We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Nearby Hotels
$242
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$293
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$305
$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$275
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$204
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$561
$333
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$299
$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (7,630)
Filter reviews
7,630 results
Traveler rating
3,726
2,732
787
227
158
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,726
2,732
787
227
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungethe executive loungegreat locationdouble treewarm cookiesapple tvrooftop bartrain tracksguest servicescity viewfloor to ceiling windowstop floorriver cruisemodern hotelamsterdam centraalexcellent hotelearly check
Filter
Updating list...
4,108 - 4,113 of 7,630 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed over on Valentines day and spent 2 nights at this Hotel and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone to stay when they visit Amsterdam. From the Airport we caught the train to Amsterdam central which took 15 minutes and then 10 minute walk from the station to the hotel. We walked out the main entrance and looked left and saw the hotel straight away and made ourselves to the hotel. We was greeted by friendly staff which gave us both warm cookies which was a delight so we could eat whilst settling into the hotel. The room was well presented, spacious, and clean. There was even an iMac to use which is used to watch TV as well. It had BBC 1 and BBC 2 channels :) and they had wireless for our ipad and iphones. They also had tea and coffee which is located at the bottom draw on the main table but only discovering by opening all the draws otherwise there was no note to say there was refreshments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waikit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Great to hear that you have had a really nice stay with us! I am happy that you were able to watch your prefered channels from the room on the iMac equipment! I hope you will consider our hotel again when visiting Amsterdam, thank you very much!

Kind regards,
Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Check In was very easy with friendly and helpful staff. The first room we were given was on the 10th floor directly below the Sky Lounge Bar. At 11pm we decided that the noise from the Karaoke was just too much and we asked to be moved, this was granted and we were moved to the 5th floor overlooking the railway lines.

Breakfast each day was of a good standard and nothing to complain about here. The room was very clean and well equipped apart from the rather small towels. The TV/Desktop PC was a first for me and a great idea apart from the fact there was no sleep timer!

All in all a perfectly acceptable hotel at which I would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Boppadeboppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the comments! We indeed had a karaoke event, I am sorry that it disturbed you! Luckily we were able to provide you another room! Good to hear that the room and breakfast were according to your wished and I do hope you will return to our hotel one day!

Kind regards,
Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hi we have just stayed there for the Valentine weekend, great location and a great hotel. We stayed in a Master suite (748)which is great but no one mentions it backs over what must be the busiest railway line in the world I understand you cannot help the location but customers should be told up front if there rooms if badly affected by noise, I booked this break to cheer my wife up who has been ill lately but due to the lack of sleep she now feels worse. I did go and tell reception but Was told that they had no other rooms. We are due back in April but will look to stay elsewhere purely on the noise problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walsh123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I am very sorry that the noise of the trains has disturbed you that much during your stay. The building has been build according to the strictest norms in sound proofing, similar to airport locations. Sound proofing was confirmed to be within acceptable limits but nevertheless within the coming months extra isolation will be installed in rooms overlooking the railway. Please contact me for your visit in April so we can assure you will have a room of your preference!

Warm regards,

Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Well not the best start. Checked in and had booked a king deluxe room. One would think king bed but no,two singles together not joined jump on one and the other goes flying. We ask reception and she says beds can be tied down to stop moving. Supervisor says not possible this is king deluxe room. Hmm first night we come back to our room and wont open half an hour later staff move us to another room. Lock is actually broken never happened before they say. Its simple i do not like being lied to just tell us the truth. Guess what the new room has a king bed just another lie from the supervisor earlier they do have king beds!
Yep can relate to the previous comments about train noise. Hilton i expect much better and truth is always best.

Room Tip: Dont get track side and make sure u get the room you paid for.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

I am very sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. I would like to outline that it is never our intention to give you the feeling you are being lied to. I suppose there has been a lot of misunderstanding and I am again sorry for that. If you consider staying at our hotel again, please contact me so we make sure we can live up to your expectations.

Kind regards,
Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location of the hotel is superb. Especially the views form the top level Sky Lounge bar are good for a drink or two. The rooms are small and not too special, we had rooms facing an inner court and we had to keep the curtains drawn all day because otherwise other guests could see everything inside. Strange layout, and not a nice thing to have your curtains drawn and lights on. This is certainly a downside
Other downside in the room was the small and plastic bathroom. Especially the shower was cheap and not good. The bed was bad as well, the mattress was as hard as a rock and the bed has some sort of wheels under it so we rolled through the room unintentionally.
Staff are international students I presume, not a word of Dutch and not trained professionally. I asked directions to the executive lounge to a lady of the staff and she had no clue what. I was talking about. Odd
The executive lounge? That was a total joke. It had all sorts of guests frequenting it, from English hooligans to hen's night ladies. Not executive at all. The lounge is small and the only thing people do there is queue up for breakfast or coffee. Forget about the lounge and pay for breakfast instead in the city-cafe.
No good things? Well it is stylish, clean and has a good location to explore town, but certainly not a flagship hotel for the Doubletree brand

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Good to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and the views! It is a pity that the mattress was not of your preference, as we have a lot of guest we cannot meet everyones preference unfortunately. Concerning our staff, we hire people based on their qualities and personality and not based on their nationality, that is why we have a lot of international staff members. Lastly the executive lounge is this hotel is available for anyone who is staying in an executive room or is a Diamond or Gold member. I am very sorry for the inconveniences and if you ever consider our hotel again, please contact me so we can assure you will have an enjoyable stay!

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews