The hotel is in a lovely quiet neighborhood with many restaurants just a block or two away.  There were grocery stores so we could buy what we needed for our breakfast (the room had a small but well equipped kitchen which was perfect for our needs).

Our room was the Vermeer Suite, located on the top floor. I was concerned about getting our luggage up the 3 steep flights of stairs but Annemarie arranged for a taxi which met our flight and the driver took the luggage up for us.

I will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam, and hope to visit ourselves again on one of our trips to Europe.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beekaynels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at the end of our cruise at the Museum Suites and did not want to leave! Both Annemarie and Frieda made us feel welcome the moment we stepped inside and were always charming and ready to assist with our questions and requests. We stayed in the Van Gogh Suite and it was spectacular, so full of light and with a very large terrace overlooking the garden. The location could not be better, so close to the Musems and the Concertgebouw but away from the noisy touristy areas of Amsterdam. With the Tram stop just a few steps away it is very easy to get around, and the beautiful Voldenpark is just around the corner. Frieda graciously showed us all the other Suites and they are all just as beautiful, each with a different mood to match each artist and all with exquisite attention to detail. We look forward to staying at the Museum Suites again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneysOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Museum Suites. The Van Gogh suite was spacious and the outside terrace was very relaxing with the views of the neighborhood gardens. It was easy to walk down the block and get on the tram which took us all over the city. I especially loved being able to make a cup of coffee using the Nepresso coffee maker in our room. The host even set up our airport transportation for 7:30 am and then made sure that the driver arrived on time and helped us with our luggage. We would definitely recommend Museum Suites for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraH731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Checked in on Sunday, June 03, 2012 we simply had a wonderful 4 night stay at Museum Suites. We booked the Mondriaan Suite, which is located on the 3rd floor of the building, at the very end of a quite typical steep dutch city-house's stair. We were rewarded by a stunning and bright room facing the garden between Willemsparkweg and Van Breestraat. The room impressed for cleanness, size, style, amenities provided and attention to details (such as artwork, furniture and books inspired to Mondriaan, the artist to whom the room is dedicated). Shortly: an extremely comfortable and very quiet room were we settled magnificently and slept wonderfully. You can get a feeling by looking at the photos attached to this review. The property is located in the elegant Amsterdam's Museum District, within walking distance to e.g. Van Gogh's Museum, Rijksmuseum and Concertgebouw music hall. Furthermore Willemsparkweg is on tram's nr. 2 line which connects you easily to the center of the town (Spui, Dam, Railway station). The district also features a nice variety of restaurants: among them we enjoyed in particular "Brasserie Kaizer", the chinese innovative "Chang-I" (both located near the Concertgebouw), as well as the stylish "Spring" which sits opposite to "Brasserie de Joffers" were we had our daily outdoor breakfasts). Frieda Manshande and her daughter Annemarie are charming hosts and assure their presence during the day running their business very smoothly. In their studio on the 1st floor they are available for informations, advice, booking, ticket pre-sale and specific needs.
PS: Visits to museums (and churches) in Amsterdam tend to be expensive. We were glad, upon suggestion, to have bought an "I amsterdam" city card which comes in different timed-priced options (such as 24h, 48h and 72h), grants free, discount or priviledged, access to numerous attractions, museums, churches and includes a public transportation ticket valid for the same duration.
PS 2: When walking around Amsterdam pay attention to (stricly in the following order): bicycles, trams, taxis, cars as the latter tend to stop and yield while the formers won't...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Suites are definitely something unique, something that you will not find anywhere. We booked one of the top notch rooms incl. Whirlpool, which should rather be called whirlbath.
The staff is dedicated. I agree with a previous reviewer that the introduction was a bit too much and should be more tailored to the needs of the arriving customer. Breakfast is not served bit the places around don't make this a big issue from our point of view. We liked the option to eat out. Good public transport connection, nice park to walk close by. Still a nice, high price place, worth experiencing if you have the funds and fascination in these kind of places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Property: Museum Suites
Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing