We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Omega(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Verdi(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Alfred Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Trianon Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
324
37
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
37
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvermeer suitevan goghtop floormuseum districttram stopbeautiful roomsmall hotelmodern bathrooma wonderful stayconcert hallnespresso machinesteep stairsboutique hotelwalking distancelocation is amazinghome away from homequiet neighborhood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 363 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Excellent establishment, run in a very professional and at the same time personal way. Museum Suites is Frida's and Annemarie's lovely home and they share it with the world.
We stayed in the Vermeer suite which is on the top floor overlooking the street. The suite was lovely, immaculately clean and well equipped. The kitchenette with the microwave oven saved us quite a lot of money as eating out in Amsterdam is very expensive.
The in floor heating in the bathroom was a pleasant surprise and the linen were of excellent quality.
Only downside the twin beds. Although they are very comfortable, they are anti-cuddling. I spent half the first night in the gap between the two mattresses and then resigned to my side.
As for the location, while it's close to the museums it's also a little far to walk to the historic center. Trams are handy but also expensive (2.70 euros) so the best solution is to have a bike.
Regarding breakfast, Bagels and Beans on Baerlestraat 40 is a good place as is Simon Meyssen bakery on Baerlestraat 23. Both are close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street may be a little noisy
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleniaggeliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Museum Suites was a great find: huge room (we stayed in Rembradt suite), brilliant location and wonderful service always with a smile. This is a small hotel, within walking distance (and tram outside the front door) of the sights but out of the humbub. The room was immaculately clean. Annmarie provide all the help we could ever want from recommending restaurants, ordering taxi and staying out of hours ... and always very happy with it.
Some may complain about the lack of facilities like a restaurant but with cafes just down the road, who needs it?
Some may complain about the steep stairs but that's what there is in the traditional houses: it's character and we loved it.
Some may complain about the noise of the trams on the road outside but apart from the trams, it was quiet and they did not go too late into the night.
If we go back to Amsterdam, we'd definitely want to stay here again ... and maybe check out another room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustMe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed in the Vermeer Suite (top floor) with my daughter during a weekend in Amsterdam.
We loved this place as it was lovely designed and with cooking facilities, very friendly and helpful hosts. The lack of little signs saying "don´t..." and "do..." made us feel as if we were staying in someone´s stylish home! The area is very convient within walkin distance from the museums as well as close to tram stops.
We loved the cafes and restaurants as well as shops along Cornelis Schuytstraat. A couple of nice stores selling organic food an other yummie items!
Would recommend this to anyone (except those who can´t walk stairs!!)

Room Tip: The Vermeer Suite has cooiking facilities
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia5844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We enjoyed every second staying at the Museum Suites. From the moment of booking, the service level and attention to detail was second to none. We stayed in the Van Gogh Suite over my partners 40th birthday and having contacted Anne-marie before hand to order a bottle of champers as a surprise, she very kindly offered to decorate the room with balloons. The room is gorgeous with fresh flowers and Van Gogh paintings, was great having the balcony to sit out on and the bathroom was very classy. We shall without doubt be returning to this hidden oasis in Amsterdam at some point, and certainly recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TEAMMCHOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in the Rembrandt room and loved it. Very nice to have a fire place in the room as well.
You can easily walk to the city and for a lovely stroll in the Vondelpark -aside from the fact that the wonderful Van Gogh- and Rijksmuseum are only a stonethrow away.
There are also plenty breakfast-, lunch- and dinner places nearby.
The newly renovated (totally overpriced) Conservatorium Hotel is just down the street -if you fancy a Cocktail, and so is the vibrant 'Momo'-Bar and Restaurant.

You have a coffee-machine and a mini-bar in the beautifully-decorated room, and the bathroom is simply perfect.

Very charming owner and helpful staff as well, who are eager to make your stay unforgettable.

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Museum Suites and can only recommend it !

Room Tip: We loved the Rembrandt Suite, but for light sleepers it may be a bit noisy, as it is facing the street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrimroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews