We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #63 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My stay here was great! I choose this hotel due to the location in Amsterdam as well as the reviews posted to TripAdvisor. I was not disappointed. The hotel is next to the train station in downtown Amsterdam. It is about a 20 minute train ride from Schipol airport. The hotel staff was friendly and answered all my questions. Free wifi. The biggest surprise was the iMac in the room, which was very useful to check email, news and things to do in Amsterdam. Overall, I had a great stay and this was a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your nice compliments. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I am happy to read that my colleagues were friendly and helpful and that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,544 - 3,550 of 7,311 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location of this hotel right next to the central train station is outstanding. It's very close to the Red Light District. The staff was extremely friendly and fast. The SkyLounge has incredible 360 views of the city. The rooms were new and very clean. Can't say enough good things about this hotel! For status HHonors members the Executive Lounge for breakfast is extremely busy. I would suggest arriving there prior to 8:00 AM on the weekends to be able to find seating.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Fantastic to read all the positive comments! Really nice to read that you had such a great time. my sincere apologies that you experienced the Executive Lounge to be busy. Please note that this is not according to our standards and we take your comments very serious. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location for this hotel - convenient for the station (and therefore the airport), but also within 5-10 minutes' walking of some wonderful parts of a really wonderful city. The room was reasonably-sized, comfortable and functional. The roof bar is excellent - a really classy venue, spacious and atmospheric without being too cool for its own good and making hotel guests feel unwelcome - which happens so often when a hotel bar becomes a destination. The hotel has balanced that aspect just right, and it was a real highlight of the trip to spend evenings there enjoying hand-poured wine from a nice list. The let down (and it is a significant one - for me at least) was the time it took to check in (around 30 minutes) and check out (around 15 minutes). When checking in you are tired after a long journey; when checking out you want to get moving (and perhaps you are concerned about missing a train/flight). Express check out was available when we stayed by completing a form - which was held behind the counter, which always had a long queue when we passed it. I hope that has improved since was stayed some months ago. That said, the check in staff were charming and did much to ameliorate the irritation of having to wait, and with this issue resolved, I would probably be writing a 5-star review.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you did have a great time in Amsterdam, good to read that you enjoyed the Skylounge so much! Regarding the long wait at the reception desk, my sincere apologies and thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

OK it's not a boutique townhouse on one of the lovely canals, it's a business trip Euro-hotel and therefore not automatically my first choice, but.. it's the perfect choice for discovering Amsterdam! Reception staff are lovely and very helpful, busy circling locations on city maps and ordering taxis for everyone. There's even free bottled water and apples for the exhausted tourists. I'd say don't have breakfast in the hotel - it's very expensive, but walk to the station and go to the 1st floor bar - it's beautiful! The most brilliant thing is that wherever one is in the city, there'll be a tram heading back to the Centraal station! Tip: Take the train from Schopol to the station and walk to hotel. Much the quickest journey. Also, make an effort to take the free 24/7 ferry with all the bikes over to the Eye - it's the beautiful modern stealth-like building you'll see out the back. This is an arts/ cinema complex with a great restaurant. Well worth a visit. (I didn't mention the *$s .. but there again I didn't visit it!). Thanks, H

Room Tip: I would say the higher the better as there is a hum of the trains..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Good to read that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Should you plan to return to Amsterdam I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

we arrived on Saturday 31st May for 2 nights, and the service we received was terrible. It cost €60 per night excluding breakfast. We had no choice to stay here as we arrived in Amsterdam in the morning and went to a tourism office to book our hotel (we have learnt from our mistake and will book in advance) we hadn't realised it was bh weekend in Amsterdam too. So we thought as it is the most expensive hotel we have stayed in, the service and rooms would be fabulous. However, we arrived at the hotel early, so spoke to the receptionist to pay for the rooms and leave out luggage with them. The receptionist told us to leave our luggage at the desk and the porters would lock them away securely, which we did. When we returned to check in at 2pm the porter was very rude and us for our baggage ticket, which was not given by reception. he was very rude to us and just said that luckily he knew what was our bags and told us not to do it again! this wasn't a great start. We then arrived in our small rooms, to find no teabags or coffee. we went to reception to ask for some, and they apologised and gave us a free coffee voucher for Starbucks, which is on the ground floor of the hotel. That evening I was blow-drying my hair and the dryer broke halfway through, so called reception who informed me that they will bring one up straight away. Which never happened! finally checking out, we was then hit with another €14 bill, when we asked what it was for, the receptionist looked through the records and saw that we had nothing from the mini bar, so she said she had no idea and had to speak to her manager. She came back and said that it was for tourism tax. This frustrated us even more, as we were never told this when checking in. We complained about all the issues we had received and found the service very poor!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate this as it enables us to improve our service where possible. My sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations at first. I hope that we did compensate this a bit with the Starbucks voucher. Concerning the room size, this is hotel is build to offer a comfortable stay to all our guests, which can be expected from a 4-star hotel. As we are on a prime city-centre location we have made optimum use of the available space. Regarding the city-tax, every tourist staying in Amsterdam is required to pay this by law. I am sorry that you where not properly informed about this. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future so that we can provide the service Hilton strives to deliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

At the end of a river cruise we stayed here for 1 night and were really impressed with the friendly efficient service,central location, spacious rooms, ultra comfy beds and awesome views of the city from the roof top like bar. A really perfect place to kick back before travelling on or home. Staff were very welcoming, offering the small things like universal adaptors, umbrellas etc to help make the stay more cofortable. Easy walking distance to everything with an array of restaurants and bars at your finger tips. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Dont be put off by proximity to central railway station- no noise in rooms. Best views from upper le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TATAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your nice compliments with us! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my colleagues delivered a great service.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to us should you travels bring you back to Amsterdam.


Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here Dec 13 for 2 nights. On arrival the Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and greeted us with a warm cookie. Had booked an executive room with canal view. Was a bit disappointed with first room given as view was not great and it was very noisy at night. We were on top floor, right underneath the service area for the rooftop nightclub and would advise that if you are not a heavy sleeper you request another room. We did the next morning, and Reception were quick and efficient in finding us a room on the 4th floor with great views. They even offered us coffee and cake vouchers as an apology.
If you have the option, choose the executive rooms, you then get access to the lounge, which offers complimentary soft drinks during the day, a light breakfast, and evening wine and canapes. We found that coming at a cold time of year, we used the lounge a lot to warm up before heading out again. Also, a nice touch was the sweetie jars and bags, so you could nibble on your travels.
Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable and with all the toiletries you need, bathrobes, hairdryer etc, so you can pack light.
This hotel is in a great location, less than 5 mins from train and tram stops. 5 minute walk gets you to the red light district or shopping.
Have booked already to go back again this December to enjoy the christmas market.

Room Tip: We didn't like top floor. Okay if you are a night owl and use the nightclub but loud if not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvette741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Many thanks for your kind words. It is a pleasure to read your compliments about the hotel and it makes me happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in December!

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
755 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,366 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $201 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and begin your visit with one of our famous freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies. are you here for business? or pleasure? Everything is within your reach to experience Amsterdam, thanks to our central location. Take in our spectacular views over the city and IJ river from SkyLounge Amsterdam. The hotel has 557 stylish guest rooms. Each one luxuriates in floor-to-ceiling windows to provide a sense of air and space. There is a power shower for you to relax in after a long day and you can use the iMac provided in every guest room for work or recreation, or simply use the complimentary Wi-Fi with your own device. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The historic city centre, famous shopping streets, the different congress centres and all of the city's cultural heritage are within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing