We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here over Aug Bank Holiday weekend. The staff were very friendly, check in was pretty quick, although quite busy. The executive rooms we booked were great value for money with King size beds and all of the usual in room facilities such as iron, hair drier, tea & coffee, TV/internet with keyboard and not forgetting the white bath robes and slippers. Breakfast was well laid out with plenty of choice and adequate tables to avoid waiting. We had a super view over a section of river with endless tourist boats passing and people watching if you wish. The location next to Centraal Station meant it was convenient to access the many usual tourist attractions and also within easy walking distance to the city centre,.

Room Tip: Worth spending that little bit more for an Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experiences. It makes me happy to read that you had a pleasant stay!
Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,233 - 3,239 of 7,210 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Really cool hotel, very nice, centrally located, right beside the train station, get the train from the airport, it cost €9 return, we had a room overlooking the harbour on the 9th floor and the skylounge on the 11th floor is supercool. Breakfast plentiful and wide choice, very busy bustling hotel, I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: High floor overlooking harbour,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words!
Fantastic to read that you would recommend the hotel.
We hope to welcome you again, should travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I stayed in May 2014 with some friends and this time I returned with my wife.

We booked an Executive Queen with Balcony. The room was on the 10th floor and we had a good, but not uninterrupted, view of the City. Our balcony was more of an elongated roof patio and was very nice.

Simply due to the timing of our flight and a train in to the City we arrived spot on 3:00 which is the very strict check-in time. Had we arrived earlier and tried to check in there is an "early check-in fee" of a very hefty E40. However, our room was not ready at 3:00. We were given a voucher for 2 beers in the Sky Lounge. All well and good but we wanted to have a wash and brush-up and to get out in to the City. How about offering this E40 "fine" in reverse and if your room is not ready then they give you E40 from your bill. Would this not be better customer service. I do not know of any other hotel that will charge you if you arrive to find your room is ready but it is not 3:00 so you must pay a lot of money.

This gripe aside we found the hotel to be lovely. Very clean, very comfortable and extremely centrally located. All of the staff we encountered did seem genuinely pleased to be serving us.

The Executive Lounge is not a great size and it got too crammed when they were handing out the free booze that we decided not to bother. Also, if you arrive for breakfast at a busy time it is like feeding time at the zoo and this is when you find that people forget their manners and push in front of you or become very greedy and take way too much stuff. The Executive breakfast only has scrambled egg as a hot option, the non-executive breakfast did have a vast array of hot dishes but paying punters have to pay E25 for this option and it is not available to those of us with "executive" privileges.

As we were on the 10th floor we were directly below the Sky Lounge and I was woken at 0100 on the Saturday night by the thump of music, presumable from the lounge. Perhaps management may wish to consider that not everyone in their hotel likes loud music and partying until the early morning. Some people actually rent bedrooms (a hotel's basic trade) to sleep. Why does the music have to be so loud?

This said, if we are in Amsterdam again we will stay here again. It's a nice place to be, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. If I could give 3.5 stars I would do so as it I somewhere between "average" and "very good".

Room Tip: As far away from the Sky Lounge as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank The Fat Punter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences.
Great to read that you would return to the hotel.
Just be informed that we do not have the 40 euro priority check in anymore.
If the room is ready we can check you in, even before 15.00.
Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our first time in Amsterdam and we chose this hotel for location to docks as we were going on a river cruise . The staff were phenominal from check in to guest services , to the cleanliness of the room . Would highly recommend this hotel to others going to Amsterdam The food was suburb, although we only ate breakfast there . Good work Hilton !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words.
You just made the entire hotel staff happy!
Great to read that you had a good stay.
We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, cool hotel. Great concierge service. Proximity to Centraal Station is a big plus. If you want to get to this property, save yourself €50 by taking a train from Schipol instead of a cab. View from the room spectacular. Overall.....love this place.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stansthanunathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Great to read! Thank you for your positive review. Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Harsh words? Perhaps - but after spending four nights of an absolutely wonderful holiday in this property, the only thing I really recall fondly was the view and the iMacs in lieu of TVs. The decor, ambience, and staff were all adequate, but certainly nothing more. Service was very spartan overall and the executive lounge was quite possibly one of the worst I have experienced in Europe.

Perhaps if it is your first trip to Amsterdam you will find the location charming, but I definitely preferred staying a bit more central or closer to the Leidseplein.

Please don't fret if you've booked this property. It's not that bad. It's just that a three star hotel will always stand out on trip filled with five star experiences.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

great hotel in superb location for exploring central Amsterdam, with all modes of transport nearby. We had a lovely weekend here in may for our 25th staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast choice is huge hot and cold catering for every palate and a drink in the rooftop bar although pricey is worth it for the view

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank gardner1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
It is really great to read that you enjoyed the hotel so much.
We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Warm regards,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,017 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,245 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $204 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing