We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel , Great Staff , Great location :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel , Great Staff , Great location :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Couldnt fault the hotel one bit, as to other post the decor is very unique however so is Amsterdam itself if yout boring and miserable dont book here as you wouldnt appreciate it.

The hotel is in a great location just outside the city centre with a Tram stop directly outside the hotel the tram takes about 15min into Dam square but you also get to see some nice parts on route - the Hotel is also only 4 stops (i think) to the Amsterdam Zoo ! The area has lots of amenitites for all those visisting to Amsterdam restuarants, shops and coffeeshop all within a short walk from the hotel entrance.

The staff were very polite and very helpful the whole time as are the majority of Dutch people and couldnt fault the service provided esp room service at 3am :) lol we got the munchies :)

We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was amzing with everything we needed and more - it was very comfortable and the king size bed was great. The room was very clean and tidy too.

I would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a good time in Amsterdam be open minded and dont moan about the cost of things as all european cities are expensive! but the Manor Hotel is worth every penny :)

Will be our Hotel of choice for our next trip :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamH531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review, and sharing your experience with us. looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    707
    167
    32
    14
See reviews for
144
846
53
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband & I took a long weekend to Amsterdam in July 2013. After doing a little bit of research we decided the Manor Hotel was the one for us. Yes, the location is outside the main centre, but this makes it fantastically quiet and the tram stop is right outside the hotel. The trams are easy to use and take only 5 minutes to get into the city. The wallpaper and caprets are a little wacky, and I think anyone taking the special Amsterdam Cake could get super dizzy. We were a little upset to be given a twin rather than a double room, but they said we could change the next day. We actually kep the room as it was a good size and really well presented. Overall a fantastic stay in a really lovely user friendly city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdm1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in wrting a review on tripadvisor. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very comfortable stay, good room with en suite wet room, comfy beds and even BBC 1 and 2 TV channels.....
Approached restaurant with some uncertainty in view of some negative reviews but our evening meals were superb. The steak, the lamb and the beef milanese were excellent as indeed was the duck starter , the ice cream, and the cheese plate. Supported by v.g service and excellent maitre d'. Only criticisms would be the tiramasu was an unusual take on a classic when my wife wanted the classic style, and compared to Derby, England prices were more than at home.
We felt the quality offset that, and on seeing alternative venues realised this was the standard price - 31 euros for 3 courses.Drinks were the same as everywhere else, and here had a very good wine selection not found in other places.
Got caught out first breakfast time as poor staff member, but following days service and price of "Fresh Start" of cereal, fruit and yogurt at 6 euros was fine. If you want the full breakfast, its 17 euros but 15 if prebooked at reception.
Very handy location for Museum Quarter and Anne Frank House, a 3 tram goes almost outside, direct to Museums and a bit further on and change for 2 stops on a 14 or 17 gets you to Anne Frank House.
From Schiphol, train to Centraal,4. 5 euros, then a 9 tram from in front of station for 3 euros direct to hotel - taxi is 50 euros although off season think it is less, journey time under 30 mins.
Would thoroughly recommend here to anyone and have one meal here, either the first night or after a days trips. If money tight, the Caffe Milo does a big pizza for 8 euros, and at night there is an off licence/ shop for drinks, ice cream, chocolate etc right opposite with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derbypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
thank you for taking th time in writing an extensive report. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Manor hotel was lovely. Me and my partner stayed there for 4 days and all staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotels location in my opinion is just perfect, as you can take the tram from outside the hotel straight to town and all attractions in just 10 minutes. The hotel was very clean and the bedrooms are very beautiful decorated. There is nothing negative i can say about the Manor Hotel. I highly recommend it and i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_87_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The Manor hotel was lovely. The hotels Location was a short bus ride in to town and in a quiet, clean, area that felt safe to wander around. and the staff were helpful and friendly, making us feel welcome and assisting with bus information etc. The hotel is very, clean, with a great bathroom. Funky decor throughout the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am writing this from my room 320, on the top of the house. We are a group of 25 with breakfast and evening meal included. The location is not something to envy. One needs some transportation to reach an interesting place. The building is old fascinating from the outside, modern inside. Maybe not for everyone taste, but this is a personal matter. It is clean, it is nice, kind and attentive personnel, excellent breakfast. For a four star hotel I expected a bathtub, but none. Maybe the German standards are too high for the rest of Europe too follow. The beds are good and comfortable. I take pictures as a hobby and the scenery from the room is beautiful, especially just before sunset.
No, the bad. Firts we were requested to place a E50 deposit (or provide a copy of my credit card) in case we steal or break something (again, we were an organized group, all paid in advance). This is disgusting and humiliating. Never heard of such procedures. Here comes the worst. The evening meals were absolutely impossible to eat. Not bad taste. Be assured. Only NO TASTE AT ALL. First evening, second evening, third evening... I do not want to imply something xenophobic, but it is incomprehensible for a place in a country with excellent cuisine to provide tasteless food. Shall I return on my own will? Not sure, but if yes, no more visits to the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards.We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a memorable two nights at this hotel during our recent city break to Amsterdam and were extremely impressed by the high level of service and delighted by the transport links to the city and the airport.

There is absolutely nothing negative we could write about this hotel and we hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms face a fairly busy road which if you enjoy watching the trams and the locals is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weisz-Levin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing