We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not awful but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not awful but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014. I will begin with a few days before we arrived at the hotel I sent them an email to make a special requirement with the room. I was emailed back very quickly and they had reserved me a room with a balcony at no extra charge which was great.

We arrived at the hotel late at night and checked in no problem. Knowone to show you to your room though or offer a map of Amsterdam or any advice. Please also be aware you have to pay a 50euros deposit when checking in and do not get this back until the end of your holiday, please budget for this as we did not and ended up having to draw out extra cash.

When we got to the room it looked nice, apart from the big mirror on the wall was covered in dust and under the bed was absoloutley filthy with dust and an old chocolate bar wrapper. The cleaners clearly dont take the time to clean under the beds. The room was on the front of the hotel next to the road. The noise is not load at all and is easy to sleep at night.

As you will see from the other reviews the toliet situation is a strange one, there is a frosted glass door with an inch gap all the way around so you have clear visibility from the bed into the bathroom, there is also a mirror on the side of the room with a clear glass window looking directly at the toilet. We did not like that as was always abit awkward when you needed the toilet knowing someone can see you clearly.

Location - Is a good location if you do not want to be right in the centre of Amsterdam, get the number 9 tram from outside the hotel and you will be in the centre within 10 minutes. That part was excellent. Also there is a cafe directly next to the hotel called smoke palace, the best coffeshop in Amsterdam in my opinion and open late.

we did eat dinner at the hotel one night and were worried as previous reviews mentioned the price. We did not find it overly expensive and the food was nice. Maybe a little to pushy for us in trying to get us to order more drinks etc.

Overall I would say this is definatly not a 4 start rating hotel but it could be if they were a little more helpful and the rooms are knowhere near as dusty as it was. None of the above spolit our holiday in the slightest.

If I was to return to Amsterdam I personally would not stay in this hotel again however if I knew the rooms wouldnt be so dusty and you didnt have to watch eachother on the toilet.

if the toilet situation does not bother you and you do not want to be in the city centre but want to be close then I would say book this hotel. If not look elsewhere.

All in all we were happy with the price we paid for the hotel so definately not the worst hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adky2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service and standards. We do hope the comments will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    700
    167
    32
    14
See reviews for
141
838
53
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My Partner and I have just recently arrived hom from 3 nights at The Manor Hotel in Amsterdam (Valentines Weekend). The Hotel and the staff were fantastic. They all spoke perfect English which really did help us as we were new to exploring the beautiful city of Amsterdam. They provided us with a map and advised us the best mode of Transport to use was the Trams, I found using the trams a doddle and cheap when buying the 48hour option. The Hotel is relatively new, the interior is fresh, modern and funky. Our room had 2 LG tv's, a queen size bed (very comfy!), fantastic bathroom and a real modern feel about it, including the bums yes bums on the wallpaper behind the bed! The design is quirky I liked it very much. We did order room service for dinner and breakfast at one point and both were very enjoyable. As it was Valentines on arriving back at the hotel after a long day out a rose and a note to us wishing us a Happy Valentines was a great touch. You would have to be very incrediably picky to not enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: Junior Double Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgambling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. And good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is a 15 minute Tram Ride from Amsterdam Central Station and provides comfortable clean accommodation at sensible prices. One tip-have breakfast in one of the excellent nearby cafes for less than half the price of the expensive Enoteca (which is better value for dinner). Tram is No 9. The staff were most helpful including allowing us to check in at 10 am due to early arrival!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterscarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Manor is about 10-15 minutes on the number 9 tram going out toward Diemen. It's in a converted town hall, and from the outside has character. The room I was in was very spacious, very clean and modern, with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was again spacious, with a wet-room shower arrangement. The water pressure was a little low, but I did choose 'peak' times to use it.
The reception, was very friendly, with pods rather than one long imposing counter.
The restaurant is Italian themed, and acceptable, however as you are just a few stops on the tram away from the centre, I only used this once during my stay.
I will be staying here again if and when I need to go to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Try and get a room down one of the sides if you are easily disturbed, as the trams start-up early an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for a night, business trip.

Location not great, ugly interior (red XXXX everywhere) but comfortable room.

Nice staff. Clean.

I had a good deal (50% off) but at normal price I would not choose this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review.

kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Came here for a short break in August really nice room nice position just outside the centre or Amsterdam but very easy to get to using the tram system.

Staff were very helpful and would definitely recommend The Manor Hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Migelh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again back soon!

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had a wonderful last minute offer on this hotel and what a fabulous hotel at this price! We were driving so parking was an issue and they have a limited number available for €27 per 24 hrs. Rooms are beautifully decorated. Tram stops outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marceljt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#67 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing