We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A bit far from the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit far from the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Nothing to complain about at the hotel. The staff was really helpful and the rooms were great in a quiet nighborhood. The only bad thing is that it took quite some time to walk there from the centralstation. The tram connections were frekvent and good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jossa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    707
    167
    32
    14
See reviews for
144
846
53
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel outside looks fairly groggy, although the restaurant, reception area, bedrooms etc are all very nicely kept. The carpet in the hallway and wallpapers make you feel sick and like you're in a nightmare.. bright red with crosses all over them. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast, it'll cost you at least 12.50 euros and is very bad. It's a breakfast buffet, we went down around 10.30am on Sunday and all that was left was a couple of rolls, some very dry scrambled eggs, sausages and a few slices of cheese... No english breakfast tea either! On the upside, the staff were very accomodating and everything was kept clean and tidy. The tram station was a few seconds away which was very handy for getting in and out of town. Taxi-wise it cost us 50 euros to get to the airport and 20 euros back from town (as trams stop at 11.30pm-12am at night). Would I go there again? Probably not.. But it was alright.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn-Marie3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations regarding our decor. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saïda, null, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I reviewed this hotel last year and said that it was more than you could ask for in any hotel around the world. My family and I stayed there for the second time less than a month ago and I must admit that it was even better than the first stay. We got 2 extraordinary, spacious rooms (almost suites) very modern and clean. The staff was the same as last year, super friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Angela, Joy and of course Claire the manager of this superb gem. Again, I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. You can check my previous review for more details on the location and other services.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank your for your review and compliments! I am are happy that we could welcome you again. I will pass your kind words to Angela and Joy. We look forward to welcome you and your family again.

With kind regards,

C. van Campen - Vermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for our first anniversary. I chose this hotel because it was outside the busy areas of Amsterdam. The hotel is neat and clean the rooms are good. However there were some problems with our room like The room was not cleaned for 2 Days and when I went to complain the front office it was a strange reaction they wanted to give a free drinks voucher but what should I do with it, if I still have to sleep on a dirty bed.. Then the man on the front office asked me "what do you want us to do, sir?" This was unbelievable I am suppose to tell the staff how to handle guest complain, the night audit staff always said to come in the morning because the morning staff knows it better. The morning staff was very nice and friendly as well as the restaurant staff. The breakfast was good. The only complain will be the beds which were not made and arrogant and untrained staff at the reception not to forget being a hotelier found a lot of standards were not followed even as a four star. I will not go to this hotel again because I dont want to feel insulted when I go with a problem(created by the hotel).

Room Tip: If you wanna sleep without disturbance do not take a room facing the street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking The time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Because of feedback like yours we can improve our service. Our front office manager would like to have personal contact with you. I would like to ask you if you could please e-mail The front office manager Angela Spoelstra, a.spoelstra@hampshire-hotels.com, your contact details.

With kind regards,
Claire van Campen- Vermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel is very clean and it looks much neat.
The guys at the lobby are kind and correct.

They help us to find some cute secret restaurants.

They offer some Bicycles to rent but they are little expensive.
By bicycle the hotel is about 10 min to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, helpful and friendly staff. Expensive, but very nice and generous breakfast. A really good restaurant and bar area! However you would expect a hotel like this to offer a gym, at leadt a small one. Very friendly staff. Clean and nice rooms.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pernilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time writing a review. It is a pleasure to read your thoughts about the service. Unfortunately we are not big enough for a gym. If you maybe will visit us in the future please contact the staff about the special rate for the gym close to the hotel.

Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Spent two nights here towards the end of July. Beautiful modern hotel with good size rooms. Breakfast was very tasty. Staff were very helpful and efficient. The hotel is a little bit out of the city centre but the number 9 tram goes right to the door making all attractions accessible. Would recommend to all and will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlamingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!


Kind regards,

C.Van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing