We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip hotel at a good price in a practical location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hip hotel at a good price in a practical location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here with our two boys for three nights in October. The price for two rooms per night (connecting) was much more reasonable than anything else we could find in the city at this comfort level.
The staff was super friendly and the rooms were clean, hip and reasonably well appointed.
The dinner in the Italian restaurant in the hotel was surprisingly good, and because it's also a wine bar had a nice selection of Italian wines.
The location is not in the center of the city. So if you're planning to step out the front door of the hotel and into the prime tourist attractions, this isn't the place. However it's well served by excellent public transport with at least 3 tram and 2 bus lines just at the corner. From there it's no more than 10-15 minutes on the bus or tram to just about anywhere you'd want to go in the city but at night be away from the more crowded and sleazy parts of the city.
Onsite parking was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    707
    167
    32
    14
See reviews for
144
845
53
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for three nights last weekend and we loved the hotel. I was nervous going over as there seems to be mixed reviews about the hotel. The location suited us brilliantly as you're 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city but I didn't see a need to be in the middle of it all for a massive hotel price. The tram (number 9) stops right outside the door and gets you straight in to the centre, running every 10 minutes. It stops at around 12am during the week and about 1am at the weekend. A taxi cost us one night €11 from Central Station which I thought was reasonable.

The hotel foyer is lovely and inviting, the bar is trendy and quiet.
The hotel staff were very nice and informative and always willing to help.
The room was very nice, the high ceilings made the room feel really spacious, the windows looking out onto the street were great too. The room was spotless, loved the wet room type shower and the housekeeping was always perfect.
There are tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge which is extremley handy, all usual channels on the flatscreen t.v., free internet in the room (although having to sign in every 30 minutes can get annoying but unlike other hotels its free of charge so I didn't mind too much).

We didn't avail of the breakfast as it was very expensive and there are lots of places to eat around.

If you are a light sleeper maybe get a room at the back as the trams early in the morning might wake you.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolldoll200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was huge and comfortable, and the location was very good, given that you do not need to live just in the middle of the bull's eye (10 minutes by tram to Dam or Rembrandtsplein, about the same by bike) . A very well-balanced Air-Condition system. The staff was kind and service minded - and all were of course english-spoken. In general, we were very satisfied with the cleaning, but of a four-star hotel, one expects the bedsheets to be changed after three nights (they were not).
The mirror configuration in the bathroom was very strange though, which enlightend the entrance to the room, but also offered a view of absolutely everything going on inside the bathroom. Everyone needs a little privacy, and especially there. All Superior rooms (like ours) face the street and therefore expose you to quite a lot of noise. Not good for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Find out in advance what rooms are on what side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLackland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

On our recent visit we booked this hotel as it was very reasonably priced. Although a little further away from the centre than we were used to the trams passed the hotel every 10 mins or so. The room was very clean and you could tell care had been taken with the design or decor. Depsite being on the ground floor next to the busy road we heard hardly a thing.

We did not take breakfast with our room but the menu looked lovely but a bit expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms we very nice, we booked the cheapest room but you couldnt tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky001001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, and was not disappointed. The hotel looks good from the outside and has a modern feel inside. The decor is a continuation of the crosses in the city crest which seems to be everywhere in Amsterdam. Our room was a superior double and we found it very clean and spacious enough for the four nights we spent there. The en suite was large also, with a good sized shower area, supplied with toiletries.
We had one breakfast in the hotel which was very good. Mention has been made of the expensive breakfast buffet by other reviewers but there are cheaper options available if you look.
We found the staff welcoming and friendly and happy to give any assistance we needed.
As others have mentioned the hotel is away from the centre, but that makes for a quieter area, and with the no. 9 tram at the door you are in Dam Square in a few minutes. My advice would be to buy a transport card covering your stay as this works out cheaper, and if you intend visiting some museums then the I Amsterdam card is worth considering. We bought the 96 hour card online and picked it up at the tourist office at Schipol airport. This gave us 3 days of tram,bus and metro travel, free entry to loads of museums and discount at other sights, resturants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_J_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel, great location. Tram number 9 stops right outside taking you straight into town for €2.70. The train station is also 3 mins walk behind the hotel if you needed it.
The hotel is easy to get to from the airport, get a train to central station (takes about 20 mins and costs about €5) then the number 9 tram straight to the door.
There is also a boat hop on hop off tour which stops at the canal round the corner opposite the troppenmuseum.
The trams run until 12pm so you can get home until late but we also got a taxi late one night from Rembrantplein and it was only €15.
Make sure you hire bikes, we did it from the hotel €16.50 for 24 hours (but if you are doing it longer you might get a discount if you ask) and it was the best way to get around the city.
Great hotel furnishings still fresh and kept clean I would come back to here if I was coming to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cutestjennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing