We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Beautiful Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Beautiful Rooms”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was one of our favourite rooms on our eight city Euro tour. The staff were so friendly, and made a great effort welcoming us from the moment we arrived. The rooms are very hip and clean and new, and I even thought that if I ever (for some reason) owned a hotel, I would want it to look and feel like the Manor. Also - the beds are heavenly!!! It is conveniently located across the street from an open-late convenience store and awesome grocery store. Rent bicycles from the hotel, and take a tour of the city on wheels for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adymm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    804
    192
    34
    16
See reviews for
185
984
62
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield - uk
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Easily accessed from Central Station - take the number 9 tram, the stop we used was Wijttenbachstraat Linnaeusstraat. It would be worthwhile printing a copy of the tram map - which can be found here - http://en.gvb.nl/reisinformatie/plattegronden/Pages/Tram-en-metronet.aspx

I didnt have a tram map and it would have made travel easier. The trams are a quick and easy way to travel and cost a couple of Euro a ticket.

There is also a night bus, as the trams stop around midnight, which is 44mins past the hour from central station, its the 357 and it also stops at Dam Square then Rembrandt Plaz - it was pretty quick too from what I remember.

We found the hotel to be modern, clean and have helpful and friendly staff. We didn't get a chance to eat there or use the bar as we spent most of our time in central Amsterdam.

The only "quirk" is that you can clearly see into the bathroom from the side of the mirror outside the bathroom, so would probably recommend this more for couples than friends.

We booked through hotels.com and paid around £200 for 3 nights. We really liked the hotel and will probably use it for future Amsterdam trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairbrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, unfortunately had some major problems with reservation on arrival due to language and computer problems which resulted in our booking being cancelled without notification even though many emails had been sent confirming. The hotel were great and honored our booking upgrading us to a deluxe room. The tram was out the front of the hotel and a 10 min ride took us into the centre. All in all it was a good stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights.Very good hotel and rooms very different from each other.Our headboard was all one wall and it was images of Bacardi bottles,great.
Easy to get to town on a tram,taking about 10 minutes.
Would highly recommend this hotel.Oh and also free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippychickchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, good size room, beautiful mansion, very modern decoration and facilities. The receptions there are the best,so friendly and helpful.

Location is great, about 10-15 mins tram ride to central station. You probably can find other more central places to stay But you won't get the quality like this.

Will definitly stay there again for the next visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the Manor on business for 3 nights- a beautiful building, renovated in a stylish and quirky design. The staff were all excellent and the room delightful- spacious, modern and very clean. The breakfast plentiful and varied and Enoteca restaurant serves real italian cuisine- excellent food and service. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahP126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#68 of 367 in Amsterdam
405 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
831 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing