We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely rooms!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #55 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is beautiful with funky wall paper & carpet.
The rooms are large & nice. The maids are efficient.
Hotel is a about 20 minutes away from Centraal Station by tram.
I can't really comment on the staff as they didn't really say very much to us apart from morning & evening.

Room Tip: There is nothing of interest to see by this hotel but there is a couple of shops, supermarket, small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapp555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you once more for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back as our guests in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    617
    148
    29
    14
See reviews for
124
735
49
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Manor Hotel the staff is very helpful and attentive to all of our requests. We stayed at the hotel for 5 days last week, it is situated about 7KM from the city centre in a nice neighbourhood. The tram stops are at the corner and from there you can get anywhere in the city very easily. August in Amsterdam is full of tourist and the downtown core can be a bit overwhelming, so it was nice to come back to the Manor for some peace and quiet. I would highly recommend the hotel for families and couples. We went to some of the local restaurants just down the street and they were all nice and the prices for food and drink were less expensive and of better quality then downtown. I booked the hotel about 6 weeks in advance on Venere.com and got a great rate.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mantad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and the beds were AMAZINGLY comfy! Each room had a safe and small fridge, both were very useful. The hotel is located next to a fantastic Zoo, park, coffee shop and small bar which sold great snacks (chips, nachos, cheese fingers etc.) There is a tram right outside the hotel which was very useful to use to get into the middle of the city. (I'm a light sleeper and it didn't disturb me) I would definitely come back again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Modern, clean rooms, even the basic type we stayed in.
See more room tips
Green Features: Really impressed with the staff and how helpful they were when we left a gift at a restaurant in the city, they were more than happy to call them to see if they still had it. (They did!)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess_bown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

All seemed well on arrival. Staff were friendly, the place seemed new and fresh.

The room had an empty mini-bar, except for a bottle of water (someone left it there?). The storage for clothes was limited to 6 hangars. The hairdryer didn't work and there were no toiletries like soap or toothpaste given free.

What was the most surprising was that of the dirty cups, plates and dishes left every night just a couple of feet from our door. Seemingly stockpiled by housekeeping, we witnessed several members of staff ignore this messy pile every day. Quite unsightly, for a four star hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Delosfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations and we definitely will use your notes to improve our service. The bottle of water is a complimentary gift to our guests. The minibar is empty because the greater part of our guests would like to use this for their own products. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam.

kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The hotel is in a brilliant location as there is a tram stop right outside, and it is only 10-15 minutes on the tram to be back in the centre (plus the journey is quite pretty too, especially at night!) The hotel is well kept, nice and clean, the bathroom/wetroom especially, although some of the furnishings are a bit tired/look a little as if they've been done on the cheap! Breakfast was OK, there was quite a lot to choose from, although be careful not to knock anything over (as the plates on one side and the food is close by on an opposing side - it can lead to embarrassing incidents...) as it is a little cramped. Made use of the secure storage on arrival and check out. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teapotandstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on Trip advisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Although far from the center and the main sights of Amsterdam is a very cosy and friendly hotel. You need to take the tram (10 to 13 minutes to the Flower Market) but the journey is very nice and by train you can come easily from the airport (40min by train and 8-10 min walking from the station). The room was quite comfortable (not enough hungers in the closet), very clean and elegantly furnished. The only problem we had was that the ventilator of the bathroom was broken, made a disturbing noise, and they didn't fix it during our stay (4 days). The breakfast was really good and served in a very we'll decorated and relaxing room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank avgerinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We are very sorry for the inconvenience regarding the bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in the centre of things then this is not the hotel for you. If however, like us, you think a ten minute tram journey into the city centre is a reasonable trade off for a night uninterrupted by drunken shouting then you should give this place serious consideration. Very well serviced by trams with the numbers , 9,7 and 3 all stopping a short walk away and leafy Oosterpark and some excellent local cafés on the doorstep ( Try the Cafe Kuijper just outside the hotel for an excellent breakfast)

The rooms were clean and modern, the staff friendly and very helpful when my boyfriend decided to leave his phone in a bar in the centre of town! Housekeeping was efficient and unobtrusive and we felt at home. Special mention has to go to the bed, the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.

I only demurred from giving a five because the in room refreshments were a bit mean. I expect more than two tea bags and no milk from a four star hotel!

However, that is a minor quibble with what is an otherwise excellent hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarahdorothy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel Arena
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,955 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#66 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing