We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice design hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brussels
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice design hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Modern design hotel. Not badly located : 15 min away from city centre by tram, 15 min away from P+R parking by bus (otherwise parking in the street or at the hotel is really expensive :25€/day !). Nice bar. Corridor a bit trashy, look better on the photo than in the reallity. Room has a nice design but materials are a bit cheap and sound isolation could be better. No view for the rooms at the first floor.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fg_elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    643
    152
    32
    14
See reviews for
132
772
50
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Nice Hotel, stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and the staff were excellent and the restaurant and bar was very good.
It is about 15 minutes from the city centre by tram or bike, we did not use the taxi's so I do not know how much they cost. The rooms were comfortable and clean, We did not do the Breakfast buffet which seemed a little expensive. we bought breakfast across the street in a store.
If you like quite and a good nights sleep and do not mind traveling to and from the city we would recommend this hotel. If you do not want to learn the trams or rent a bike you should stay closer to the city

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letterkenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We got a great deal on this hotel using frequent flier miles - the hotel was fresh and new! The property had fun, quirky decor and all the amenties we wanted. The buffet breakfast was wonderful - fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and a coffee/espresso/latte machine, and the restaurant setting was quite nice. There is a tram stop (#9) right outside the door that will take you straight to Centraal Station. We were on the top floor & could open the windows & look down on the backyard area & let in the breeze. We would stay here again.

Only complaint was that in the room, the area by the mirror was open to the bedroom area. This might be very stylish in terms of interior decorating, but is quite lacking in practicality. If traveling alone, this is not an issue - but please, doesn't everyone at least want the OPTION of being able to have privacy in the bathroom???

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Very nice hotel, no complaints staying at this hotel, would recommend this hotel to anyone, clean, modern and very quirky!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lp3506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We booked for our one night in Amsterdam before a drive into Germany.
An early arrival didn't cause any problem and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. It was hailing on arrival but it didn't seem to dampen their enthusiam.

The location is convenient, not too far from the airport, parking is charged but it efficient. The decoration is pretty in your face, bright and young (hence the kooky!) but the rooms were well organised. Of course not large but clean and neat. I was surpised not to find any shower cap
or toiletries or even a face cloth (wash cloth). Liquid soap is in a dispenser on the wall. But hey, this isn't five star after all. Tea making facilities in the room are fine.

The windows open, which would be super in warmer weather but we left them closed in late October!

Breakfast buffet wasn't so great so we opted for the healthy option. It was cornflaked which surprised us... no muesli but the fresh fruit was just fine.

The road outside is quiet thanks to the triple glazing and we saw hundreds of personalised bicycles carring babies, toddlers,shopping. Really interestsing coming from Hong Kong where so few can be seen.

Generally this is good value for a city centre hotel in Amsterdam where prices are generally high. You might need your sunglasses for the decor of bright red crosses everywhere, on carpets, walls..... The friendliness makes up for the in your face design. The bed was two singles togther with separate duvets but it worked out fine.

Room Tip: I understand that some rooms face the inner garden courtyard which could be nice but the front (we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ustaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night on a business trip to Amsterdam and it provided everything I needed. The location is not in the city center but the Amsterdam Muidenpoort train station is nearby and there's a tram stop right next to it. It was very convenient for my purposes.
The design of the hotel is very modern and welcoming and everything is in a very good condition since it is still new.
I had a standard room that had all the amenities you expect from a 4* hotel: adjustable a/c, coffee and tea making facilities (+hot chocolate), a complimentary bottle of water in the fridge, toiletries by Rituals (but only in dispensers on the wall), a good flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi (the free Wi-Fi is not the fastest connection but I was perfectly fine with it) a proper blow-dryer (not one of those strange "machines" on the wall that some hotels offer), a nice bathtub and big and fluffy towels. The bed was huge and sooo comfortable! I slept like a baby. I also liked that I could open the window for some fresh air. And the design of the room suited my personal taste perfectly since it is rather modern and urban.
The breakfast buffet was included in my rate and offered a wide variety including some hot dishes like scrambled eggs and sausages. I didn't try the Italian restaurant Enoteca for dinner but it seemed quite busy on a Monday night. So, maybe that's a good sign.
If I return to Amsterdam I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was not facing the main road and thus absolutely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiepchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I arrived on a late flight and checked in around 9pm. Not sure if the hotel had sold my room but I was upgraded from standard double to a junior suite! Amazing.

The room was on the large side. Bathroom included a bath and separate shower. Toilet was separate. Wonderful Ritual toiletries and included all the things a real 4 star should have and then some - slippers, toothbrush, sewing kit, nail fail, shaving set etc,..

There were also 2 tv's in the room. Not really necessary 1 facing the bed and another facing the seating area.
Huge bed and long enough for my 5'11 frame.
Plenty of tea and coffee and hot chocolate. And a complimentary bottle of water in the fridge.

Downside was that I was on the ground floor. No noise from above--ceiling was about 15 ft or more but I didn't like being on the ground floor.

Breakfast was 17 euros! daylight robbery but not much different to prices of many European hotels I've stayed in. I chose it because I wanted convenience and you can eat as much as you want - so make sure you are hungry. I think there are cheaper alternatives if you don't want the full buffet.

Overall a really pleasant experience, clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staff and would definitely return here! Recommend for anyone who doesn't necessarily want to stay in the red-light district.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss_voyager83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#66 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
No photo provided
Hotel Arena
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing