We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #9 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Museum Suites was everything and more what my husband and I expected! We had read the reviews, and we expected a quality establishment. We found even more. The location in the museum area of Amsterdam was perfect. The small hotel is located on a quiet street that allows you to get away from the crowds, yet we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings in the local restaurants and pubs. We were able to walk to the museums, enjoy Vondel Park, and walk to many of the other sites. The tram was less than 200 meters from the front door of the hotel for getting to other parts of Amsterdam. We stayed in the Mondarian Suite, which is on the top floor overlooking the gardens. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We felt like we were in our "own world" as we looked out on the gardens and enjoyed the many comforts provided in the room. Frida and Annemarie did everything to make our stay special. We had fresh flowers in our room, chocolate eggs for Easter, recommendations for restaurants, and arrangements for a taxi to take us to the airport. All of this with a warm, caring attitude that indicated that Frida and Annemarie wanted us to have a wonderful time! This is a small hotel built with caring and love, and every detail shows that they are dedicated to making guests' stay a truly memorable experience. Thank you to both Frida and Annemarie!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    28
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
189
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Excellent establishment, run in a very professional and at the same time personal way. Museum Suites is Frida's and Annemarie's lovely home and they share it with the world.
We stayed in the Vermeer suite which is on the top floor overlooking the street. The suite was lovely, immaculately clean and well equipped. The kitchenette with the microwave oven saved us quite a lot of money as eating out in Amsterdam is very expensive.
The in floor heating in the bathroom was a pleasant surprise and the linen were of excellent quality.
Only downside the twin beds. Although they are very comfortable, they are anti-cuddling. I spent half the first night in the gap between the two mattresses and then resigned to my side.
As for the location, while it's close to the museums it's also a little far to walk to the historic center. Trams are handy but also expensive (2.70 euros) so the best solution is to have a bike.
Regarding breakfast, Bagels and Beans on Baerlestraat 40 is a good place as is Simon Meyssen bakery on Baerlestraat 23. Both are close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street may be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleniaggeliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Museum Suites was a great find: huge room (we stayed in Rembradt suite), brilliant location and wonderful service always with a smile. This is a small hotel, within walking distance (and tram outside the front door) of the sights but out of the humbub. The room was immaculately clean. Annmarie provide all the help we could ever want from recommending restaurants, ordering taxi and staying out of hours ... and always very happy with it.
Some may complain about the lack of facilities like a restaurant but with cafes just down the road, who needs it?
Some may complain about the steep stairs but that's what there is in the traditional houses: it's character and we loved it.
Some may complain about the noise of the trams on the road outside but apart from the trams, it was quiet and they did not go too late into the night.
If we go back to Amsterdam, we'd definitely want to stay here again ... and maybe check out another room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustMe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed in the Vermeer Suite (top floor) with my daughter during a weekend in Amsterdam.
We loved this place as it was lovely designed and with cooking facilities, very friendly and helpful hosts. The lack of little signs saying "don´t..." and "do..." made us feel as if we were staying in someone´s stylish home! The area is very convient within walkin distance from the museums as well as close to tram stops.
We loved the cafes and restaurants as well as shops along Cornelis Schuytstraat. A couple of nice stores selling organic food an other yummie items!
Would recommend this to anyone (except those who can´t walk stairs!!)

Room Tip: The Vermeer Suite has cooiking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia5844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We enjoyed every second staying at the Museum Suites. From the moment of booking, the service level and attention to detail was second to none. We stayed in the Van Gogh Suite over my partners 40th birthday and having contacted Anne-marie before hand to order a bottle of champers as a surprise, she very kindly offered to decorate the room with balloons. The room is gorgeous with fresh flowers and Van Gogh paintings, was great having the balcony to sit out on and the bathroom was very classy. We shall without doubt be returning to this hidden oasis in Amsterdam at some point, and certainly recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEAMMCHOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in the Rembrandt room and loved it. Very nice to have a fire place in the room as well.
You can easily walk to the city and for a lovely stroll in the Vondelpark -aside from the fact that the wonderful Van Gogh- and Rijksmuseum are only a stonethrow away.
There are also plenty breakfast-, lunch- and dinner places nearby.
The newly renovated (totally overpriced) Conservatorium Hotel is just down the street -if you fancy a Cocktail, and so is the vibrant 'Momo'-Bar and Restaurant.

You have a coffee-machine and a mini-bar in the beautifully-decorated room, and the bathroom is simply perfect.

Very charming owner and helpful staff as well, who are eager to make your stay unforgettable.

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Museum Suites and can only recommend it !

Room Tip: We loved the Rembrandt Suite, but for light sleepers it may be a bit noisy, as it is facing the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrimroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Found Museum Suites by chance after looking at numerous reviews of hotels on Tripadvisor.
Having recently returned from 2 nights in Amsterdam I can only echo the views of all the other reviews on this site.

Museum Suites is excellent value for money compared with other hotels in Amsterdam.
The Van Gough Suite was clean, bright, spacious and very comfortable.
The Owner was friendly + helpful.
The location was good, 1 minute from a tram stop, nice stroll through the park if you want to walk to the attractions and in a nice area with little boutique shops + cafes.
The Van Gough Suite has a large balcony which was really nice,especially if visiting in summer.
The high ceilings give the room a real feeling of space.

Basically this is a fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam, I would definately recommend it and will most certainly book again for our next trip to the city.

Room Tip: No Bath Tub in Van Gough Suite buit does have a large sit out Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Property: Museum Suites
Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing