We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening with Van Gogh”
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #5 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at the end of our cruise at the Museum Suites and did not want to leave! Both Annemarie and Frieda made us feel welcome the moment we stepped inside and were always charming and ready to assist with our questions and requests. We stayed in the Van Gogh Suite and it was spectacular, so full of light and with a very large terrace overlooking the garden. The location could not be better, so close to the Musems and the Concertgebouw but away from the noisy touristy areas of Amsterdam. With the Tram stop just a few steps away it is very easy to get around, and the beautiful Voldenpark is just around the corner. Frieda graciously showed us all the other Suites and they are all just as beautiful, each with a different mood to match each artist and all with exquisite attention to detail. We look forward to staying at the Museum Suites again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneysOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Museum Suites. The Van Gogh suite was spacious and the outside terrace was very relaxing with the views of the neighborhood gardens. It was easy to walk down the block and get on the tram which took us all over the city. I especially loved being able to make a cup of coffee using the Nepresso coffee maker in our room. The host even set up our airport transportation for 7:30 am and then made sure that the driver arrived on time and helped us with our luggage. We would definitely recommend Museum Suites for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraH731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Checked in on Sunday, June 03, 2012 we simply had a wonderful 4 night stay at Museum Suites. We booked the Mondriaan Suite, which is located on the 3rd floor of the building, at the very end of a quite typical steep dutch city-house's stair. We were rewarded by a stunning and bright room facing the garden between Willemsparkweg and Van Breestraat. The room impressed for cleanness, size, style, amenities provided and attention to details (such as artwork, furniture and books inspired to Mondriaan, the artist to whom the room is dedicated). Shortly: an extremely comfortable and very quiet room were we settled magnificently and slept wonderfully. You can get a feeling by looking at the photos attached to this review. The property is located in the elegant Amsterdam's Museum District, within walking distance to e.g. Van Gogh's Museum, Rijksmuseum and Concertgebouw music hall. Furthermore Willemsparkweg is on tram's nr. 2 line which connects you easily to the center of the town (Spui, Dam, Railway station). The district also features a nice variety of restaurants: among them we enjoyed in particular "Brasserie Kaizer", the chinese innovative "Chang-I" (both located near the Concertgebouw), as well as the stylish "Spring" which sits opposite to "Brasserie de Joffers" were we had our daily outdoor breakfasts). Frieda Manshande and her daughter Annemarie are charming hosts and assure their presence during the day running their business very smoothly. In their studio on the 1st floor they are available for informations, advice, booking, ticket pre-sale and specific needs.
PS: Visits to museums (and churches) in Amsterdam tend to be expensive. We were glad, upon suggestion, to have bought an "I amsterdam" city card which comes in different timed-priced options (such as 24h, 48h and 72h), grants free, discount or priviledged, access to numerous attractions, museums, churches and includes a public transportation ticket valid for the same duration.
PS 2: When walking around Amsterdam pay attention to (stricly in the following order): bicycles, trams, taxis, cars as the latter tend to stop and yield while the formers won't...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Suites are definitely something unique, something that you will not find anywhere. We booked one of the top notch rooms incl. Whirlpool, which should rather be called whirlbath.
The staff is dedicated. I agree with a previous reviewer that the introduction was a bit too much and should be more tailored to the needs of the arriving customer. Breakfast is not served bit the places around don't make this a big issue from our point of view. We liked the option to eat out. Good public transport connection, nice park to walk close by. Still a nice, high price place, worth experiencing if you have the funds and fascination in these kind of places.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Choosing Museum Suites as our place to stay in Amsterdam was the BEST decision!!! ALL of the suites are excepectional in cleanliness, spacious and comfortfortable. Our hosts,Annemarie and her mother were extrememly helpful and kind hosts. The location is perfect!!!!! Very close to museums, fine foods, shopping and the park. Walking around the neighborhood at any hour was safe and charming. Our visit to Amsterdam was outstanding. Our stay at Museum Suites, delightful. Perfect for us. Visitors must be able to climb stairs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineappleBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We really liked our stay at the Museum Suites before we went off on a River Cruise. The pluses included the large room, cleanliness, great balcony off our room and the location in a quiet residential area with shops and restaurants nearby. The downsides...they don't really want to provide breakfast and although we were happy at the local cafes we were discouraged from asking for breakfast in our room. We were also on the second floor...quite a climb! Finally we have been in Amsterdam several times and had a clear idea what we wanted to do...we received a long instructional introduction on arrival that we really didn't need but were too polite to try to stop. Might have been nice to ask us first if we needed a briefing before providing lots of details...we wanted to get out and enjoy the city!

A great option though...bit expensive too perhaps...would be on my short list when I next go back but not a definite re-visit!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

For my wife's birthday we booked the 2 rooms on the top floor so our son and daughter-in-law could be with us. From the moment we arrived Frida did her utmost to make us all feel welcome, and the breakfast she prepared for that special day was outstanding. Our rooms, though very different in style, were immaculate. The Suites are in a most attractive neighbourhood, yet only a couple of minutes walk from a tram stop. We can only speak in superlatives. A truly memorable stay. With many thanks to Frida and the Museum Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeMaybury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,656 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,823 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,010 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $216 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing