We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautifully modern and clean and perfectly located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautifully modern and clean and perfectly located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights as part of a long weekend trip.

This hotel ticked all the boxes. We got a fair deal via expedia so the room wasn't too expensive the nights we stayed. The hotel itself turned out to be in the perfect location for us as it's not in the complete centre, but certainly in a pleasant "district" that is easily accessible to the centre (the dam and centraal station). There are several supermarkets 5 minutes away to get essentials like juice and snacks which also have cash machines. There are plenty of bars and eateries near by, infact there was a spot to eat just over the road owned by a lovely smiley man who was only too happy to help us and fairly cheap (Amsterdam is typically expensive!), there we had lunch with drinks for 13 euros.

All the staff were fab, and friendly speaking fluent english so we could ask all sorts of queries and get all sorts of suggestions. They know the city inside out.

Our room was beautifully clean with a TV (which even had BBC 1 and 2 so we could keep up to date with goings on) and blackout curtains that worked so well we ended up sleeping 'til 11.30am one morning thinking it must only be 7am or so. We had a walk in shower that could probably have housed 4 people easy(!...) but instead we got to enjoy all that space to ourselves. The beds were super comfortable and so were the pillows. The heating unit kept us at the perfect temperature. The hallways are well presented and there is lift access.

The pricing of the breakfast seemed a bit steep given I wouldn't really want to have an "all you can eat" style breakfast, but they do an a la carte style breakfast too it turned out where items are in the range of 6-9 euros which is half the price of the buffet breakfast. However we didn't use this service in the end either.

There are a couple of bars down the road, one was called milo I believe and had friendly staff and plenty of locals and tourists having a good time. They also had the "best" spit roast chicken and fries (see other review).

Trams and buses stop outside the hotel taking you right to the centre, but watch out for the cyclists as you cross the road!

A great place to visit near by is Artis zoo and Oosterpark is a nice place to take a stroll too.

So yes, we would definitely come back to the Manor hotel. Big thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get to overlook the street and feel part of the centre and double glazed windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in writing such an enthousiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    707
    167
    32
    14
See reviews for
144
846
53
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here with a party of 27 for three nights. The hotel is new and with rather quirky decor. Check-in at 10-30am was good with half the rooms being available. Staff very good and helpful. Food was OK but service rather slow in the evening even though we reserved the table mid afternoon. Food prices were quite high but OK. The hotel is located in quite a poor high area but at no times did we feel worried. Yes --- there is a cafe next door that sells "special" cigarettes and the smell is noticeable and next door to that is another local cafe called Cafe Miro which is great for coffee and cheaper than the hotel. Tram 9 is right to the centre and on the corner near the hotel is tram 7 which takes you to all the museums. Just buy tickets on the tram at the little kiosk on board. We would recommend taking tram 9 to Rembrandtsplein where there are lots of restaurants and cafes.
Many of the older people in our group said that there should be grab rails in the wet rooms as the floor was sloppy and there was no where to hang onto.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the effort in writing about you experience at the Manor Hotel Hampshire Eden. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. THe tips on the bathroom will be taken into consideration. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everything perfect except for the a/c (heating).
Tram station outside the hotel. In 5 minutes we were in the center.
Very clean and perfect bathroom.The only problem was the weak heating.
Best choice for staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review on Tripadvisor. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service. The note about the heating, we will look into the issue. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks newly refurbished, the decor is stylish and modern.
The bedrooms are nice, clean and a good size, although on a main road the windows block out almost all the sound from the traffic. If you have a double do be warned that you will get two singles pushed together. Bathroom is nice but odd window which means people can see you on the toilet, very strange.
The staff were reasonably friendly but not very helpful when asked about transport or tourist attractions.
Resturant looked nice but I did not eat there.
The location is good, a small supermarket over the road and a few cafes. A tram stop right outside which can take you to town.
I would recommend the 'I Amsterdam' city cards because they give you free tram and bus use as well as energy into many museums and discounts.
I would recommend this hotel for a city break, if you're looking for luxury then this isn't for you, but for a four star it is clean, good location and smart, it has everything you would need!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much in writing a review on tripadvisor. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Simply brilliant from check-in to check-out. Fantastic value for money. Spacious, modern room with the most comfy hotel beds ever! Great location directly opposite the tram stop, the number 9 takes you to the city centre in around 7 minutes. Will be visiting again for sure.

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the staff in the restaurant. Very slow service issued by individuals who clearly want to be anywhere else but at work! The hotel staff were the exact opposite.

Room Tip: Request a king size bed. It's free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

A nice quiet modern hotel. It is situated in an area away from the hub of the centre but still within easy reach. For those who fancy a walk it is about 30 to 40 mins from the city centre. Tram lines serve this area pretty well and easily accessible from just opposite the hotel. Staff friendly and nice. Rooms are clean and well equipped with all that the traveller needs. The wireless Internet connection could be better. Rooms with a nice clean shower. I would consider putting frosting on the glass panels between the bathroom and hallway and still leaving room for light. I was in room 122 first floor and it was overlooking the main busy room. In spite of this it was still relaxing and comfortable and I was able to have a good night sleep.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time writing a review. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A bit on the funky style of decorating the Manor Hotel was in a great location for tourists. Using our GVB pass we could get anywhere in the city within a half hour day or night and had a good, clean hotel waiting for us. I especially appreciated all the nice, friendly service. The people at the main desk just couldn't have been nicer. The rooms are funky colors and have bold art with big beautiful bathrooms, both spacious and quiet on the busy street. There are cafes in easy walking along with a beautiful park.

Room Tip: Check out the deals on Expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fromChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing