We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Nearby Hotels
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$314
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$396
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$181
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,494)
Filter reviews
7,494 results
Traveler rating
3,658
2,694
774
219
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,658
2,694
774
219
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungethe executive loungedouble treewarm cookiesapple tvgreat locationrooftop barguest servicestrain trackscity viewfloor to ceiling windowstop floormodern hotelriver cruiseexcellent hotelamsterdam centraalearly check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,689 - 3,694 of 7,494 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

we arrived on Saturday 31st May for 2 nights, and the service we received was terrible. It cost €60 per night excluding breakfast. We had no choice to stay here as we arrived in Amsterdam in the morning and went to a tourism office to book our hotel (we have learnt from our mistake and will book in advance) we hadn't realised it was bh weekend in Amsterdam too. So we thought as it is the most expensive hotel we have stayed in, the service and rooms would be fabulous. However, we arrived at the hotel early, so spoke to the receptionist to pay for the rooms and leave out luggage with them. The receptionist told us to leave our luggage at the desk and the porters would lock them away securely, which we did. When we returned to check in at 2pm the porter was very rude and us for our baggage ticket, which was not given by reception. he was very rude to us and just said that luckily he knew what was our bags and told us not to do it again! this wasn't a great start. We then arrived in our small rooms, to find no teabags or coffee. we went to reception to ask for some, and they apologised and gave us a free coffee voucher for Starbucks, which is on the ground floor of the hotel. That evening I was blow-drying my hair and the dryer broke halfway through, so called reception who informed me that they will bring one up straight away. Which never happened! finally checking out, we was then hit with another €14 bill, when we asked what it was for, the receptionist looked through the records and saw that we had nothing from the mini bar, so she said she had no idea and had to speak to her manager. She came back and said that it was for tourism tax. This frustrated us even more, as we were never told this when checking in. We complained about all the issues we had received and found the service very poor!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate this as it enables us to improve our service where possible. My sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations at first. I hope that we did compensate this a bit with the Starbucks voucher. Concerning the room size, this is hotel is build to offer a comfortable stay to all our guests, which can be expected from a 4-star hotel. As we are on a prime city-centre location we have made optimum use of the available space. Regarding the city-tax, every tourist staying in Amsterdam is required to pay this by law. I am sorry that you where not properly informed about this. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future so that we can provide the service Hilton strives to deliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

At the end of a river cruise we stayed here for 1 night and were really impressed with the friendly efficient service,central location, spacious rooms, ultra comfy beds and awesome views of the city from the roof top like bar. A really perfect place to kick back before travelling on or home. Staff were very welcoming, offering the small things like universal adaptors, umbrellas etc to help make the stay more cofortable. Easy walking distance to everything with an array of restaurants and bars at your finger tips. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Dont be put off by proximity to central railway station- no noise in rooms. Best views from upper levels i expect
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TATAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your nice compliments with us! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my colleagues delivered a great service.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to us should you travels bring you back to Amsterdam.


Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here Dec 13 for 2 nights. On arrival the Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and greeted us with a warm cookie. Had booked an executive room with canal view. Was a bit disappointed with first room given as view was not great and it was very noisy at night. We were on top floor, right underneath the service area for the rooftop nightclub and would advise that if you are not a heavy sleeper you request another room. We did the next morning, and Reception were quick and efficient in finding us a room on the 4th floor with great views. They even offered us coffee and cake vouchers as an apology.
If you have the option, choose the executive rooms, you then get access to the lounge, which offers complimentary soft drinks during the day, a light breakfast, and evening wine and canapes. We found that coming at a cold time of year, we used the lounge a lot to warm up before heading out again. Also, a nice touch was the sweetie jars and bags, so you could nibble on your travels.
Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable and with all the toiletries you need, bathrobes, hairdryer etc, so you can pack light.
This hotel is in a great location, less than 5 mins from train and tram stops. 5 minute walk gets you to the red light district or shopping.
Have booked already to go back again this December to enjoy the christmas market.

Room Tip: We didn't like top floor. Okay if you are a night owl and use the nightclub but loud if not
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvette741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Many thanks for your kind words. It is a pleasure to read your compliments about the hotel and it makes me happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in December!

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in an executive double room on the fourth floor.The room was comfortable clean and tidy,shower and view over the city fine.
After reading awful reviews about the executive lounge,we enterered with trepidation,but need not have worried,it was busy some days but nothing terrible.
It was my birthday during our stay and we were given some complimentary prosecco to celebrate.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the proximity to transport hubs was great.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your nice compliments. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I am happy to read that my colleagues were friendly and helpful and that you have enjoyed the Executive Lounge.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is not a fancy place, that being said I really, really like this hotel. It's location near the Centraal Station can't be beat because the trams, the rail lines, the seaport, the canal boats and plenty of restaurants are within easy walking distance. It's clean, modern and the staff is very accomodating. Our room had a wonderful canal view.

I liked the Skyview Lounge on top of the hotel, geat views of the city, good food, drinks and comfortable furniture. I will stay here again. If you go, don't forget to ask for your warm chocolate chip cookie!

Room Tip: Get a high floor room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSeaIsForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Many thanks for your kind words! It is great to read that have enjoyed your stay so much here.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed our SkyLounge and that you liked our Chocolate Chip Cookie!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews