We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely stay...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back after staying two nights. Very clean room, we were upgraded to a junior suite for free which was nice, the room was massive. Comfy bed, clean linen, we had a room facing the rear (305) which was nice and quiet. Bathroom was good but, as mentioned elsewhere, it's a bit weird as you can see through from the bedroom in to the bathroom a little bit through the back of the mirror. Bit weird if you're not a couple, bit kinky if you are. I emailed ahead and asked for a room on the top floor which was kindly provided. I believe that that is also the least noisy floor as you don't hear anyone walking above you.
It's very quick to get in to central Amsterdam from the hotel, there's a tram stop (number 9) right outside the hotel, it takes ten minutes to get to dam square or the central train station (for direct trains to the airport). There's a late off licence across the road and a coffee shop next door if you fancy a spliff (although it didn't look too great). The hotel bar is also nice and although we didn't eat there, the menu looked good and the staff were friendly. It also seemed like a nice safe area if you're coming back late at night.
All in all a top trip and a very well priced, well placed hotel. For the price, I can't fault it!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor if possible and ask to get a rear-facing room (towards the gardens). Room 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ripvanmarlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    700
    167
    32
    14
See reviews for
141
838
53
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed there are group for a conference in Amsterdam for 3 nights.
The hotel was without any dubt a Fantastic one at great price too.....
The staff were absolutely superb could not ask for more.
Location wise 5 mintes from Dam Sq with a frequent Tram 9.
I Would lie if i wouldn't go back there for my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the Manor Hotel in Amsterdam for 2 nights in late september 2012. The location is not in central Amsterdam but is only a 10 minute Tram ride from Dam square and is in a super nice, quiet area with a few convienience stores and cafes on the street. The Hotel itself is beautiful, the exterioir is grand and well kept. The lobby is stunning with beautiful chandeliers and a stylish and modern reception. The staff are very very friendly and helpful. When we checked in they gave us a handy map of Amsterdam.

When we made our way to our room we were not dissapointed the staircase and hallways are grand with really high cielings and tall windows, the decor is really funky and is adapted around the Amsterdam theme of crosses. Our room was fantastic, we had asked for a nice view and were given a room on the first floor with dual aspect windows looking out onto Linneaustraat (the road the hotel is on). The cielings are so high the room felt like a grand yet bijous sanctuary for us. The bathroom had a luxurious deep and wide bath with a good powerful shower over it. It was clean and brilliantly lit. The highlight of the room though was the bed, it was heavenly to sleep in. The only down side is that a double bed is actually just two single beds put together, but after talking to other visitors in the area we established that this is quite common in Amsterdam.

Breakfast was included in our stay and it was a good buffet style mixture of european breakfast basics. It was tasty and did the trick for us. Im sure this probably saved us a few euros too as we would have only had to buy breakfast in a cafe elsewhere anyway.

I would most certainly reccommend this hotel and I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a nice view and they gave us a lovely corner suite with dual aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea-shell-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just finished a five night stay at this hotel during our first visit to Amsterdam. Very pleased overall with this hotel. The hotel was well priced for the location, which is a 10 - 15 minutes tram from main tourist area and 5 minute walk from NS train station. The decor of the hotel is somewhat interesting, but look past the large picture in the room and very loud carpet and wall paper colour and you will find a good economical hotel. Internet was included, but required daily sign-up. Only complaint was that "king " bed was two twin beds put together, which meant being very careful not to lay in the centre where the beds joined

Room Tip: Pass on the king option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful rooms, good location out of crazy city centre. Nice restaurants and bars nearby.helpful staff.
Boring bar at night.
Close to tram for easy access to city centre.
Good value for money.
Modern interior with comfortable furnishings

Room Tip: Rooms at back overlook garden area and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in mid September 2012. Its a beautifully furnished and uber stylish hotel set on a well used road close to lots of shops and cafes. The Manor Hotel has a impressive and luxury feel. My room was the stiletto shoe room (I will add pics) and had a great central view from the balcony. The bed was very comfortable and although it was cold at night - the duvet was chunky and padded enough to keep me pleasantly warm. The TV has around 9 channels and obviously there is a kettle, safe, power shower and mini fridge, hairdryer, info packs and a trouser stand. There's everything you would expect from Dutch 5 star in the Ajax themed hotel. The only thing I would mildly moan about is that the tax you pay for your stay (payable by everyone) is added at the end of your stay when you check out. It was around €8.50 for two nights. Left luggage was available to me for 2hours after I checked out too which is brilliant! The tram stops are situated right outside and taxis come to reception often - its around €16 to get to Central Dam by taxi and €2.75ish for an hour return tram ticket. There are speciality food shops and cafes dotted all around the hotel and a zoo is just a few stops on the tram.
The Manor's bar was lovely. Cool decor and a huge range of whiskeys and beverages. It was all extremely stylish and uber ergonomic. The staff were lovely, friendly and informative. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and although I return to Amsterdam in a few weeks and will stay at The Exchange Hotel, I will positively return to The Manor Hotel next year. Any Q's please ask. Amsterdam is an amazing place - book early for flights and especially your hotel for noticeable price differences. Well done The Manor Hotel for a stylish and quirky place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on a trip with my wife. 10 mins on the tram, which leaves from outside the front door, to get to the centre of Amsterdam. Quiet location, right beside the Oosterpark was perfect.

The room was clean and modern and the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant.

All in all, a great stay with no complaints at all. Would go back again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishRoutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#67 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing