We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bed Breakfast Boat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed Breakfast Boat
Ranked #44 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

stayed on the houseboat in march 2012 just forgot to put review on so here it is a bit late. I stayed for three nights with my husband and it was in a great location for exploring the city. Rene was a lovely host very helpful and gave a lift to the station when we were leaving which was very kind.The boat had everything you needed and the breakfast was buffet style which was delivered early in the morning. Also there was a very well stocked fridge and plenty of cereals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newman176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Bridget and Glen, thank you so much for your response. The fact that you still take the effort of leaving a review after a year means a lot to me. I hope that I can welcome you again at some time at the Bed Breakfast Boat. Have a great sping and summer! René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I certainly recommend this place as an excellent base for exploring the city of Amsterdam, whilst being able to retreat to a nice peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle.
I emailed Rene before our trip and he gave us some excellent advice regarding transport to the boat and how to get about during our stay.
We landed at Schiphol, jumped on the train (the station is in the airport so really easy) to Amsterdam Centraal station (3.40 Euros each). When we arrived at the station we went outside and straight across to the GVB transport ticket office and bought a 96 hour transport pass for 19 Euros each which allowed us to travel on all city trams, buses and the metro for all of our stay. In reality we only used the trams. We jumped on the 22 and had to walk a short distance to the boat. Upon arrival at around 10.30-11am Rene met us at the boat, as the accommodation was ready we were allowed to go straight in and get on with our stay, Rene runs us through the essentials and just said to text him or knock next door if we needed anything, he lives on the other side of the boat, but we didn’t see him until the final day when we knocked to go pay.
The breakfast was left outside our door at 8am every morning in a basket, lots of bread rolls, various cooked meats, cheese, pastries, yoghurts, fruit juices and fruit…. Plenty to see you through until dinner if you chose to do so! There is plenty of tea and coffee on the boat too!
The accommodation itself is excellent, well laid out and plenty of room for two people. The bed is comfy, the bathroom works well and lovely and warm (we were there during a snowy Valentine’s Day)… the photos really tell the rest of the story.
Other useful things I liked were the safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tv and dvd player (with LOADS of films) and the music player with a selection of good cd’s.
Transport to the city and back is by way of the tram 14, which is 2 minutes’ walk away and come every 10 minutes, it takes your right into Dam Square.
On our last day, as there was no-one staying in the boat the following night, Rene let us check out at our leisure and leave the key in the letter box.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickymac2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Richard,

Thanks so much for you very kind and informative review. It was great to host you at Valentinesday and I am very happy that I could add a positive note to your stay in Amsterdam. Hope to see the two of you back some day!

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights over Christmas, and can heartily endorse all the good things others have said about the boat and the outstanding service Rene' provides. The frig is stocked with different lunch meats and cheese, milk, juice, yogurt, peanut butter, and jams. Then Rene' delivers a basket each morning with fresh breads , fruits, and more milk, juice, yogurt, etc.... I had to tell Rene' not to bring a basket on the 3rd morning because I already had more food than there was time to eat it!
I was looking for a quiet location, and wasn't disappointed: there is minimal traffic, and you barely hear nearby trains going by (no whistles). Tram 14 is only 2 blocks away, and takes you direct to Dam Square in less than 10 minutes.
Everything worked very well....plenty of hot water in the shower, wi-fi fast and reliable, bed very comfortable. And getting a ride from Rene' to Central Station when I left was service above and beyond. Obviously I'd definitely come back to stay!
My only 'warning'....if you arrive via Central Station & Tram 26 when it's dark, the website's directions to "look for the 2 big red buildings..." aren't very helpful. The buildings don't appear either 'big' or 'red', and finding help with directions from people in the area wasn't easy. Just get specific Google walking directions (from Tram stop to the Boat) in advance, and you'll have no problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Dan,

My apologies for the late reply to your motivating review. Thanks for staying at the Bed Breakfast Boat around Christmas. The start of your stay was not great because the boat is hard to find from the tram 26 stop in the evening. Good news though...bus 22 is back in town and stops at 200 meters from the Bed Breakfast Boat.

Thanks for staying here and hope to see you back!

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a rather wonderful time staying on this 'boat'.

From the central station hop on tram 26(buy a 24hr tram ticket for (available on the tram) 7.50 euros-great value) to Rietlandpark then head toward two red buildings you see as you come up out of the tram stop, on the canal first boat on your left, just below a bridge.
There is an abundance of security around the boat house, all making you feel rather safe, and whilst it is situated quite close to a main road the noise from the traffic is minimal at worst.

The room (as really that is what it is) , with a bathroom adjoined, is seperated by a commodious wardrobe. Fully equipped with tv, all usual kitchen appliances and a nifty coffee machine (coffee bags provided and various teas), there is also a stereo secreted away in a cupboard beneath the tv- take your favourite Cds- wish I had known in advance!!

Now I guess this is inevitable, with it being on water- but be prepared for mozzies- we had them and it was october.

One or two minor criticisms- No bath towels, we had to use lots of hand towels, don't know if this was the norm or not. The shower is a fixed square unit, so if you want to avoid wetting your hair (almost impossible ) take a shower cap.

Breakfast arrives on your doorstep each morning in a basket laden with Yoghurt, fruit juices, bread, cheese cold meats and salami- fruit is also provided. We made sarnies for lunch each day- there is a huge amount !

Nice big comfy bed, but couldn't find extra pillows. It was all very clean and tidy. Each morning we were greeted by moorhens and a heron on the canal- rather sweet actually.

About 400 yrads back towards the tram stop there is a 'cafe', which is quite a good restaurant bar we ate in one evening- not bad if you dont fancy going into Amsterdam for your evening meal.

All in all a good place to stay,with a nice airy feel about it, away from the hub bub of the city but close enough to access the high spots with ease- recommended even with tyhe slight niggles we experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssocialdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stay 6 days at the boat and it made our stay in Amsterdam truly memorable, Rene is a great host and made sure we had everything we needed including fresh breads, fruits, meats, cheese and juices. There were even fresh flowers (my wife loved them) and the room was very
clean and cozy. Enjoyed the fact that it was located out of the heavy tourist areas and more in the local neighborhood. There were local markets and restaurants within walking distance including the Dappermarkt. We were even able to watch the rowboat races one day right from the window of the boat while we ate lunch. Great experience would do it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdiddys2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while we were in Amsterdam. Rene had accidentally double-booked the Bed Breakfast Boat, so he gave us his own section to stay in! It was perfect and very comfortable. Rene brought croissants and rolls in the morning and the fridge was stocked with cheese, meat, and various spreads and juices. Staying in the houseboat also allowed us the option of staying in for dinner. One of the nights we bought some basics at Albert Heijn, stayed in and watched the ducks, swans, and other boats go by. Note that if you leave the windows at open at night, you might end up with some bug bites as there are no screens.

As others have said, it is not located in the heart of Amsterdam, but this was not at all an issue. There are two tram lines nearby, and plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood. Rene provides excellent recommendations!

On the day of our departure, Rene drove us to Central Station so we didn't have to take the tram in the rain. It was really a great experience- we're so glad we made the decision to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSM2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

My sister and I spent 2 nights at the Bed & Breakfast Boat. The houseboat is extremely clean, neat, cosy and comfortable, complete with good wifi, couch, coffee maker, good heater (for winter/early spring), and super nice and friendly host, Rene. The houseboat is spacious, and has its own entrance/exit, so you would have absolute privacy. Rene, the owner, stays in the houseboat area just next-door and is readily available whenever you need help. He provides generous servings of breakfast in a basket placed at the doorstep every morning, which includes fresh breads/buns from the nearby bakery, milk, fruit juice, fruits, yogurts and various spreads. We used the extras from breakfast to make sandwiches to bring out during the day. He was also very very kind to offer to drive us to the Centraal Station with our suitcases, so that we can catch a direct train to the Schiphol airport early in the morning when we checked out.

While the houseboat might not located very centrally, it is situated in a very safe and nice neighbourhood. The nearest tram stop is less than 5 minutes walk away, and brings you to Dam Square and other metro stations, so you can still access everywhere pretty easily.

I cannot emphasize how much we love staying at the houseboat. it was so enjoyable and relaxing to stay in such a cosy and tranquil place, living on the waters and waking to random quacks from the ducks, that we really didn't want to leave the place. It was hard getting out of the house, cos it's so comfortable.

This accommodation was definitely the highlight of my Amsterdam trip, and I highly recommend everyone to come here for an authentic and wonderful Amsterdam vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nemrac_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Wow...that is so kind of you. I am flattered! Hope to see you back soon some day. You were great guests to host here at the Bed Breakfast Boat! Hope you had a fantastic trip after Amsterdam! Cheerio, Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
De Pijp
Houseboat Little Amstel
Houseboat Little Amstel
#49 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
#152 of 227 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#117 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Minties
#71 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed Breakfast Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Breakfast Boat

Property: Bed Breakfast Boat
Address: Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on a houseboat in AmsterdamAmsterdam has 100 kilometer of canals, 1500 bridges and more than 1000 houseboats. Come and stay on one when you visit!Experience Amsterdam from the water. Come and stay on the Bed Breakfast Boat. Your own floating hotel room, right in the middle of buzzing town. Enjoy the beauty of the water: the sun reflecting in it, boats passing by, ducks and swans wanting to get acquainted.Enjoy your crispy fresh breakfast in the morning. Jump on your bike and cycle to town, where the greatest museums, the historic canal area, parks and bars are waiting to give you a great time.Upon return your own water cabin is waiting to give you that relaxing feeling you deserve! Enjoy a cold beer or a glass of really good wine on your own private terrace, watch a movie, listen to some music or just enjoy the magnificent view! This is Amsterdam!The Bed Breakfast Boat consists of one room of about 29 square meters. It is part of the owners houseboat but has it’s own fully private outside entry and terrace. It has a a double king size bed, a kitchenette, a bathroom with rainshower, washbasin and toilet and a sitting area with fold out sofa. There's 5 large windows bringing in wonderful light and offering you a spectacular view on the water.The Bed Breakfast Boat is mostly suited for one or two persons. However, the foldout sofa and the availability of a baby bed and stool makes it perfectly possible to bring your child or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bed Breakfast Boat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing