We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from 25 to 28 november 2013. Staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel very clean and modern, the room was a good size and had all that you need for a comfortable stay with the exception of the pillows which we found to be uncomfortable otherwise that is our only complaint. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food but we did think it rather expensive for breakfast so ate elsewhere. The hotel is far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city but well placed for getting about and with a tram stop right outside we found it perfectly situated.

Room Tip: West side room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaniedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the comment of the pillows. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    804
    192
    34
    16
See reviews for
185
985
62
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights from 20th - 21st November, 2013. This hotel was very clean and the staff were helpful. Our room was comfortable if a little too close to the bar. It should be borne in mind, if you are travelling by car, that parking is limited, expensive and needs to be pre-booked.

There are public transport links within a very short walk from the hotel which is very convenient. It took us only 2 or 3 minutes walk to reach the tram stop.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is away from the bar. It can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crottpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very well decorated hotel. Superbly clean everywhere. Linen excellent. staff very pleasant and helpful especially the concierge.Too hot in the room.Told we could not open the window.A/C same hot or cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank AngelaCB935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Tahnk you for taking the time in sharing a your experience with us. I am sorry to hear the temprature in your room was not as you wished. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Large hotel. Friendly receptionists all English speaking. Very attentative.
Hotel restaurant quite expensive without an extensive menu.
Very modern inside. All red and black with the Amsterdam symbols of the 3 red X's everywhere from the carpets to the walls!
We had a large double bed in our room, fridge, tv, safe, hair dryer, kettle with tea and coffee.
The only drawback that we really didnt like was the fact that the toilet/shower room had clear glass windows so if you went in there, your partner could see you on the toilet! Very weird and disturbing!
Mirrors everywhere in the room and pink lighting in the alcoves of the ceiling!
Tram stops right outside so excellent connections to Amsterdam centraal, red light district, shopping, museums,everywhere! You pay E7.50 for 24 hours and jump on as many trams as you like!
We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening which cost nearly £100 without alcohol for 2 courses which I thought a little steep as we didnt have anything extravagant!
Supermarket across the road but nothing else.
You have to get on a tram if you want to go anywhere as we got lost for 4 hours as everywhere in Amsterdam looks the same!
Canals and houses.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review on Trip advisor. It is only through guest comments that we can constantly improve our service and standards. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pros: great connection to the city (tram 9, 10-15 minutes max. that takes you to amsterdam centrale station), very comfortable beds, room is modern yet practical/functional, good lighting, has water kettle, good TV channels

Cons: weak water pressure (not good for shower), hallways remind me of the movie "the shining" (this used to be a hospital after all), staff is helpful but not particularly friendly (except the older gentlemen guarding the main entrance, he was very nice), don't attempt to sit on the chairs (very dusty)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stellayyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We will look into the matters you addressed aso we can improve our service and standards. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, clean hotel, great connections into the city. Rooms were large and funky. Nice hotel and would stay here again. Not directly in the centre but using the tram it takes no longer than 15 minutes. 10 minute walk from a train station to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmate182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenHampshire, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at The Manor Hotel in October 2013. It is an updated and modernized. The front desk staff was always polite and helpful, there is free WiFi in the hotel, and each room has a safe. We stayed in room 110 and the free WiFi in our room was strong and fast.

The only odd thing about the bathroom is the narrow mirror over the sink: on either side of it there were windows looking into the room's front entryway. So anyone that was in the entryway could look directly into the bathroom. Not a worry if you're with someone you're comfortable with, I suppose, just odd.

Breakfast consists of eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), sausages, bacon, sliced deli meats and cheese, a variety of yogurts and toppings (granola, fruit), breads, and juices - no complaints at all. Breakfast is apparently a couple Euros less per person if you inform the front desk in advance that you will be showing up.

Also, The Manor Hotel is right next to Tram stops (the #9, #7, and #3) so access to the city is VERY easy - especially with a day or multi-day travel card.

High marks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doctortwirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time a writing a review, and sharing your experience with, Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#68 of 367 in Amsterdam
405 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
832 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing