We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bed Breakfast Boat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed Breakfast Boat
Ranked #44 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We loved this houseboat! It is modern, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect, close to all the action, yet away from some of the more crowded canals. I took notice of many other houseboats and was glad we chose this one. Rene the owner was very pleasant, helpful and kind. Each morming he left a basket of goodies at our door which included fresh bread, a variety of deli meats, fruit, yogurt, cheese and juices. The room was well stocked with coffee, tea, sugar, milk and cream. I enjoyed watching the ducks and sometimes a large swan on our private terrace while having my morning coffee. We also rented bikes from Rene. The price is cheaper than you would find elsewhere and they are in excellent condition. In your houseboat you will find maps and visitor guides which will make it easy to get around. Rene also provided a tip sheet with instructions which was very helpful and we found everything easily. The houseboat is also stocked with a variety of movies and books in case you want to stay in and enjoy the coziness of the houseboat. Need I say more? We can't wait to come back next summer!!
Iraida and Veronica
Miami, Florida USA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

The nicest thing I've ever done for myself was a trip to Amsterdam to celebrate my birthday, but the smartest thing was finding, booking and staying on Rene's houseboat. It made a memorable trip...perfect. It's close enough and far away at the same time. You're in the city in an instance, but when you come home (and it will feel like home) it's peaceful and serene. You'll awake in the morning to a basket of goodies and come home to the always smiling Rene. I never felt like a tourist. I'd pass by hotels choked with travelers holding maps and bags and looking confused and I'd grin to myself. The space is clean and tastefully decorated, you have your own private entrance, he has bikes to rent (cheaper than anywhere in the city) and if you just want to stay at home and relax there are videos, a slew of guidebooks and paperbacks to read. I'm keeping my fingers crossed it will be available next March, because I'm definitely going back! Thank you, Rene!

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Schwinnilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I wish to thank you for our lovely Stay. The place is very clean ideal for just outside the city very good service and clean towels. We stayed there for a few days and loved everything about it. Although it does not have a cooker it was perfect for what we wanted and needed. Shops are close and as well as a few pubs. Easy access to the city via bus or tram. There are also a few restaurants to eat out and if you want to walk along the canal to city you can (45min max) Rene is a perfect host and would love to stay there again. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelhofmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

What a great place to stay. The owner is very nice and helpful. He just started this B&B. The studio has an own entrance which gives a lot of privacy. Not noisy, because of the water. It's new and clean. The beautiful center of Amsterdam is at short distance. You can use bikes to discover the town on a really Dutch way. The bed is nice and comfortable. The breakfast is great. It was a pleasure to stay here and I can recommend it !!! You can use the kitchenette with fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dees1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
De Pijp
Houseboat Little Amstel
Houseboat Little Amstel
#49 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
#152 of 227 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#117 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Minties
#71 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed Breakfast Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Breakfast Boat

Property: Bed Breakfast Boat
Address: Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on a houseboat in AmsterdamAmsterdam has 100 kilometer of canals, 1500 bridges and more than 1000 houseboats. Come and stay on one when you visit!Experience Amsterdam from the water. Come and stay on the Bed Breakfast Boat. Your own floating hotel room, right in the middle of buzzing town. Enjoy the beauty of the water: the sun reflecting in it, boats passing by, ducks and swans wanting to get acquainted.Enjoy your crispy fresh breakfast in the morning. Jump on your bike and cycle to town, where the greatest museums, the historic canal area, parks and bars are waiting to give you a great time.Upon return your own water cabin is waiting to give you that relaxing feeling you deserve! Enjoy a cold beer or a glass of really good wine on your own private terrace, watch a movie, listen to some music or just enjoy the magnificent view! This is Amsterdam!The Bed Breakfast Boat consists of one room of about 29 square meters. It is part of the owners houseboat but has it’s own fully private outside entry and terrace. It has a a double king size bed, a kitchenette, a bathroom with rainshower, washbasin and toilet and a sitting area with fold out sofa. There's 5 large windows bringing in wonderful light and offering you a spectacular view on the water.The Bed Breakfast Boat is mostly suited for one or two persons. However, the foldout sofa and the availability of a baby bed and stool makes it perfectly possible to bring your child or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bed Breakfast Boat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing