We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious cosiness”
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #5 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2011

When looking for a room in Amsterdam I discovered the site hoteliers.com which offers hotels, B&B etc with this little extra touch. We stayed at the Museum Suites, a beautiful house in the museum area and a few steps away from the Vondelpark. The Mondriaan Suite was spacious, airy and bright, incl nespressomachine, handmade rug with the famous Mondriaan design and a Rietveld chair ! The luxurious bathroom completed our 5* feeling. Expierencing a warm homely welcome combined with the luxury of a 5* suite is everything one could wish if mass tourism business is not your kind of thing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 363 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed at the Museum Suites' Rembrandt Suite for one night only (sadly), and we made sure to make the most of it!
Already upon entering you can see that this place is something special. There is no big flashy sign crying out "Hotel", the entrance is very discrete and we felt at home instantly - what with the flowers, the thick carpet muffling any sound, and the warm welcome!

The suite was stunning. The former glory of the rooms has been entirely restored. The floor, ceiling, beds, fabrics, (real!) flower bouquets, the (gas) chimney, the huge windows and the choice of furniture are simply sublime. The light white marble bathroom with bubble bath, soft towels, pro hairdryer and under-floor heating made us feel like royalty.
On top of this authentic style there are the most useful modern amenities: Nespresso coffee machine, kettle, iPod dock and of course the fireplace.

The owner who welcomed us at arrival (which was way past the hotel's usual check-in time) and the lady handling the check-out in the morning were exceedingly friendly and made sure that we were not lacking anything.

As we did not take breakfast in the suite I cannot judge the offer.

If you are looking to stay in style, privacy and luxury in Amsterdam, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mevido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the Van Gogh suite. Bright, spacious, airy room with a large balcony overlooking gardens. Lovely generous breakfasts and a treat having them served in your room. A bit pricey but worth the extravagance. Room was immaculately clean and tidy, the staff were very pleasant and helpful but not intrusive. Slippers and bathrobes are a nice touch. Bed was super comfortable. Location is excellent for museums and the Vondelpark . Walking into town centre is not a problem but will take about 20 minutes. Number 2 tram will take you from central station to within meters of the front door. Lived up to all our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed Valentine's Day weekend with my girlfriend in the Rembrandt Suite which comes complete with a working fireplace. The room is very well decorated with warm colors, high ceilings and a beautiful wooden floor. Breakfast in bed, champagne and tulips - you asked for it the Hoteliers provided it happily. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, and 15 mins walk to the Leidsplein, and on a tram line to get anywhere you want, including Centraal Station. Couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate a romantic weekend with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttotheb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Lovely spacious room. Very friendly, personal staff. Breakfast served in your own room! We spent our wedding night here. Absolutely distinguishing from a hotel-experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Very comfortable rooms, and our hostess, Annemarie, was wonderfully helpful. Normally, I think of a hotel as just a room, but our stay at Musemsuites was one of the highlights of our short break to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We experienced a nice welcome. The room was neat and the service was great.
The location is near the museumplein, so its close to the centre of the city and surrounded by museums. Good public transportation to and from Amsterdam central station.

We will come back for sure, to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#9 of 375 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 340 in Amsterdam
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $227 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing