We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Manor Hotel Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Manor Hotel Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I travelled to Amsterdam for a conference on my own and wanted to feel safe in my hotel as a single woman. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly. It is in a nice area slightly outside the city centre but with excellent connections. The staff were so helpful. They printed out directions for me so that I could find my way to and from the conference centre and also advised where I could go in the evening on my own. The room was very comfortable and clean and also quiet. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunbelly-Damsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    642
    152
    32
    14
See reviews for
131
772
50
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I both really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were attentive but not intrusive. The rooms and the hotel in general were immaculately clean. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and we slept very well.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but had some drinks nearby at some local cafes and the area was safe and quiet at night time.

There are local shops to buy food and drink, and superb transport links into the city centre.

We travelled all round amsterdam during our stay and never once found the location of the hotel a hinderance, we even walked home one night which took us around 30 minutes from rembrandtplein.

The only surprise was having to pay city tax by cash on our exit from the hotel, which left us with only enough money to get to the train station with about 15 cents to spare. Not ideal, but having travelled elsewhere, city taxes are fairly standard, and normally need to be paid in cash.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiscardo, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you love noise at night , in the morning , all day long you have to ask for 242 room in Manor Hotel. First night we woke up more than 7 times because we thought that someone was going to enter in our room!! No we were wrong our neighbors just opening and closing their doors! we could hear almost everything, maybe you will say that we have sensitive ears but we could also feel it when the rooms next to our's opening and closing their doors.The wall behind our bed was shaking! Every morning i was up from 7 to 8 o'clock!
I'm sorry but the room wasn't clean enough!!!The basin brush was dirty, the soap was leaking on the floor , the basin needs some chlorine to get better , the armchair had some white stains and i don't want to know from where they came from, if i was using the washstand for long time it starting leaking and the floor was full of water and some more issues but i'm feeling already bad ...
The staff was very friendly but always busy and i was bored to wait and complain! My job is not to complain and take them from the hand and show them the room and the problems! It should be perfect, cleaned and soundproof for a 4 star hotel or else it was better for me and my wife to go to a hostel!!!
Some guests say that it is good value for money , we payed about 650 euro for 6 nights (i have to work for 25 days and more than 13 hours a day to get that money) and with the experience we had it doesn't worth it!!
We had a dinner in the room a pizza and gnocchi. I thing that it was average but maybe it would be unfair for Manor Hotel because before Amsterdan we were in Italy and we had the best pizza and gnocchi ever!
The internet conection was good and fast.Manor hotel is oposite to a beautiful park and close to the tram no9 wich takes only 13 mints to the center.The room had the perfect temperature with out using the air con.

Room Tip: Avoid 242 room and ask to stay somewhere with no noise. If this is not possible go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DimitriosV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here with our two boys for three nights in October. The price for two rooms per night (connecting) was much more reasonable than anything else we could find in the city at this comfort level.
The staff was super friendly and the rooms were clean, hip and reasonably well appointed.
The dinner in the Italian restaurant in the hotel was surprisingly good, and because it's also a wine bar had a nice selection of Italian wines.
The location is not in the center of the city. So if you're planning to step out the front door of the hotel and into the prime tourist attractions, this isn't the place. However it's well served by excellent public transport with at least 3 tram and 2 bus lines just at the corner. From there it's no more than 10-15 minutes on the bus or tram to just about anywhere you'd want to go in the city but at night be away from the more crowded and sleazy parts of the city.
Onsite parking was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for three nights last weekend and we loved the hotel. I was nervous going over as there seems to be mixed reviews about the hotel. The location suited us brilliantly as you're 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city but I didn't see a need to be in the middle of it all for a massive hotel price. The tram (number 9) stops right outside the door and gets you straight in to the centre, running every 10 minutes. It stops at around 12am during the week and about 1am at the weekend. A taxi cost us one night €11 from Central Station which I thought was reasonable.

The hotel foyer is lovely and inviting, the bar is trendy and quiet.
The hotel staff were very nice and informative and always willing to help.
The room was very nice, the high ceilings made the room feel really spacious, the windows looking out onto the street were great too. The room was spotless, loved the wet room type shower and the housekeeping was always perfect.
There are tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge which is extremley handy, all usual channels on the flatscreen t.v., free internet in the room (although having to sign in every 30 minutes can get annoying but unlike other hotels its free of charge so I didn't mind too much).

We didn't avail of the breakfast as it was very expensive and there are lots of places to eat around.

If you are a light sleeper maybe get a room at the back as the trams early in the morning might wake you.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolldoll200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was huge and comfortable, and the location was very good, given that you do not need to live just in the middle of the bull's eye (10 minutes by tram to Dam or Rembrandtsplein, about the same by bike) . A very well-balanced Air-Condition system. The staff was kind and service minded - and all were of course english-spoken. In general, we were very satisfied with the cleaning, but of a four-star hotel, one expects the bedsheets to be changed after three nights (they were not).
The mirror configuration in the bathroom was very strange though, which enlightend the entrance to the room, but also offered a view of absolutely everything going on inside the bathroom. Everyone needs a little privacy, and especially there. All Superior rooms (like ours) face the street and therefore expose you to quite a lot of noise. Not good for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Find out in advance what rooms are on what side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLackland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel Arena
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing