We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed Breakfast Boat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed Breakfast Boat
Ranked #36 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Wonderful, authentic experience. The houseboat proprietor had some minor remodeling to finish on the guest side, but graciously offered his side of the houseboat instead. This was a cozy upgrade from accommodations that were already superb. The location was quiet but accessible, and steps from some wonderful restaurants and a world-famous brewery. The swans at the window, fresh breakfast, onsite bikes, and hospitality made the stay an incredible value. I will be back to Amsterdam in the spring, this time with my wife. We are very much looking forward to staying in the houseboat. If you are looking for something unique, comfortable, and removed from the hectic and often overpriced center, this is your place. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_G787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The place was absolutely great ! .. what a experience to stay on a houseboat ! I will never forget the view ... and the feeling of calmness that the water brought to me in the middle of the citylife. I was staying there alone but I am thinking of coming again for some days with my husband. It is a great place for a couple or a small family too.
The place itself is spacious, clean, well equipped .. for breakfast you have a great choice and fresh products ... Rene is a very nice and helpful person - many thanks to him !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Staying in the Bed and Breakfast Boat was pure heaven. Though outside the city center, there's a tram stop five minutes away, and the houseboat is located in a nice quiet area. The rooms are spacious, and the shower is absolutely luxurious, as is the incredibly comfortable bed. Every night after sightseeing, we couldn't wait to get back to the houseboat-- staying there was an experience in and of itself. The breakfast is incredible: Fresh bread delivered to your door in an adorable basket every day, with granola, yogurt, milk, cold cuts, cheese, and jam in the fridge. The cheese and cold cuts allowed us to make delicious sandwiches to take with us and eat while sightseeing-- so fantastic! The owner was very nice and understanding about our inability to check out on time (we just didn't want to leave the house boat-- we wanted to stay forever!) Staying here made our experience, and enabled us to have a truly relaxing vacation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artist331z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Staying here made our experience in Amsterdam go from great to fantastic. The houseboat is located a little outside the main downtown, but the attractions are easy to access through public trams or bikes.
The room is quite spacious and comfortable, with a great couch for relaxing, along with a fridge to store food and plates, cups, and utensils. Rene, the incredibly nice and helpful owner also provides cold cuts, bread, yogurt, granola, coffee, and tea.
I really cannot say enough about how great this place is. It almost feels like the very definition of leisure, especially with the amazing shower, comfortable bed, and being able to relax on the couch with your breakfast while watching the ducks and swans swim by. We didn't want to leave, and will definitely stay here again if the chance arises.
Ignore the larger, touristy sections and book a room here. It's an experience to be savored and should not be missed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This place was an absolute gem. It is perfect for a couple but should also work alright with a small family. We very much enjoyed the atmosphere and the superb service from René.
We hired the bikes 2 days and that was a perfect way to go sightseeing around Amsterdam, cycling from the east side to west side is a fairly quick tour.
Breakfast was excellent with fresh bread and fruit in a basket each morning accompanied with some juice and yogurt. In the fridge we had butter, jam, cheese, salami and ham.
There was also wireless WiFi which was a pleasant surprise for us, we didn't see that in the information about the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiNer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Hesitate to reveal this secret (next time it may be hard to book)... But this place is amazing. Hard to imagine any better. Beautiful spacious houseboat... View is incredible... Hosts are non-intrusive but available when you need them... Location is ideal... Not in the tourist areas of downtown... But certainly close enough... With a great local neighbourhood to discover. Breakfasts are too generous... And price too low for the value. I guess it is no secret that we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacreBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

You have the best of both worlds a relaxing, quiet location within easy reach of the bustling centre of Amsterdam by either bike, bus or tram.
Breakfast was a real treat being delivered to your door each morning - fruit smoothies, fresh rolls, pastries, yoghurt, fruit, meats and cheese. Having the extra room in the houseboat was great for relaxing and staying in watching a DVD!

The owner Rene is helpful and welcoming. Great value for money, highly recommended, definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#173 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
De Pijp
Houseboat Little Amstel
Houseboat Little Amstel
#36 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#81 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Ark16
Ark16
#120 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Minties
#46 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Houseboat under the Mill
#76 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed Breakfast Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Breakfast Boat

Property: Bed Breakfast Boat
Address: Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on a houseboat in AmsterdamAmsterdam has 100 kilometer of canals, 1500 bridges and more than 1000 houseboats. Come and stay on one when you visit!Experience Amsterdam from the water. Come and stay on the Bed Breakfast Boat. Your own floating hotel room, right in the middle of buzzing town. Enjoy the beauty of the water: the sun reflecting in it, boats passing by, ducks and swans wanting to get acquainted.Enjoy your crispy fresh breakfast in the morning. Jump on your bike and cycle to town, where the greatest museums, the historic canal area, parks and bars are waiting to give you a great time.Upon return your own water cabin is waiting to give you that relaxing feeling you deserve! Enjoy a cold beer or a glass of really good wine on your own private terrace, watch a movie, listen to some music or just enjoy the magnificent view! This is Amsterdam!The Bed Breakfast Boat consists of one room of about 29 square meters. It is part of the owners houseboat but has it’s own fully private outside entry and terrace. It has a a double king size bed, a kitchenette, a bathroom with rainshower, washbasin and toilet and a sitting area with fold out sofa. There's 5 large windows bringing in wonderful light and offering you a spectacular view on the water.The Bed Breakfast Boat is mostly suited for one or two persons. However, the foldout sofa and the availability of a baby bed and stool makes it perfectly possible to bring your child or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed Breakfast Boat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing