We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Really quiet ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Audruicq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really quiet ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

It's a really good hotel and the staff is really kind.

The room is really clean and bed is comfortable.

Only bad point the private parking is really expensive: 27€/night.
But easy to park next to it!

And watch out the red color on the wall in the hall.

I recommend it !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Volack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. For parking there is alternative parking on the streets which is 4 euro's an hour till 24.00hrs, and starting from 09.00hrs. The hotel parking spots are limited and need to be reserved. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    611
    147
    29
    14
See reviews for
121
729
49
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a short city break and stayed for 2 nights. The Manor is about a 25 minute walk or a 15 minute tram ride to the centre of town. We chose it because of its location and the fact that it wouldn't be a youth club - like many of the hotels in Amsterdam!

It is in the Oose District and is a lovely picturesque walk into town over the canals and through the Plantage District. The room we had on the ground floor was fantastic. It is a boutique hotel with clean well appointed modern rooms which I could not fault. Fantastic breakfasts and reasonable bar prices were an added bonus. Friendly reception staff will ensure you get the most from your stay.

No 9 tram stops right outside the hotel - you can buy 1 hr, 24 or 48 hour passes and if you are staying longer a 7 day pass - can be used on all trams - could not have been easier!


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Slinkyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were nice and polite.

The location of hotel is a bit far from the city center, but you can always use the tram. Tram fares are cheap and ofcource you can always walk or rent a bike.

Restaurants Pata Negra and Quatfass are located near the hotel. Both of them are really good restaurants.

Trainstation is located under 500m away from the hotel. From there you can take the train directly to airport.

Hotel offers free wifi for their customers

Room Tip: If possible take room from top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Katelijne-Waver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The welcome from the staff was top, assistance to park. Very friendly.
No explanation from top spots in the city, it all had to go quickly.
Small business like room.
Not impressed by the decor.
Location was interesting but not in the centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review. The hotel is located in the east of Amsterdam, by tram 12 minites to the center. may I ask you to contact me personally if yyou have sufggestions how we could meet your expecations more.
kind regards
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Manor Hotel for a couple of nights and unfortunately found our stay quite disappointing. We had been looking forward to the hotel, expecting the service and facilities to be a little above average because of the four star rating and the description online. The hotel itself appears to be pleasant enough, though nothing special. Our hotel room however was extremely disappointing. The size was very small for a double room and the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The windows were so dirty that it was difficult to see past the dirt onto the street below.
On the evening before our departure, we had asked at reception for a wake up call at 6 am the following morning because we had to catch an early flight out of Amsterdam. Unfortunately we never received that call. I am glad we had set our own alarm as well, otherwise we might have missed the flight.
I would give the hotel a three star rating at best, in my opinion four stars are way overrated.
We found the beds quite comfortable and the tram stop is right outside the hotel, though the hotel is not quite in the center and the journey takes a few minutes.
Sadly the hotel is way overpriced for the service and facilities available.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
First of all I'm very sorry to hear that your expectation didn't match the reality.
Thank you very much for writing this review. With your input we can improve ourselves. I hope I may welcome you again so you can experience that we will do anything to give you a pleasant stay.


Could you contact me to discuss a proper solution for the caused inconvenience?

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Good location. Tram and buses to the centrum are near by. Staf is nice and helpful.
Room and bed are very good.
Tip. Parking at Zeeburg I en II for €1,- pd by using GVB-tickets to this hotel. With line 37 in about ten minutes from the parking to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. Thank you for the compliments. Parking at the P+R Zeeburg is indeed very convenient, please keep in mind that this is 8 euro p/d including a return ticket to the hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great location, easy to get to and lots of good cafés and restaurants near by. Enoteca was Aldo good. I had a breakfast, lunch and dinner. All were very good, good value as well. Service as attentive. Rooms are modern and well appointed. Only know was housekeeping. My room was not cleaned until nearly 5 PM and no fresh towels!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. Notes about housekeeping have been discussed with the Housekeeper. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the near future.
kind regards
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel Arena
#103 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#62 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing